We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just what we needed”
Review of Athos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Athos Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Nidri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here for a week, The hotel had everything we needed especially air con! The breakfast was buffet style bread cheese, ham. Fruit cereal etc. They also have a full lunch menu which we sampled and would recommend.They have a tree bar which is open until late and the cocktails went down well. Our pool seemed to be the biggest compared to hotels around. Staff very friendly and would do anything for you. The only thing that let it down was the balcony view there was sea view just a long way away! Easy 10 minute walk into the town centre along the harbour. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TessiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Athos Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our first stay at the Athos and I would certainly stay here again. The rooms, although basic, have a fridge and air conditioning and are very clean. Only a 5 minute walk from the main town area, ,the hotel itself is in a quiet area. Breakfast if of typical greek buffet style, but with a very good choice. You can enjoy a cooked breakfast on request at a little extra charge. The only downside for us is that the lovely pool area is open to non residents and which did become very noisy with no control over some (not all) children misbehaving. The staff are lovely and very helpful. We did not use the tree bar only due to the fact that my husband is allergic to mosquitos and we did not want to take the risk sitting under the trees - it is does look lovely and has been sympathetically set up away from the main bedrooms to eliminate noise.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms overlooking the pool area.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baggiebird33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Six of us stayed in this small, clean well run hotel for a week after sailing round the Ionian. What a great way to finish our holiday. Everything about the place was spot on. Staff with smiley faces clean rooms, great pool and beautiful views.
The only thing I could pick up on being very picky, the water for you tea wasn't very hot.
And yes we were in a 2 hour check in at Preveza.
June 2013

Room Tip: We were in 250 it was perfect
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chesterd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We had the most wonderful holiday staying in this family run hotel. Everything from start to finish was excellent. The staff were fantastic and so welcoming. Rooms clean and well equipped. In fact the hotel environment was so lovely we spent most of our time in and around the pool. The only downside was that we could have done with another week!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hlnfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Great little family run hotel close to everything you might need on a relaxing break. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. The apartments are basic but clean and in good condition with free use of the air conditioning and mini fridge ,very usefull since it as been over 40c all week. Nice pool and bar during the day and in the evenings you can go to the tree bar in the grounds for a drink and live music a couple times a week.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oggie431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Just back from a lovely week at the Athos in June 2013.Great hotel,very clean,nice bar/snacks.Very friendly & charming staff especially Gianna & Soula at the bar.Quiet & peaceful with lovely pool & just a short stroll into town.Would recommend to anyone.
Only downside was the pathetic 2 hour check-in at Preveza airport.Stood queing in 100+ degrees
was not an experience I wish to repeat!! All down to crap planning.5 planes leaving within an hour when the staff here can only cope with one!! It's about time Greece was kicked out of Europe & went back to the tin-pot banana republic it was before.At least then we know what to expect!!
Richard & sandra

Room Tip: Quiet allover really
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed here in June 2012. Lovely hotel - very relaxed - great staff. We did a week on flotilla with Neilson Holidays then a week of sheer relaxation at this well run hotel. Nidri is a fantastic place for a really laid back holiday. The ferry, which is a two minute walk from the hotel takes you to a number of beautiful Islands just across the water. Many really great restaurants serving traditional Greek fare to high end international cuisine.
A tip - ask for a sea view or else you will be facing scrub land !

Room Tip: A sea view is a must!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carole c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nidri
0.7 mi away
Avra Beach Hotel
Avra Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in Nidri
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartments George
Apartments George
#2 of 14 in Nidri
204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#1 of 14 in Nidri
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oscar Hotel
Oscar Hotel
#11 of 14 in Nidri
22 reviews
3.0 mi away
Aliki Hotel
Aliki Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nikiana
86 reviews
8.7 mi away
Alexaria Holiday Homes
Alexaria Holiday Homes
#14 of 76 in Lefkada
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athos Hotel

Address: 221 Nydri Lefkas, Nidri 31100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Nidri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nidri
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nidri
Price Range: £34 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Athos Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Nydri’s waterfront, Athos Hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with balcony. It has a swimming pool and a hot tub and provides free Wi-Fi access throughout.Athos offers spacious accommodation, rooms are equipped with a TV, fridge and hairdryer. A private bathroom with shower is standard.Guests can enjoy their drink at Tree Bar surrounded by palm trees and enjoying views of Nydri. The hotel also features a pool bar serving drinks and light meals until the afternoon.Within walking distance, guests can find a super market, while 100 metres away there are bars and restaurants. Lefkada Town is at 15 km and Aktion National Airport is within 22 km. Free private parking is possible on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Athos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athos Hotel Lefkas
Athos Hotel Nidri, Lefkada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing