We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bliss in an English Country Garden!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Church Gate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Itchenor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Church Gate
West Lothian
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Bliss in an English Country Garden!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our second visit here. We had the lovely large room at the front of the property with it's own, separate, bathroom with bath and shower. Your every comfort is provided for here from their own shower gel/shampoo range to the large bath towels, bath salts with a little note on how to enjoy it, to the home made chocolates beside the bed, to the little biscuits replenished every day on the tea tray with a selection of teas and beautiful crockery. Oh! did I mention the superbly comfortable big bed with crisp white, great quality sheets and bedding .

The house is beautiful in a quiet, peaceful road and the gardens are sublime. When the weather is good, Janey sets out the breakfast table under a covered pergola with a vine trailing over the top. Home made bread, marmalade, a gorgeous strawberry jam, cereals, organic yoghurts, croissants, pan au chocolat, greengages in syrup (divine!), fresh strawberries, raspberries... i could go on.

This is a special place in a wonderful area close to the sea with loads of things to do from walking, cycling, enjoying the joys of West Wittering, Goodwood, Chichester and then... back to the calm of this very special B&B run beautifully by Janey and Alistair.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaJLinlithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at Church Gate for 2 nights in May 2013. The hosts were fantastic, even offering to pick us up and drop us into town for a meal, lending their bikes and giving help on how to get around. We were able to ride to the beach, which was lovely. The room is on the small side, but is in a gorgeous separate cottage with only one other room. We really enjoyed playing tennis on the court as well. Would recommend to anyone who wants a quiet getaway for a weekend at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnazzyJazzy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
188 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely house and cottage in a very rural setting. Made special by great hosts who discuss all the options for the local area. Pre recommended restaurants which we duly booked. Walked our socks off to both the Witterings and Chichester Harbour. And discovered Climping further afield as we wanted to swim. The only areas which would take the place to the sublime category would be some cooked breakfast offerings and some wifi. There is no phone signal in the area. How am i supposed to tweet or tripadvise :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We went to Church Gate on a weekend break from London, to walk and relax. The B&B is very comfy, with incredibly friendly hosts, and lovely attention to detail (we even had chocolates on our bedside tables and homemade biscuits replenished every day!). We liked it so much we would like to go back :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend and had a lovely relaxed break. The room was very light and airy and well equipped. Breakfast was lovely - not a full English but lots of lovely homemade muesli, fruit, pancakes, porridge, bread, etc. The walk round from Itchenor to West Wittering is definitely worth doing too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We recently stayed at Church Gate B&B with our three young children for two nights as we had a wedding locally. Our host and hostess could not do enough to make us feel welcomed. The breakfast was outstanding including freshly baked bread and scones and pancakes as well as the most tasty porridge with dried fruit, all adorned with delicious fresh fruit from the owner's own garden. My daughter is wheat-intolerant and the owner provided plenty of freshly made wheat-free food for her breakfast. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 99Kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

The garden cottage was our pristine home for 3 nights in late May. It's a lovely spot just ten strides from the main house where we enjoyed an unhurried breakfast each morning. Alistair & Janie were such kind & diligent hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Itchenor
2.2 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
1.5 mi away
Church Lodge Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Lockgate Dairy
Lockgate Dairy
#1 of 75 in Chichester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Gate

Property: Church Gate
Address: Church Gate Itchenor Road, West Itchenor, Chichester PO20 7DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > West Itchenor
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Itchenor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fresh flowers, top quality bathroom products, lush towels, duvets and pillows and traditional English breakfast with organic/Fairtrade and locally sourced produce - we'd like you to feel at home. Unwind and relax in the small seaside village of Itchenor, which offers sailing, walks, bicycling and a sandy beach at West Wittering. The historic City of Chichester is about seven miles away and within easy distance of Portsmouth, Brighton, Arundel and Petworth. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Church Gate West Itchenor, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing