We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and relaxing home from home”
Review of Bissick Old Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bissick Old Mill
Ranked #1 of 3 Ladock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 May 2013

just had a wonderful couple of days staying in the Granary Annexe on b&b basis. The room has lots of charm and the breakfast is to die for - amazing and fresh and sets you up for the day. Pady is a wonderful and charming host. This lovely accomodation is very central to both Cornish coasts and the pub next door serves great food and has a lovely atmosphere - which added to the whole experience
Certainly worth a 2nd visit - can't wait.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salvaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2012

I booked a room very last minute for my mother and myself, and when we arrived we were amazed at the size of the room. We had a twin room with dressing room, separate lounge and two en suites, one with shower and one with bath, I think it was room 3. What I loved about the decor was that it was unique with beautiful art on the walls instead of the boring stuff you get in large hotels. The room was lovely and warm, with everything from sliced lemon in the fridge as requested to a small selection of DVDs to watch should you find yourself bored of an evening. Pub next door was pleasant and served decent pub grub. Also good quality organic toiletries and every amenity you can think of.
Breakfast was also superb, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs was probably the best I've had, and there were nice touches like homemade jams in dishes (not the plastic pots you sometimes get).
All this for £65.

Overall an excellent night's sleep and blinding value for money, will certainly book again next time I'm in the West Country.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppet747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed at the Bissick Old Mill for a few days at the end of September and the only problem with the stay was we wish it had been longer. This is home from home with Cordon Bleu breakfast. Really cant recommend a better place place to stay. It is convenient for visits to almost anyway in Cornwall and located in a quiet pretty village with a pub next door serving excellent food. Patrick and Vivienne run a super B and B and would be happy to recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but the Grannery is superb for those preferring a bit more privacy and inde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaywardsHeathTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I booked a night stay here via late rooms .com , travelled a long way down from llanelli, south west, wales to visit my nan who is in a nursing home in truro. Unfortunatley when I turned up with my 3 children including my 6 month old baby I was turned away as the owner said he had no idea we were booked in ???!! Despite my recieving of a reservation number 2 days prior. The landlord could not put us up which I didnt mind that much as the smell that greeted me when w e entered his property was an old musky odour he was totally useless when I asked if he knew of anywhere else local to stay. We set off on our way in Cornwall PEAK season with knowhere to stay and ended up in a hotel in Plymouth!! Bad Bad show!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rachfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

When you first see Bissick mill you might think that you can overdo the old world rustic charm. The exterior could do with a little more t.l.c. A coat of paint on the garden furniture could make it more inviting and the plants need a bit of trimming. But after that you will get a warm welcome from Patrick and Vivienne. We had the granary for three nights. An upside down accommodation with the bedroom\bathroom downstairs , beware of the shower if like me you are over six feet tall,and a neat lounge and kitchenette upstairs, an ideal little hideaway for a romantic weekend. The food at breakfast was excellent with a wide range of dishes to suit all tastes. The mill is situated in an ideal place for touring south Cornwall and in particular the Roseland peninsular, do make an effort to visit the church at St Just, said to be the most beautiful church in the country. The mill is little bit of old Cornish hospitality and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spiritbird2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

... and we still remember it fondly. We adored the ancient stone building with its unique character, the very spacious rooms, the kindness of the landlady and landlord, the wonderful breakfast. Many years have elapsed since our first visit, but we want to go back there, and we WILL!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opossumd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We (a party of 5 adults and 1 child) were at Bissick Old Mill for 3 nights from 12 June 2012 and we enjoyed our stay there tremednously. Vivien and Patrick proved to be very capable and wonderful hosts and all our queries before the booking were answered to succinctly and promptly.

We stayed at Room No. 2 (2 adults) and the Mill Suite, the latter of which has 2 rooms, 1 with a super king-size bed (2 adults) and another with a single bed with a truckle bed (1 adult and 1 child). Both rooms have their own ensuites, which made it very convenient for us. All our rooms are located in the main house.

We find the location to be ideal for our exploration around Cornwall. Truro is a mere 7 miles away and has many shops and restaurants. We were out and about on all our days there and it was comforting to know that at the end of our adventurous and tiring day, we will come back to a warm, cosy and comfortable room. Plenty of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits were provided in our rooms, together with fresh milk and bottles of mineral water, which were all thoughtfully replenished each day. Our rooms were cleaned on a daily basis and the beds and sheets were oh-so-comfortable!! Wifi access was fast and free!!

Breakfasts by Patrick and Vivien are another thing to rave about! We made our choices the night before and at the end of our 3-night stay, we have tried and enjoyed most but sadly, not all that were on their very extensive menu. We were truly spoilt by the generous portions of everything that were being served!

We highly recommend this delightful place to other visitors to the area. Their service was simply marvellous and their rooms were more than comfortable!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannisze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bissick Old Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bissick Old Mill

Address: Ladock TR2 4PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Ladock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ladock
Price Range: £77 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bissick Old Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful 17th century water mill sympathetically restored to provide extremely well appointed accommodation with exceptional standards of comfort, cuisine and hospitality. Central rural location makes ideal base for exploring all parts of Cornwall. Close to the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan. OPEN: ALL YEAR ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bissick Old Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bissick Old Mill Ladock, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing