We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Nidr”

To Nidri Grill Taverna
Ranked #43 of 65 Restaurants in Nidri
Price range: US$2 - US$11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A traditional greek restaurant with our own farm, next to our own family butcher's. We try to provide a pleasasnt atmosphere for our guests and make you feel like your home. Everything is homemade. We use only local products, the feta cheese, olive oil and also the wine is produced by us. Please write your opinion, and we hope to see you soon!
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best restaurant in Nidr”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

If you want to eat the best quality meat - tender and juicy lamb, flavoursome pork - and sausages to die for - all from animals reared on the family farm. The prices are such good value - we ate at many other places at the start of the holiday - but this is a restuarant where Yianna and her mama can't do enough for you - family recipes for stuffed tomatoes and moussaka - good quality house wine and they also make a good greek coffee - something not every greek cafe does.Should you be self catering - then their butchers shop would be the place to buy your meat - or even to buy a spit roast chicken to take away.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wonderful homeade sauages!!”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We have just come back from nidri and ate in wonderful resturants one of which was"to nidri "grill taverna
The food is wonderfull, pure greek fresh and tasty. If you are going to eat there (and I stongley recommend you do) please try the sausages they are nothing you have tasted before .the meat comes from Yianna`s own pig farm and are a complete pleasure( we had to return 3 times in a week!) we hope to return next year
land (smelly) paul mo &keith

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank banana12345186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISBANE
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“LEFKADA BEST RESTAURANT”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This is a tourist destination, good value restaurants difficult to locate. We have located the classiest best located restaurant, with outstanding food and prices 50% less than the competition. Us 4 had grilled seafood, free 1 litre house wine, olives, crusty bread and great chocolate ice cream. Total bill 33eoro.
In Australia that is about $10 each. Can not be matched anywhere I have travelled. Located on marine esplanade with views of expensive motor yachts, the passing parade of friendly young tourists and families all enjoying this marvellous holiday destination.
We also encountered friendly staff. Going back again tomorrow, its so good.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PACIFICSWIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Forget the pretty places, if you want top quality good food come here!”
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We visited a good number of restaurants in Nidri and the competition ensures a good standard but if you want the best quality meat and the best cooking come to see Theo and Phillipos. Being on the main street you don't get the views or the pretty setting but this is more than made up for by the friendly atmosphere and the excellent value of the food.
Don't leave going here to late in your holiday - you will be sorry that you didn't try it earlier. We recommended it to neighbours and like us they ended up going there every other night.
Top recommendation - I wouldn't normally eat burgers but these home made succulent meat and herb delicacies were delicious. Also, try the chicken wrapped in bacon souvlakis or the beautifully flavoured Stiffado
It's also one of the few places you can get a Fix beer!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PKJsguidedtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food not to be missed”
Reviewed 16 April 2010

The Nidri grill house taverna may not have a sea view but it's food more than makes up for that. A place not to be missed by anyone who loves the taste of fresh lamb. chicken or veal and the usual selection of 'orektika' (starters). Everything is sourced locally and this means that there are some very good wines on offer too. No hangovers to be had from this wine as it contains no chemicals. You will be welcomed always with a smile and probably a joke or two from the most likeable Theo and the excellent chef Phillipos.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GreekShaunTheSheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed To Nidri Grill Taverna also viewed

 

Been to To Nidri Grill Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing