We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday with Ocean Elements”
Review of Delfini Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Delfini Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Nidri B&B and Inns
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great holiday with Ocean Elements”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We're just back from a week at the Delfini with Ocean Elements. The hotel is kept very clean - not luxury accomodation, but fine for an outdoor holiday. Sheets and towels changed halfway through the week, and a fridge in the room was useful to keep water etc cold.
Coffee at breakfast is served with evaporated milk, and it took a few goes to get the correct amounts of coffee, water and milk; some honey to have with the yoghurt might have been nice, but you can buy it in the supermarket across the road.
Lunches served on the shaded terrace were very good value, and we went to their Greek night,which was very good value at 17euros, and also the Ocean Elements BBQ on the last night.

We went there because my husband wanted to go windsurfing again - I thought I might try it, but after the first lesson, I decided to keep going with it. There were either 4 or 5 in our beginners group, and Doug was very positive and encouraging throughout. All the Ocean Elements staff were very helpful, friendly and enthusiastic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathryn7814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    24
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a brilliant week with Ocean Elements staying at the Delphini. Although the rooms are basic, they're spotlessly clean and we were so busy with activities we were hardly in it. Breakfast included a selection of cereals, some fresh fruit, breads, ham, cheese and eggs. Enough to keep us going until mid afternoon. The hotel staff are very friendly as are the Ocean Elements staff. Megan and Georgia were excellent level 1 dinghy instructors and my partner thought Matt and Claire provided great windsurf instruction. Mark keeps all the beach activities well organised and very safe. Would highly recommend this hotel and Ocean Elements.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yolanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is the first time that both my wife and myself have said that we would like to repeat a holiday.
I would say that the hotel is more like a large scale family run guest house than a full blown hotel.
Having stayed at all sorts of impersonal chain hotels on business or holidays , I think this is a compliment.
The owners and staff at the Delfini hotel are really nice and incredibly helpful.
Eating in the shady outdoor restaurant area is literally yards away from the sea with an incredible view across the water to the mountains.
The thing that tops this off are the Ocean Elements staff who are just so enthusiastic.
The windsurfing,dingy sailing and bike equipment are top notch, backed up by an impressive safety system when you are in the water.
I went windsurfing 8 times in 7 days and always felt that the spotter on the shore would see me or the safety boat would come quickly if I was in trouble.
Lots of places to cycle to from easy hour with a beer at the end to all day Iron Man routes up the mountain.
The Ocean Elements team go that extra mile to ensure you have a brilliant activity holiday.
Sailing facilty is a 2 minute walk down the beach from the hotel.
Good selection of tavernas and restaurants within a 5 minute walk if you want.
Brilliant home made ice cream shop a few minutes down the road in Nidri.
Got quite a few mosquito bites but that can happen anywhere which is hot.
Wasn't sure whether to write a good review as we want to keep this great holiday to ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from an excellent weeks sailing with Ocean Elements. The hotel itself is basic, but overall the resort and the team make up for that. I heard nothing but praise for all the Ocean Elements team from everybody who took part in the various activities on offer. Thanks to Natasha for drinks at the BBQ :-) and thanks to Doug for tuition throughout the week. Overall this was my favourite holiday of this type so far!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from a week in Delfini hotel. Our first Ocean Elements beach holiday but will definitely be back here. I booked this holiday purely for the watersports facilities. I signed up for dinghy sailing level 1 in the mornings and kayaked, paddleboard, sailed or cycled in the afternoons depending on conditions. Tuition was 10/10 with Georgia and Becky giving us a week of fun and top tips to remember how to tack and gybe "Bollywood style". Our biggest challenge was lack of wind towards the end of the week in the mornings but there's nothing you can do about that, therein came the capsize forfeit game to "Georgia says". The Ocean Elements team were professional, uber enthusiastic, helpful and friendly and comments from everyone within the holiday group were all positive. You are a top team of fabulous individuals and as a unit you are great ambassadors for your company.
Hotel Delfini is set in a beautiful location, the staff are friendly if a little reserved. Our room was number 17, a double with a limited view of the sea between the two buildings but views over the hillside so not a problem. We were quite happy with it to be honest. The frog noise is hilarious never heard such a noise, thought it was ducks quacking at first! The air conditioning worked well and not too noisy. The room was cleaned daily by a friendly maid and had a large built in wardrobe and cupboard with two shelves for storage. The fridge in the room looked fairly new, was a bit noisy at night but only same as having a fridge at home. The wetroom was clean and functional if a little snug. You had to open the door, step in, close the door to get to the loo. Bit more of a challenge for the larger person. The shower was hand hold or attach to the wall and the hose was just long enough to reach the hook and with tweaking you could stand under and shower ok. I would probably take a travel kettle for the room and my own tea bags as I did miss a decent strong cuppa in the mornings.
Breakfast buffet was ok but agree with other comments, my personal preferrence would also be honey to go with greek yoghurt and fresh fruit salad definitely. I did enjoy the watermelon when it was offered. Breads were fresh and the "hot" option was limited to either scrambled eggs or omelette, boiled eggs also on table not a problem for me being a vegetarian. In the main there was enough to eat.
We enjoyed a lovely barbecue on the final night plenty of wine and food and stuffed veggies for us instead of the meat option. The patio area is a fabulous setting for eating breakfast or enjoying group dinners .eg. Greek night or BBQ night.
The resort of Nidri has a wide range of restaurants along its main street and the marina. One that was popular with many of the guests and ourselves is the No Menu restaurant in the main street on the right hand side as you walk towards the port. Great food but you get what's in fresh so there's no over blown menu, refreshingly simple and good food.

Overall, Excellent watersport holiday, great team of staff, great kit to use. Excellent tuition and safety cover. Well worth the money and definitely recommend this holiday. I would also say that the group of people we met on holiday this past week were first class all from various backgrounds and locations but very friendly and sociable which added to the whole experience for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We go in May and sept when you don't pay for going in school holidays. It is worth every penny to sail,cycle,kayak, and be looked after by a great bunch of staff. The chambermaid in the hotel is lovely and very thorough your sheets are changed mid week and maybe things are old but there was always hot water and electricity. The oe team mark Megan doug Georgia Molly Tom Laura Alex Tash Emily were all absolutely fantastic, such good fun and very knowledgable they really know their stuff and are able to teach with a confidence that is put across so well, safety taken very seriously but you never feel you are being limited in any way. Whoever does the interviewing is spot on they are all going to have such a great season. The children are going to have such a great time with Molly she has some brilliant plans for entertainment and parents do not have to worry she seems more than capable, although I don't envy her that job. Alex just as enthusiastic as last year and makes great rides for all abilities always with a great taverna on route this is a must. The cocktails by the waterfall are the best.

Room Tip: 30 31 32 just ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Delfini in September 13 with Ocean Elements holidays. We enjoyed our holiday so much we couldn't wait to return. Needless to say we have just returned after another fantastic week from 18th to 25th May. As returning customers we did specify which rooms we wanted (28 & 29 sea facing) and paid a little extra for a sea view on the 3rd floor. However when we arrived we were given rooms on the second floor over looking a building! This was soon rectified but we were only given one of the rooms we requested and our friends were allocated a room which only had a partial side sea view. We were a little disappointed that our friends room was not next to ours as requested but this did not spoil our holiday. The breakfast is basic but pleased to see Greek yogurt on the menu this year. The instant coffee wasn't great so we did buy a small jar of Nescafé from the local supermarket. The Rooms are basic but spotlessly clean, usual bucket for toilet tissue & a hand held shower head, but the water was always hot and forceful. The bed linen and towels were changed mid week. For a lunchtime snack Paolo & Maria made a great Greek salad and gave a wonderful BBQ on our last night. I have to agree with Mark And Mandy's comment about the Bonking frogs! (now being used as a ringtone!) they were very noisy but fascinating to watch. I think what people have to remember when booking the Delfini through Ocean Elements is that the price you pay largely goes towards the excellent tuition and top quality equipment supplied and of course the fantastic staff. Thank you Megan, Georgia, Mark, Tash, Emily, Tom, Doug, the lovely Molly and a special thank you to Alex (bike dude) it was great to see you back for a second year. Well done you are all amazing and so good at what you do.
On the whole it's a great action packed value for money holiday :)
Team Ann, Jim, Linda & Adam

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ann Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nidri
0.3 mi away
Apartments George
Apartments George
#2 of 14 in Nidri
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avra Beach Hotel
Avra Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nidri
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oscar Hotel
Oscar Hotel
#12 of 14 in Nidri
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Tesoro Hotel
Tesoro Hotel
#6 of 12 in Nikiana
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#1 of 14 in Nidri
180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Athos Hotel
Athos Hotel
#6 of 14 in Nidri
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delfini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delfini Hotel

Property: Delfini Hotel
Address: Nidrior, Nidri 31084, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Nidri
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Nidri
Hotel Class:2 star — Delfini Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Delfini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfini Hotel Nidri, Lefkada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing