We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fall Holiday”

Review of Villa Octavius

Welcome to Villa Octavius
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Villa Octavius
Your first view of  Villa Octavius Easy walk in pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Welcome to Villa Octavius
Your first view of  Villa Octavius
Easy walk in pool
View from the air
Large Kitchen
Octagonal Lounge
Dinning Room
Super King Blue Room
Red Room
White Room
Dancing camels bedroom (twin)
Master bathroom
Hammock Tower
Main shaded terrace
Warm evenings
Shaded patio and Hammock Tower
Fire Table lounge under the stars
Ideal place to unwind
Enjoy the sea view from the Fire table lounge
View from the Red Bedroom Balcony
Super yachts in the bay! You have the best view
Enjoy Star filled nights from the Hot Tub
The pool eye
Cozy Jacuzzi seating area
Villa Octavius the ........Hilltop Retreat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Nidri, Lefkada, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wendy S
Waterloo, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fall Holiday”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our group of 8 (4 adults and 4 kids) stayed at the Villa Octavius for our fall Holiday at the end of October. It was hands down the best vacation home we have rented. Steve was an amazing host, the communication prior to our arrival was helpful. The villa was stunning to say the least! There was a beautiful welcome basket waiting for us upon arrival. The view from the porch was breathtaking. The pool was immaculate, the house was spotless. We felt welcomed right away. Steve took us out for a day adventure on his boat to snorkel and I would suggest you do not pass up this opportunity. One of the best days ever! I can honestly say that no one in our group was ready to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben1371
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another fantastic holiday!!!”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We travelled to Villa Octavius at the end of September in a party of 6. This was our 4 year at the Villa and it never fails to meet every expectation both in service from Steve and Monica and the facilities to hand.
We generally love the Island of Lefkas and staying at the Villa makes the experience all the more enjoyable.
The Villa offers the views of the Bay at Nidri that are breathtaking no matter what time of day. Morning sunrises are spectacular. The Villa itself offers something for every visitor no matter what walk of life, from the pool to the hot tub, outside and inside dining, TV in the lounge to computer facilities in the office area, large kitchen and BBQ facilities, bedrooms with every need and a Hammock tower for simply relaxing. What more could anyone want.
Steve is always willing to offer assistance in trips out, where to go and what to do if you want to, and his boat trips offer a fantastic day out.
We have already booked for next year and cant wait for the time to come around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!
Liked least: Cant thing of anything.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turpsgirl
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marine Adventure”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Steve, the owner of villa Octavius, took us on one of his Marine Adventures. It was an absolutely fantastic day. He took us out on a boat to visit the best snorkeling spots around Lefkas and other nearby islands, including a huge bat cave where the light shone through the sapphire water turning everything the light touched bright blue. Steve was incredibly knowledgeable about marine life especially octopi. It was a truly captivating and educational day. Highly recommended experience for anyone.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nity R
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Luxurious, welcoming and fun. It lived up to the expectations set by so many outstanding reviews”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

It's hard to add more to the superlatives of all the previous reviews. They really weren't exaggerating!

We arrived and were welcomed at the door by the owners, Steve and Monica. Steve's guided tour of the villa revealed that the camera didn't lie. The villa is as stunning as it looks in the pictures - if anything the pictures don't do the views from the villa or the villa itself justice.

Each room is tastefully decorated and furnished with original, unique and beautiful furniture. We've stayed in Mediterranean villas before and it has felt like the owners opted for a minimum spec. That is not the case here at all.

Every room offers a new view and theme, but the quality is consistent. It is clear that a lot of thought has gone into the facilities to ensure your stay is as convenient as possible - and so Octavius goes above and well beyond the minimum. The kitchen is well stocked both with food prep equipment and condiments. All the bedrooms are en suite and come with really good quality linen and towels. We were six but it would have taken eight people very comfortably. You are also provided with enough outdoor and pool towels for everyone. The cool box is a nice touch so you can take keep drinks or snacks cool on trips out. There are candles everywhere if you like creating an atmosphere of peace and calm with those. Even the barbecue area is well thought out and stocked with everything you will need so you can fire up straight away. The hammock room - a covered veranda area with stunning views - is the perfect place for relaxation or massage / aromatherapy provided on site by Dimitra - a local and mobile therapist. And of course with a fridge for drinks too so you don't have to go all the way down stairs. Technology is all of a good standard - decent flat screen satellite TV, surround sound DVD, multi room Sonos system. But you'll be wasting the views if you spend your time watching the telly. Wifi reception is good on the ground floor - just over 3Mbps download and upload speeds. I think that's decent for the Greek islands - maybe a bit less than what you are used to if your teenagers expect simultaneous streaming. Hopefully they'll realise there's more to life and get outdoors into the jacuzzi or pool. The pool is deep in the octagonal part, with stairs in from the side. It's not large but good enough for splashing about. The hot tub is in a separate area of the garden, down some stairs, so creates a nice separate area if part of the group want to relax elsewhere. From this side you have a stunning view of the hills and valleys behind the villa. The pool deck also boasts a massive dining table in a covered area, and a separate outdoor sofa area with a gas fired fire table to put your feet around and watch the sea as the sun goes down, with a glass of wine.

So to outside the villa - it's a 5 minute drive into the town - Nidri (the road is steep and winding up to the villa so car or scooter would be a must unless you want a tough walk in the heat). I wouldn't say it is sophisticated - Nidri is still a fairly sleepy town - but it has everything you should need - banks, pharmacy, reasonable small stores for groceries, bakers, butcher, fish monger, loads of tavernas, bars and a bit of nightlife. The beach at Nidri is not massive and its mostly shingle / pebble and our kids are still at the stage where they want a bit of sand castle action - but it was only about a 40 min drive to Kathisma on the west side of the island which offers a large coarse sand beach, easy parking if you're early and tavernas / showers etc close to the beach. The waves are quite large there. Occasionally there is a really big wave [ and it feels like you're being tossed about in a washing machine - so this might be a bit too much for smaller ones or less strong swimmers. Our kids (12 - strong swimmer and 7 - less so) loved that part, though.

Steve allowed us to borrow his telescope (I don't know anything about this stuff but it looks high spec) and coached us so the kids were more fascinated by the stars, the rings of Saturn and the moon at night. Steve also skippers an excellent boat trip if you are up for those where he will show you local beaches, take you snorkelling and show you local wildlife. It makes a huge difference and it is a small extra cost to be looked after for the day considering what a knowledgeable and helpful local guide he is. Both Steve and Monica were always on hand when needed but they are also very discrete and thoughtful, plus the design of the villa means you are not overlooked at all, so you have complete privacy.

If you are thinking of booking and have questions, or if you have already booked and want to make plans, I would recommend you email direct - the villa email is on their website. If I had done that, we could have been a bit more organised and prepared before we arrived. We would have carried less stuff (because the villa is stocked with more than you would expect) and we wouldn't necessarily have gone through a tour operator.

We loved it and were already talking about how we can make it back on the journey to the airport. You can't get a better recommendation than that!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too hard to pick between stunning views, high spec villa and fun boat trip
Liked least: Honestly we couldn't think of anything negative
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJKrog
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Arrive as Octavius, leave as Augustus”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We spent a week at the villa and we immediately realised upon arrival that a week will be too short. You are welcomed by a breathtaking view over Nidri, the crystal clear ocean and mountains in the distance. The villa is very tasteful and subtly decorated. The villa even has normal plumbing in which you can dispose toilet paper (something which is a rarity in Greece!). Drinking water is sourced from the mountain and is delicious. Steve and Monica made us feel very welcome and were the best hosts anyone can wish for.

Among the amazing things we experienced whilst being guests at the villa was a boat trip which Steve took us on where we stopped at the surrounding islands for lunch and drinks, showed us an octopus up close and personal and we were welcomed by a pod of dolphins during our boat trip. Steve also showed us stars and planets with his huge telescope from the deck of the villa (we even saw the rings of Saturn!). From the villa, you are in walking distance of a beautiful waterfall and some of the most amazing restaurants situated on the beach. If you feel even more adventurous, rent a scooter for cheap and visit the wine farms situated not more than 15 min away.

Villa Octavius is ideal to forget about the world and immerse yourself in absolute serenity. Among Greek visitors, people will be classified between those who stayed at Villa Octavius, and those who did not. We left with tears in our eyes, sad to say adieu to the villa and especially our hosts, but we were ready to found an empire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: To leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBosman84
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Welcome to Paradise”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Luxury, privacy and immaculate beauty are what we found at Villa Octavius. Gracious hosts, Steve and Monica, went beyond the extra mile to make our stay as rewarding as possible. The world is your oyster, whether you wish to relax in the pristine pool, jacuzzi or hammock tower, or go out to explore waterfalls, islands, beaches and caves! We had the time of our lives! It truly is heaven on earth! I cannot recommend it highly enough!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ernstfits...
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best holiday ever!!!!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Gorgeous villa with stunning views over Nidri and the islands. Steve and Monica are the perfect hosts. The villa has absolutely everything one could need, including a lovely swimming pool and a jacuzzi.

The highlight of the week by far was the boat trip with Steve and Monica which included a close encounter with an octopus, viewing a pod of dolphins, a trip into a massive cave where a Greek submarine used to hide during WW2, a stunning snorkel into a cave filled with bats and a wonderful lunch on the nearby island of Meganisi.

The villa is walking distance (or a short scooter ride) from the town of Nidri which has everything one needs including restaurants and supermarkets. The villa is also close to a valley with a gorgeous waterfall at the end of a short walk. A short distance away is the stunning Desimi beach.

Thank you Monica and Steve for the best holiday ever!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing