We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Campground going downhill”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Black Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pacific Playgrounds International RV Park, Cottages, Marina
Reviewed 10 August 2013

New management has done nothing to enthrall that many repeat campers at this resort. Gone are the things visitors loved to see. The lovely flowers and beds are now weeds, no security or accountability after hours, the viewing pier is rotton and full of nails for visitors to step and trip on, too many noisy dogs and nobody there to take responsibility for them. Most people now stay away from the office because of the response of those behind the counter, and those in charge of maintenance just aren't doing their job. There is the river, nice swimming pool, and playground area for the kids, and the marina itself has undergone some nice renovations, but personal contact is what keeps people returning, and that is where they are failing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 505martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacplaygrounds, Manager at Pacific Playgrounds International RV Park, Cottages, Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Your input is appreciated however I am surprised that you added the comments about our gardens since we have received dozens of wonderful reviews about the job that the groundskeeper had done. Our baskets were amazing and the gardens were blooming and in fine form until we went through the 44 days of no rain. In relation to the dock - I fail to see how that relates to having new management as the dock did not change to being rotten in a few weeks time. We have however addressed it by adding a new walkway with railings to allow access to the marina and will do a total renovation while doing other maintenance required in the near future. As for the dogs - we actually expect owners to make sure that their animals are not annoying other guests and have enforced that costumers leave if problems persist. Our staff, while being new have more experience and with some training feel more confident and understand the importance of customer relations. With reviews we are made aware of where we need to improve and will continue to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

Noisy! Quiet times are not enforced. Lots of partying all night. The showers and bathrooms were dirty. Sites are tight and roads are narrow. This place is not big rig friendly. Good place if you want to party all night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r0adtrip2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

This site has RVs absolutely crammed together! If you want ANY privacy don't go there. Also, the showers were disgusting with mould on the tiles and shower curtains. The beach isn't very good either. It's more like an estuary with the odd patch of sand. On the plus side, it does take dogs and has a wonderful, clean swim hole on the river. We had lots of fun there with our kids. I wouldn't visit this site again because of the overcrowding.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacplaygrounds, Manager at Pacific Playgrounds International RV Park, Cottages, Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Your comments are important and we are listening. We are going to be undertaking a renovation of the Laundry and Shower building and if all goes well it will be finished by the upcoming summer! The thing we cannot control is the size of the RVs. They are getting larger and larger. We do the best we can and cannot apologize for being busy and full. That is a good thing! Pleasant travelling!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We don't usually camp at a place so busy but wanted to 'try it out' as we have a 5 year old. The people beside us had their son's bike stolen Thursday night, there is a security camera that might have caught the thief on it. But the staff don't seem to be in any rush to look at it. When we booked in they told us that there has been the odd theft but apparently it runs rampant here. So if you leave your campsite you pretty well have to put everything inside and lock it up.
The kids pool is cloudy and the showers are filthy and you have to pay for them?!

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Jewelzz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacplaygrounds, Manager at Pacific Playgrounds International RV Park, Cottages, Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

While we appreciate your comments the resort would like to draw attention to the fact that there is security on site and I personally examined the camera footage. Here we do ask that people do put their valuables out of site as we cannot control the actions of the general public. In regards to our showers - most people comment on how clean they are as we have staff that do a thorough cleaning many times daily. We strive to give the best camping experience we can and will continue to make improvements in the future.
Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Cabins are in need of a major upgrade. If you want to charge a high summer rate then it's time to upgrade the cabins. Worst bedding and pillows ever. Kitchens need a spruce up too. Think next year we will stay in parksville. A lot nicer cabins to rent.
Pool was alright, toddler pool was freezing! Tine to give your place a re-vamp! It's looked the same for 10 plus years

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenns48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacplaygrounds, Manager at Pacific Playgrounds International RV Park, Cottages, Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your comments and we take them very seriously. I am happy to report that we have undergone an extensive renovation to all of our cottages and look forward to the feedback of our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This was our first and last trip to Pacific Playgrounds. When booking our trip I booked a 16 foot slip for our boat and was told it would be $7/day of which I had an email confirmation of booking. When we arrived they had no booking for us and the girl in the office told us it would be 7/day for the slip. Then comes in another woman who has to put us in a larger slip because they no longer had the shorter slips. They would not honour the 7/day and charged us 9.60/day, explaining that the telephone quote as well as the other girl were incorrect with their pricing. We could choose not to moor the boat and launch it everyday for 10/day. Upon checking in we were also told we should bring in our coolers at night as they are experiencing thefts. For a steep $40/night you would think there would be some security or culpability for thefts.

When we arrived at out site it was was very small and not very clearly marked. There is no privacy in this campground unless you stay in your RV. The child pool was very cloudy. I could not believe that they even allowed children to swim in it. One morning at 8am we cooked breakfast to the lovely sound of a pressure washer, which continued straight on through lunch until my travelling companion went to the office to complain and the response was "someone is pressure washing?". They apparently did not even know what was happening. Finally it stopped after about 5 hours. I would think that this should be done in maybe May or October. Certainly not July long weekend.

The saving grace is that the kids liked dock fishing and that they are close to Miracle Beach where I could take my kids to participate in Jerry's Rangers and the proximity to the Oyster River is also very nice
I would highly recommend anyone looking for camping in the Campbell River area to seek out Miracle Beach, Loveland Bay or Morton Lake as an option. You can always launch your boat for 10/day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacplaygrounds, Manager at Pacific Playgrounds International RV Park, Cottages, Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your input. We regret that there was a learning curve here as there was a large staff change and as such there was a few bumps along the way. We certainly honor our quotes that we provide and after some additional training some of these problems have been resolved.
As for the maintenance going on we do try to get the larger (noisier) jobs done in the off season and will continue this practice in the future. As for the "cooler theft" - most campgrounds suggest that campers put away valuables (some provincial parks it is mandatory) of any sort and we have security here at the resort and do the best we can while still remaining a campground environment. It could be as easy as putting your valuables in a vehicle and locking the door. It would be impossible to stop every person on the grounds and ask them if they belonged here.
Being new to the resort we have learned a great deal and will bring many improvements in many areas in the next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We love Pacific Playgrounds! It has a pool, access to a clean flowing river that you can tube down and its a 5 minute walk to the seashore. There are docks for the kids to fish off and a little general store that sells many flavours of yummy ice cream and other necessities. It is a wonderful place for kids. There are a variety of types of camp-sites and some are bigger than others. There is also a large playing field beside the pool.
Occasionally the pool has been closed for a few days because the hot weather plays havoc with Ph content in the water. Aside from that there is really nothing to complain about and lots to love.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda and Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacplaygrounds, Manager at Pacific Playgrounds International RV Park, Cottages, Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Creek
1.9 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#7 of 16 in Campbell River
58 reviews
1.3 mi away
Salmon Point Resort RV Park & Marina
Salmon Point Resort RV Park & Ma...
#7 of 15 in Campbell River
79 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort
#10 of 16 in Campbell River
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Playgrounds International RV Park, Cottages, Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Playgrounds International RV Park, Cottages, Marina

Address: 9082 Clarkson Avenue, Black Creek, British Columbia V9J 1B3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Black Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Black Creek
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Cottages steps from the Oyster River.RV sites available year round. Just Minutes to Hiking, Golfing, Skiing local store and much more. Everything you need for a getaway!Sheltered Marina with power and water to each slip. We accommodate up to 45 ft. Daily, Weekly, Monthly and Seasonal Rates! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pacific Playgrounds International RV Park, Cottages, Marina Canada/Vancouver Island - Black Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing