We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Apartments George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartments George
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Nidri
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have just arrived home from a fabulous fortnight holiday at The George Hotel, Nidri. The hotel far exceeded our expectations! We have holidayed in numerous Greek islands and when considering value for money it is the best we have experienced. The rooms were cleaned daily and were very clean (due to the hard working room maids.) We were provided with clean towels each day and regular change of sheets. We had a room on the first floor with lovely views of the mountains at the back of the hotel. The attractive pool area was great but the garden was even better as it was more spacious (enabling you to follow the shade of the parasol). The bar and dining area were also lovely and the food, made with their home grown fruit and veg, was delicious! Location was great as it was only a couple of minutes from the hustle and bustle of the main street and harbour but still very tranquil. But what made the hotel extra special was the staff. They made us feel so welcome and were very friendly and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble for them and any problems that we had were dealt with immediately and efficiently. By the time it was the end of our holiday we felt like we were leaving good friends. We will especially miss Martina, George, Khalid, Constantinos, Marcos and of course Maria and her laugh! We’ll also miss the world’s best mojito!! But I think most of all we will miss Billo, the sweetest little ‘rescue’ dog.
Now let’s address other people’s negative comments. Yes the breakfast didn’t include Greek yoghurt and fruit and I was initially a little bit disappointed, but then the homemade marmalade made up for it! The air con, safe key etc. were a little dearer than other hotels, but then the cost of our holiday (booked through Thomas cook) was extremely cheap compared to other hotels of this standard. Apparently Thomas Cook keeps driving the prices down. So if you want all the extras, well pay for a more expensive hotel in the first place!!
As for the collection box for Billo, well quite frankly we didn’t mind at all. Was anyone forcing you to put money in the box? We even bought doggie treats for her!!
This is the first time we have ever commented on trip advisor. Having returned from previous holidays we have always had the good intention on commenting but then have never got round to it. So the fact that we have actually posted this recommendation is proof of what a fabulous hotel it is!!!

Room Tip: We had room 244 which was a 1st floor room at the back with lovely views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanandBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    62
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
41
87
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I'm struggling to understand some of the extreme reviews on here for The George. We've just returned after a fortnight in Nidri and while the place is OK in some respects, it's also not sparkling in others as many reviews seem to claim.
Pluses. It's close to the town centre and an easy level stroll. Nidri harbour is fairly pleasant however a bit livelier than we usually choose. Pool and surrounds at The George were nice and well maintained however many of the sunbeds are in need of replacement as many are either ripped or broken. Rooms while they weren't huge, they were generally OK for Greece. Standard of cleaning / towel / bedding changes etc were also good.
Minuses. Breakfast selection dreadful. No fruit, greek yoghurt, choice of cereals etc. Apparently previous years have been much better and Owner seems to be economising to maximise his profits. If you fancy any alternatives, these are available however all at extra cost. Snack, Restaurant and Pool Bar Prices also really steep! 9.5 Euros for a Club Sandwich anyone?
Aircon 8 Euros a day and Safety Deposit Box 25 Euros for the two weeks which gives the Owners 137 Euros per room before you collect your key.
On the subject of cost and penny pinching, the Owners have a small dog 'Billoo' who is really friendly, however the Owner has the nerve to have two collection boxes located on the bar and reception area to collect cash from guests to pay for his dogs food! Bizarre.
Overall while it was OK, we won't be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndynGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We are a family with one preschooler and one baby, so we were looking for something relaxing and with adequate amenities that wouldn't charge an arm and a leg. We got exactly that. Location is great cause it's very quiet, just two minutes walk from the main road where you can find everything. The buildings were okay, nothing to shout about but were cleaned daily. Towels were provided in tons, food was prepared fresh, pool was nice and clean, and it was generally very quiet and relaxing. Our room was equipped with a small fridge and means to prepare coffee and tea. There is a small playground for the kids that needs some maintenance (slide was broken). Also, the doors have a system attached that's too noisy when you open and shut the door (normally we wouldn't care but it woke the kids up) The staff and management were a gem: very friendly, attentive and caring and looked after our every need. Thank you Maria, Matina, Halid and Marinos for making our stay a wonderful experience :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scankat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have just returned from the G George Hotel Nidri. This hotel is in a great location, just a couple of minutes from the main street and harbour front. We found the grassy area at the side of pool great as you had room to yourselves to move your sunbeds around, whereas the ones at the side of the pool were just about touching each other and yes you did have to sort out the many broken ones. We had a great room overlooking the pool, we chose a studio rather than just a room, but either is booked on a B&B basis. Which brings me to the breakfasts - what a disappointment, we have had many continental breakfasts before but have always had more choice, you could pay extra for eggs, bacon etc, but even the greek yogurt was an extra! As already stated in other reviews Maria did not socialise with the guests and yes they are after your money as stated = 112 euro for aircon 2 weeks and 25 euro for room safe, and yes 40 euro for a late check out room. They also came round every morning with that days special evening menu hoping you would eat at the hotel. Having said all this because we liked the location of the George Hotel and now being aware that we might be better off paying for a better breakfast every morning ( which I know you shouldn't have to do ) we would return as we looked at other accomodation whilst we were there and didnt like the pool areas or location as much.

Room Tip: We preferred to have a high floor room overlooking the pool, the ones at the back didnt have a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fantasticholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

This was our second stay at the George and we were not disappointed. Thank you Maria and Khalid for making us feel so welcome and for making such an effort to make our holiday so special. Thanks also to Marinos and Marcos great company in the evening when your having a drink or two at the bar ! The Hotel has a lovely pool area and although only 2 minutes away it's a quiet oasis from the hustle and bustle of the main street and bars and restaurants which overlook the bay. It's worth sampling the food at the Hotel which is good value, locally sourced, and freshly cooked.We wouldn't stay anywhere else !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Avoid the George hotel,we were put in room 233 which is a bottom floor self catering room,no view,only hotels washing,telegraph pole and very high bushes so no sun.Asked to be moved and was told no probs if we didn't mind paying an extra €40 a night to do so.Did mange to change rooms to 254 on top rear floor after complaining to Thomas Cook rep.Had to pay €112 for air con, € 15 for wi fi which was slow at best,and wanted €25 for a safe,and if you want to keep your room longer at the end of your holiday thats another €40 please for an extra 4 hours.Afraid the George is all about how much they can fleece you for while your there.Breakfast was very average,unless surprise,surprise you wanted to pay extra to get something different.Most of the sun beds are broken, and the owner just seems to sit at the bar all day helping himself to a beer every now and then,never spoke to any of his guests.Really wanted to enjoy this holiday as it was our wedding anniversary but just feel very let down,would not return to the George I'm afraid to say.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
18 Thank Timbosedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We have just returned from a two week holiday at the George Hotel Nidri. The Hotel is very clean and you can have clean towels everyday if you need them. There is however, very limited cupboard and drawer space for your clothes. The staff are very friendly and helpful although the only time I spoke to Maria was when I handed our room keys in on departure! The breakfast is very basic, the same everyday and no choice of cereal or Greek yoghurt, but filled a gap. The hotel is situated 5 min walk from the busy Main Street, and this is enough to make it very peaceful and just far enough away from the bars and nightclubs. The beach is quite narrow and pebbly but has everything you need and only a 10min flat walk away, as is the harbour and tavernas. You are spoilt for choice with eating places and they all try for your custom, once you have eaten there though you are then their friends! Our favourite on the harbour was Roots, first on the left as you turn into the port, fantastic value, friendly staff and perfect food! Also the Apollon, a little further along, exceeded our expectations. If you like the traditional Greek, take the turning off the main road opposite the church and go to Fantastica, it's a family run taverna, with a lovely elderly Greek lady welcoming you as soon as you arrive. This is fantastic value for money and outstanding food, especially the breakfast special omelette! This is what Greece is all about. There a lots of boat trips to keep you occupied and also just to the right of the hotel, and a pleasant 45min flat walk will take you to the stunning waterfall, well worth a visit. Don't forget to have a drink in the taverna at the bottom when you leave, it's well worth it. This is the perfect place to relax and unwind, and we spent many an afternoon/evening at the 'la minute' bar people watching, and watching the boats returning from their day trips. Perfect!

Room Tip: We had the first room at the front and our balcony was lovey and cool on our return each day, didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoraCanveyIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nidri
0.3 mi away
Avra Beach Hotel
Avra Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nidri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
6.2 mi away
Villa Olga Hotel Apartments & Studios
0.5 mi away
Athos Hotel
Athos Hotel
#4 of 14 in Nidri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Alexaria Holiday Homes
Alexaria Holiday Homes
#8 of 77 in Lefkada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
2.2 mi away
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa
8.2 mi away
Grand Nefeli
Grand Nefeli
#4 of 12 in Vasiliki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments George

Property: Apartments George
Address: Valaoritou Str 8, Nidri 31087, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Nidri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nidri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments George 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartments George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g George Aparthotel Nidri
Apartments George Nidri, Lefkada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing