We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice little hotel in Nidri”
Review of Palmyra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palmyra Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Nidri
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed in hotel Palmyra Nidri for four weeks in June and July 2013. Nice little hotel, peaceful location. Pool area spacy, food excellent in the poolbar. The owners were really nice people, helpful and friendly. I could consider staying in this hotel again. Many guests seemed to keep coming again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

Just spent a week here and had a wonderful time. Room was spacious, clean and the view from the 5th floor was glorious. Just a very short walk to the sea and also the bars and restaurants, what more could you want. To waken to the sound of the sea lapping, idyllic, we'll be back soon.

Room Tip: Go for a 5th floor room at the side of the hotel P.S.Sorry no fitness centre but couldn't re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delanbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We have just come back from 2 weeks in Nidri, staying at the Palmyra in a self catering apartment, and we have nothing but praise for this place.

The hotel is in a great location, only a couple of minutes walk from the beach, and from our 5th floor room we had some brilliant views of the mountains and the sea.

The room was spacious, with lots of wardrobe space and the bathroom had a proper shower screen ( a first for us, in our many visits to greece).

The rooms were cleaned thoroughly every day, and the hotel was really clean throughout, including the pool area. The pool area has a large garden, with some great flowers and trees and is very pretty with lots of sun-beds and a pool bar.

Available at the bar are all sorts of drinks from frappes and soft drinks, up to cocktails (which are a bargain 4 euros at happy hour) and also lots of snacks and meals eg omelettes, burgers, sandwiches all freshly made and a good price.

The owners Savvas & Viki really made this trip for us though. You couldnt ask to meet a nicer couple, and they went out of their way to be helpful to us and to all other guests. Such a lovely family and they take great care in their hotel.

They can provide you with information on where to go and what to see in Nidri and Lefkada, and gave us some great ideas.

Nidri itself was quiet in May but we like this anyway. The weather was a bit hit and miss but the cooler days allowed us to hire a bike and cycle round to the church at Geni and to the Waterfalls (both recommended). There is enough to see and do around Nidri, and the surrounding areas (good bus service to Lefkada town) to occupy anyone. Lots of good tavernas on the front and on the road out of Nidri. And the ferry to Meganisi is a must (try the 12.15 ferry to Spilia and then get the mini-bus to Vathy - straight from the port - and take the 14.30 ferry back to Nidri from Vathy - very good experience).

All in all the best holiday we have had.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Just got home after a week in Nidri, staying at the Palmyra Hotel. Very good hotel, clean, friendly staff, nice pool area, happy hour every night(2 hours),good cocktails, rooms cleaned every day, clean towels and sheets every other day, balcony looking out to sea, free wifi, best looking manageress on the island and very close to all the restaurants and the beach. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy-B-Halifax-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Just recently returned from a lovely relaxing week at the Hotel Palmyra.

Located conveniently close to the beach & town, Hotel Palmyra is an ideal choice for anyone staying in Nidri on a budget. We stayed for a week here at the beginning of October 2012 and were very satisfied with the amenities and service provided.

It being towards the end of the season, it was pretty quiet so the pool area was quite often empty and towards the end of the week I noticed that the water in the pool had gotten a little murky. I guess they might not be cleaning it as often as they would during high season?

At any rate, we spent quite a few days lounging on the fantastic beach which is less than 2 minutes walk from the hotel. It's not sandy, but is in excellent condition and the water is so clear and blue and so calm!!

The hotel was clean and bright, rooms were well appointed with comfy twin beds easily pushed together and a good quality sofa-bed/futon. There's a small kitchenette (sink, hob & fridge freezer), a clean bathroom with a good sized shower and a small balcony to sit on. There's plenty of storage for clothes, a TV (no English channels though), bedside tables and the double glazed windows come with built in insect screens & metal shutters for security (and to keep the sun off during the day). They were cleaned every day, bins emptied (which is important in Greece!), floors mopped and towels & linen changed.

Staff were courteous and friendly, spoke good English and always able to help. Asked for room service one night and despite a limited menu selection came up with a ham & cheese toastie, burger and chips which were all very nice.

One negative was the fact that the rubbish truck came round almost every morning at around 6:30 am and would make one heck of a racket which would wake up up. Apart from that there were no other instances of disturbances from either residents of the hotel or locals during our stay. Mind you, Nidri is not the sort of resort that attracts your mindless party goers!

All in all we had an excellent time and would thoroughly recommend a stay here. Would definitely consider using this hotel again if we decide to pay Nidri another visit in future.

All in all a really goo

Room Tip: Asking for a pool side apartment means you can sit out and enjoy the sun on there all day if you cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Just returned from this hotel, its in an ideal spot close to the beach and the town of Nidri. The staff are very pleasant the rooms were cleaned every day including Sunday which is unusual. The hotel rooms could do with a bit of TLC but nothing too much. We had a room on the fifth floor and it had lovely views over the bay. Being so high up was no problem there was a lift. There was also a mosquito net attached to the door which is a good idea you just pull it across so it meant we could leave the balcony doors open at night. There was not a lot of cooking equipment but we don't cook on holiday anyway, we just had cereal, juice and coffee on the balcony and went out to have a cooked breakfast (my husband must have this even on holiday) There are numerous restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and we only had one bad meal (see my restaurant reviews) We walked to the waterfall, got a ferry over to Megassini 1.90e each way, got buses to Lefkas Town 1.60e and Vasiliki (the buses are very good) We also did an excursion around the Island. Nidri is quiet more for older people or families, we have been to many Greek Islands and this is one of our favorites now.

Room Tip: Although we had a studio it was tiny so may be better to upgrade to an apartment. If you want to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriscath52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Just comming home from Nidri,Lefkas.
A beautiful place. Hotel Palmyra is a perfect Hotel.
Frindly, clean and near the beach.
Absolutly wearth coming back to. And we will.
Thank you Savas &co.
Room 321.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefkaGothenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nidri
0.3 mi away
Apartments George
Apartments George
#3 of 14 in Nidri
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avra Beach Hotel
Avra Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in Nidri
141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Athos Hotel
Athos Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nidri
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Aliki Hotel
Aliki Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nikiana
92 reviews
1.9 mi away
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Villa Olga Lounge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmyra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmyra Hotel

Address: Nidri Lefkada, Nidri 31084, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Nidri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nidri
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nidri
#1 Green Hotel in Nidri
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nidri
Price Range: £49 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmyra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmyra hotel located between the green and the sea.The Palmyra hotel was built at 1994 and renew at 2005.Combine the green of nature and the blue of the sea.The sea abstains hardly 50 m. The 30 rooms are spacious, comfortable, and equipped with modern equipments and guest room necessities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palmyra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmyra Hotel Nidri, Lefkada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing