We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cape Crayfish Coast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Olive Guest Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pringle Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wild Olive Guest Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Pringle Bay B&B and Inns
Cape Town
Level Contributor
167 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Cape Crayfish Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Wild Olive an intimate sea facing guest house, owned and managed by Peter and Gloria Langer at Pringle Bay, offers the traveller a haven of well managed comfort and hospitality, impeccably maintained and run. Your hosts are totally professional, with attention to detail in guest rooms and the indoor and outdoor public areas, all situated in a secluded indigenous garden with inviting swimming pool, minutes from the beach. Superb generous breakfasts and fine dining by night from experienced chef Peter, if required.Away from crowded Cape Town and Hermanus yet very conveniently situated to both, Wild Olive won't disappoint.

Room Tip: The green room offers privacy a full bathroom and refreshing outdoor shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LewR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
60
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

This is the way we feel, everytime we come to stay with Gloria and Peter at Wild Olive!
We have come here every year for the past eight and will continue to do so, as long as their beautiful B&B exists. This is so much more than a B&B, though! Peter a former star chef in his own restaurant at Camps Bay, is now cooking for his guests at Wild Olive in the most amazing way. The breakfast and dinner (optional) he makes, together with the loving and professional assistance from his wife Gloria, are of such high quality, we often are a bit disappointed with meals we are having in various places after our stay with Peter. We have enjoyed numerable dinners around their table, with lots of interesting guests from all over the world. They are raving about their stay at the guesthouse just as much as we are! Staying there, is an overall perfect experience for the eye, the heart and the stomach. We feel so welcome and well taken care of in every way and have already made a reservation at Wild Olive for next year!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HalleHill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

The hospitality and quality of food and service is second to none. We felt that we were being looked after by friends and each meal was a wonderful experience. Peter is a talented chef and the relaxed atmosphere and attention to detail was superb.
It is easily accessible from Cape Town but we didn't find that Pringle Bay itself had a lot to offer. In spite of this we would definitely hope to stay at the Wild Olive again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caro194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

This was my second visit and first for my wife...we had a great time. It is so nice to go to a hotel and instantly feel at home. Peter and Gloria make this happen.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dirk t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

The first time we visited the Wild Olive we had no idea what to expect. Now it is an absolute must each time we visit South Africa. This year will be our fourth visit and if it wasn't for the fact that we have to travel to the other side of the world we definitely would visit Peter and Gloria more often. It is a special place where one is warmly welcomed and provides the ultimate place for relaxation. The sunset drinks are served on the deck with the most beautiful view. The food section is in the hands of masterchef Peter. It really does not matter what Peter prepares, all is simply too good to be true. Rooms are very cosy and comfortable each of them with an outdoor shower. What more to say... Never change a winning team!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwardams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

We stayed for 3 nights with friends who had been before and told us how good the Wild Olive is. Gloria and Peter almost feel like family after our short visit.
The location is superb with lovely gardens and the 'Cuddle Puddle' pool.
Peter would win the Masterchef title and Gloria hostess of the year.
We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 350zzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

We were recommended the Wild Olive by friends in Franschhoek from where we arrived. For mid summer the weather was really quite bad; it blowed a gale for most of the three days we stayed in Pringle Bay and in bad weather there's not a lot going on nearby. But thankfully, Peter & Gloria made our stay very memorable for the simple reasons they were great hosts and Peter's cooking was truly exceptional. It was if we had our very own personal chef, in fact, Peter is a retired chef / restauranteur and would put most chefs in the area to shame. The breakfasts and dinners were the best of any place we stayed during our tour of SA; worth staying at the Wild Olive just to eat there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsyfitzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pringle Bay
1.8 mi away
Sea Villa Glen Craig
Sea Villa Glen Craig
#1 of 1 in Pringle Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moonstruck on Pringle Bay Guesthouse
2.2 mi away
3Flavours Guest House
3Flavours Guest House
#2 of 8 in Pringle Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Marine Guest House
Villa Marine Guest House
#3 of 8 in Pringle Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Barnacle
The Barnacle
#1 of 3 in Pringle Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
8.2 mi away
Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B
Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B
#1 of 8 in Betty's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Olive Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Olive Guest Lodge

Property: Wild Olive Guest Lodge
Address: Cnr. Bell and Hangklip Roads, Pringle Bay 7196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Pringle Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pringle Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing