We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 5 summer days at a real paradise”
Review of Palmyra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palmyra Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Nidri
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Piraeus, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent 5 summer days at a real paradise”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Very nice hotel and great service. With superb benefits like pool bar and very good GREEK CUISINE. The rooms was high class with nice view and very clean. Also the hotel is close to the beach if you like it from swimming pool. Padelis and his family.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank padelis a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    40
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
98
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

An excellent hotel and for Greece it was a joy to have a proper screened shower. The room was first class with a lovely balcony and good firm beds. Good grounds for sun bathing and great views. Many Thanks

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveB432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Palmyra hotel is located close to the beach and the city of Nidri. Hotel is nice and the rooms are bigger than in the pictures and equipped with small kitchenette. There is no hairdryer in the room. There is a bar and pool also. Closest supermarket is about 150 m from the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to travellers that appriciate the great location and good service but don´t need any luxury.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volos, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Very nice hotel in an ideal location, near of the center and the beach but also very quiet. The cleaning was very good and the public areas also The most important was the service that it was absolutely fantastic. The prices at the bar are reasonable. Don't miss the barbeque night on thursday!!!!

MARIA - PANOS

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The Palmyra is a family-run aparthotel situated on the north bank of Nidri’s little river which, in the heat of a Greek summer, dwindles to a trickle before widening as it meets the sea just beyond the hotel.
The hotel consists of two three-storey wings in a T-shape. However, since one wing is a half-storey higher than the other, the two wings contain 30 apartments and studios on five floors, some overlooking the pool with the others having partial sea-views, particularly those on the higher floors.
Some care has been taken in the design and décor of the hotel with the use of oranges, pinks and greys throughout and, although the exterior could do with a lick of paint, the impression is one of understated style. This is reinforced by the use of blue and green uplighters around the grounds in the evening which produce an attractive ambience.
We were allocated a studio on the first floor and, although others have described rooms as spacious, our room seemed a bit cramped and was definitely short in wardrobe storage space. The S/C facilities amounted to a sink incorporating two hotplates, a fridge, and a kettle - enough to provide a cool drink for the balcony and a hot drink for breakfast (of which more later). The shower-room/wc was probably the best feature; the shower, unusually for Greece, was enclosed and screened on a 90 degree base, although, typically for Greece, no overhead bracket was provided.
A safe-box is included within the wardrobe but requires an outlay of €15 per week. At the risk of a rant, I don’t understand why a basic need such as the security of guests’ belongings should incur an additional charge. Air-conditioning is available at a comparatively reasonable €5 per day, although since it was advertised at €6, we recovered some of our safe-box layout. Wi-Fi is advertised as being available at €5 per half-hour but we were able to log-on freely throughout our stay so, again, the safe-box outlay becomes less excessive. The studios are equipped with wall-mounted TVs and there were sufficient electrical sockets. Rooms are cleaned every day except Sunday, with towels and bedding changed regularly.
The pool is relatively small but since the majority of our fellow guests chose to frequent the nearby beaches (including one just 50 metres away) it was rarely crowded. The pool bar offers reasonably priced drinks and snacks and hosts a bbq once a week, depending on demand from the guests.
An unusual feature of the Palmyra is that it offers a b&b option to its guests. The downside of this is that they choose to host the breakfast in the garden area rather than the bar area where food is normally served. This results in unacceptable noise affecting those rooms in the proximity of this area. In addition, those who choose this option are directed to the garden past rooms 122 and 123 rather than via reception and the bar. I seriously considered downgrading the Palmyra due to this disruptive practice but decide that it was compensated for by the free Wi-Fi. As an interim measure, those who choose the b&b option could perhaps be accommodated in the rooms overlooking the breakfast area, allowing the S/C guests some peace and quiet. While I’m in rant mode, perhaps hotels should ask guests to be as quiet before 10 am as they are rightly expected to be after 10 pm!

Nidri is a bustling Greek harbour town with a long main street with lots of shops, bars and restaurants. Some of the lanes to the left as you walk from the Palmyra lead to beachfront bars and restaurants. Just beyond Avis, there is a road to the ‘limani’ where you will find a typical Greek harbourside; a long promenade flanked by a mix of fishing boats, ferries and yachts and faced with an extensive selection of bars and restaurants. So great is the selection here that, although we were in Nidri for a fortnight, there were some restaurants that we didn’t get a chance to try. However, based on those we did try we would recommend the Apollon as the best with the Piperi and the Barrel as the next best. Of the bars and ice-cream bars/ creperies the ‘C Through’ was our favourite.

Overall, the Palmyra offers a stylish and comfortable base in an attractive and bustling resort, although they do need to sort out their b&b practices and re-examine the imposition of the safe-box charge.

Room Tip: It would appear that the upper floors are best...avoid rooms 121-125 as these are most affected by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJ1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed in hotel Palmyra Nidri for four weeks in June and July 2013. Nice little hotel, peaceful location. Pool area spacy, food excellent in the poolbar. The owners were really nice people, helpful and friendly. I could consider staying in this hotel again. Many guests seemed to keep coming again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Just spent a week here and had a wonderful time. Room was spacious, clean and the view from the 5th floor was glorious. Just a very short walk to the sea and also the bars and restaurants, what more could you want. To waken to the sound of the sea lapping, idyllic, we'll be back soon.

Room Tip: Go for a 5th floor room at the side of the hotel P.S.Sorry no fitness centre but couldn't re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delanbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nidri
0.3 mi away
Apartments George
Apartments George
#3 of 14 in Nidri
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avra Beach Hotel
Avra Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nidri
118 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa Olga Hotel Apartments & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa
8.2 mi away
Alexaria Holiday Homes
Alexaria Holiday Homes
#9 of 76 in Lefkada
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Athos Hotel
Athos Hotel
#4 of 14 in Nidri
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmyra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmyra Hotel

Property: Palmyra Hotel
Address: Nidri Lefkada, Nidri 311 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Nidri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nidri
#1 Green Hotel in Nidri
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nidri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmyra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmyra hotel located between the green and the sea.The Palmyra hotel was built at 1994 and renew at 2005.Combine the green of nature and the blue of the sea.The sea abstains hardly 50 m. The 30 rooms are spacious, comfortable, and equipped with modern equipments and guest room necessities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Palmyra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmyra Hotel Nidri, Lefkada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing