We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Avra Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avra Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Nidri
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed at The Avra Beach for a week in June booked through Ocean Elements. Our room was on the side of the hotel with a small balcony overlooking the Delfini Hotel next door but we didn't spend a great deal of time in the room. There are only 4 rooms in the hotel with a sea view. (Rooms 14,15,16 & 17) otherwise would suggest it's worth asking for a garden room. Our room (Number 11) was spotless, firm twin beds, a fridge, air conditioning, fly screens, mosquito machine and whilst the bathroom was very small the the shower was excellent. The room was serviced every day and sheets and towels changed several times during the week. Breakfast was continental, cold meats & bread, cereal, delicious greek yoghurt and fruit. We ate as part of a large group on our first night and the meal was excellent with typical greek dishes and plenty of choice. Beach loungers are free if you are staying at the hotel otherwise there is a small charge. We spent most of the day at Ocean Elements watersports base about a 5 minute walk along the beach from the Avra. The staff and selection of boats, windsurfers, bikes & equipment is superb and we would highly recommend holidaying with Ocean Elements. You can do as much or as little activity as you choose, there is always something going on. Greek night at the Delfini Hotel was great fun and the day sail to Meganisi Island was a challenge but we really enjoyed ourselves. Would highly recommend Seaview Tavern for lunch, next to Ocean Elements base - definitely the best mojitos on the island! There are countless restaurants and bars in Nidri the ones we enjoyed the best were The Barrel,Ta Kalamia - the restaurant with no menu & El Greco.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Alison698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    47
    25
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
71
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just returned. This hotel is in a lovely position right on the beach. Rooms are typically greek i.e. hard bed but the room was larger than usual. Breakfast was adequate. The beach is not very wide but not a problem as there is a nice lawn you can pull your lounger onto with large shady trees, sometimes needed! The hotel is on the outskirts of Nidri but a short walk to all the restaurants and bars in the evening. Restaurants we recommend are Apollon and The Barrel, both very busy, good food and efficient service. At The Barrel, if offered a liquer, the peach schnapps is delicious and very pretty! A walk up to the waterfall is a must, also a ferry to Meganissi.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pusscat83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Very nice hotel in quiet part of Nydri but just near the center of the town. It has clean rooms, mosquito meshes on all doors and windows and just 10m from beach. Continental breakfast with a greek spirit on the beach is something you will never forget. It is also a good base point to explore Lefkada and Meganissi. It takes just one hour with motorbike to the most beautiful beaches on the south-west side of the island. It is also a good base to explore nerby island meganissi.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Loved it. Spotless. Family run hotel with staff who were very friendly. Beach lovely with fantastic views. Rooms basic but comfortable. Breakfast plentiful. Family taverna next door was good value for drinks and food. Plenty of restaurants to choose from along the main street and harbour. Only downside was having to pay for sunbeds once the beach started becoming busier, maybe Avra guests should get a concession? Will definitely be going back, we have found a little slice of paradise.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Better second time round. Cannot fault this hotel....at all. If you want a good clean base on the beach you can't go far wrong. Food is good, we ate here several evenings rather than walk to the harbour strip. Safe is 7 euros and air con 35 euros per week. Turn left looking at the sea from the beach you come to Christiana taverna. Their food is excellent...go for lunch. You won't be disappointed. We walked to harbour once for evening meal and once was enough. It's not a classy resort, you don't get the expensive yachts anchoring here which says a lot. Plenty of shops though to potter round. You don't have to move from the hotel though unless you want to. The views are beautiful and the sea clean and clear. We will be going back.

Room Tip: Basically all the same. Only 3 rooms with sea view and these are not offered through cosmos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scoop29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamnik, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

To be hones - from outside this hotel doesn't look any special, but you forget that little thing first thing in morning with breakfast on the beach. Breakfast is standard Greek - nothing new, but always full plates.
People were nice, roomates were freindly and trustable. If you are looking for cozy rooms with 5 stars you will be disapointed, but if you came to Nydri just to have strategic point for exploring Lefkada - this is great location and place to stay. At night there is something going on the street, there are nice taverns and cocktail bars only cople minutes. But also hotel stays on beggining main street so you have quiet nights.
There is also nice beach with trees and shadow, nice grass and some play toys for kids. So it's great for couples, seniors and families.
There is also Wi-Fi, sometimes it works even on beach ;)
We were having great time in Nydri and if we are coming back we could choose the same hotel. For this budget it's great, literally on beach, silent but close enough for evening happenings.

Room Tip: There are only few rooms that look at the see, so I recommend that you don't bother with that. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

No negatives at all. If you want simple, extremely clean lodgings near the beach, a great beach with fabulous views, chose the Avra. A 5 minute walk to the harbour but it was too busy for us so we ate a few times at the hotel taverna on the beach. As good as any other taverna we tried. One good tip.....facing the sea turn left along the beach about ten metres and you come to the Christina taverna....we ate here for lunch on our last day and the food was delicious. Hire a car and go to Sivota and Vasillikas...lovely little places to visit for lunch..a perfect holiday. We will definitely be going back..

Room Tip: There are two or three sea view rooms, book if you can, worth the extra. The other rooms face a park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank scoop29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nidri
0.3 mi away
Apartments George
Apartments George
#2 of 14 in Nidri
201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Athos Hotel
Athos Hotel
#6 of 14 in Nidri
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oscar Hotel
Oscar Hotel
#12 of 14 in Nidri
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Alexaria Holiday Homes
Alexaria Holiday Homes
#10 of 76 in Lefkada
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#1 of 14 in Nidri
179 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aliki Hotel
Aliki Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nikiana
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Beach Hotel

Property: Avra Beach Hotel
Address: Nidri Lefkada, Nidri 31084, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Nidri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nidri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Avra Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run business Avra Beach offers all the comforts for a pleasant and relaxing accommodation near the sea. Free Wi-Fi and internet corner, safety box, silent A/C,mosquito nets on the windows, telephone,hair dryer, ceiling fan, mini fridge and a balcony on every room. Built in a peaceful location right on the beach with a beautiful spacius garden with plane trees, away from the traffic and just in front of the village's beach, Avra beach invites you to enjoy the cool and calm breeze of the sea, with a view to the islands of Scorpios and Madouri, (the privately owned islands of the late ship magnate Aristotle Onassis and the poet Aristotle Valaoritis respectively). A private free parking space for all the customers offers additional safety for your car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Avra Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Beach Hotel Nidri, Lefkada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing