We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful valley in Tirol”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Schwendau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Pension Alpina
Ranked #4 of 5 Schwendau B&B and Inns
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful valley in Tirol”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Alpina is located in a small village near Mayrhofen. There is a bus and it takes ten minutes to get into Mayrhofen, but 40 minutes to get back because the bus runs on a circuit. Also, the bus doesnt run for two hours while the driver has lunch.
Alpina is a well-maintained clean property with 20 rooms. Ours had a balcony where we could watch para-gliders float into the valley.

Here are some positive things about Alpina:
1. dinners were excellent and you pick your mains from a choice of three at breakfast
2. at breakfast, you could make a lunch sandwich and an apple was provided as well as a bag
3. members of the Hauser family who work at Alpina are cheerful and accommodating

Here are some things that can be improved:
1. smoking is allowed at the bar and the smell permeates the building including dining area, seeing the bar is right at the entrance to the eating area
2. towels need upgrading as they are so thin that one had FOUR holes in it
3. provide some decaff instant coffee instead of just hot water

Inghams ad stated that WiFi was free but we were told it's 15 euros for the week.

On the whole, we had a great week in a beautiful valley in Tirol.

Room Tip: No elevators, so if you are not fit, ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    23
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
england, birmingham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here for a week during half term. The hotel is in a very quier location but all the staff (family) are very friendly and helpfull. The dinner was very nice but the cold buffet breakfast was a regular same limited choice.
We had the bedroom number 1 which has the front view and the room was very large with tv and balcony
Walk to the nearest town Ramsau is a 15 minute walk, there you have more choice for bars and restaurants and access to the train.
If you prefer it quiet then this is the place for you but if you like pubs and bars, a bit of nightlife (like me) then this is not the place.for you.
I even bumped into the owners son who was drinking with his friends in Ramsau who bought me a drink too :-)

Room Tip: Room number 1 unless you prefer the mountains views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indokarasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

In a rural setting and quite basic however a family run hotel with excellent, friendly service. Our balcony looked out down the valley with mountains all around.
The food was excellent. About a 45 min walk into Mayrnhofen. There was a bus service and a train station close by.
Good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms 17 18 19 with balcony facing down the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happywandererSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucharest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

had a skiing holiday here in January 2014. the reviews were great before but the experience was not. the food is not that good. they only have cold food for breakfast, not any eggs or wursts, and it's Austria we are talking about :), i would expect wursts.
the rooms are cold, they hardly turn on the heaters. the furniture is old. for a low budgdget stay close to the Mayrhofen ski lift it would be fine, but we paid top money for the holiday here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john_doe_gl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed in summer having booked a late..ish deal with Inghams. On arriving at the hotel we were greeted by the lovely Andrea ....but also by a wall of smoke fumes. Being smoke free in this country it was quite a shock and not something i had even thought about. The smell was everywhere so there was no escape..even at meal-times. Its something to think about if you have children as just about everyone in Austria smokes it seems....and think nothing of doing so in the presence of children. It did spoil the holiday a little for me and even the clothes we didnt wear had to be washed upon returning home as the smell got into everything.
The hotel itself is predominantly wooden throughout and very characteristic of the area. The room we had was at the top of the building and very small....the shower room door could barely open wide enough to let us in and it narrowly missed knocking the loo as it did so....knocked elbows aplenty! Andrea said she had put us at the top because we were young and could manage the stairs better than the older residents! Plumbing at the top wasnt that great and the shower often went cold. Beds/mattresses were very average.
The food was always served on time and with the friendliest of spirit but was very limited in choice and taste....puddings were standard pre-made pre-set cold type ones. The vegetarian choice was always better and available daily.
The Ziller Valley itself is breathtaking and therefore the holiday was unforgettable with the most spectacular walking/scenery. We would definitely return to the area but not the hotel....despite the wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: request a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank supermumhaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Having read previous reviews I think my expectations were too high, The Ziller valley was absolutely beautiful and yes the family Hausen could not have been more helpful anf friendly. The pension is reasonbaly basic and the food could be a bit odd sometimes, but very good soup! What I didn't expect was the strong smell of cigarette smoke that pervaded the hotel, even in the bedroom. It was also a long walk back from the station after a lovely but tiring day, the buses were not as frequent as we were led to believe. I wouldn't consider staying there again, but full marks to Andrea and the rest of the family for their hospitality,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The Ziterall Valley is as close to Paradise you can get and the Alpina is set it's own little garden of eden surrounded by fruit trees and vegetable patches not to mention the Scnapps still. Great welcome and very friendly service all week. Food was good and varied considering it's a budget hotel. Easy to walk from the door into Mayrhofen. 30 mins if you get a bend on. Get the action card and you can use the buses, lifts and pools in the area. Don't miss the walk into Italy via "The Returned" style dam and resevoir. The refuge fills up quickly at lunch time so be swift.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schwendau
0.6 mi away
Ferienhotel Neue Post
Ferienhotel Neue Post
#2 of 6 in Hippach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Pension Strolz
Hotel Pension Strolz
#19 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sporthotel Strass
Sporthotel Strass
#1 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#2 of 5 in Ried im Zillertal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpenhotel Ramsauerhof
Alpenhotel Ramsauerhof
#4 of 11 in Ramsau im Zillertal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ferienwohnungen Kroll
Ferienwohnungen Kroll
#1 of 10 in Schwendau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Alpina

Property: Hotel Pension Alpina
Address: Schwendau 172, Schwendau 6283, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Schwendau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Schwendau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Alpina 3*
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing