We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel but Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lefko Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Nidri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This hotel is a lovely, clean and cheery little gem. The rooms are not that small as previously described - however the shower room will be an experience. Ours had a shower curtain that really wasn't worth having - however when in Greece! The manager or owner was friendly enough as was most of the staff. The only 2 not-so-good points I feel I need to point out is firstly the breakfast. It is so repetitive and borning! Same stuff every morning - eggs, cheese, weird tasting ham, greek yoghurt. One day we were lucky and had tomatoes. Fruit would be a suggestion or even like in Turkey where they give you olives, cucumber, tomatoes. I have to say the bread was always fresh though! Secondly the hotel really does need either aircon or a large ceiling fan in the breakfast area as it was so hot.

Unfortunately Greece is no longer a cheap place to go - in fact England on most occasions now is far cheaper. Beware if you are a spirit drinker as at the hotel a vodka was 5 euros and a tin of diet coke was 2.20 euros!!! Lager was 3 so not too bad. Perhaps a suggestion of a happy hour?? Or a cheap cocktail night as 6.50 euros for a cocktail again was far to expensive.

Regarding places to eat. We were recommended by quite a few people to go to the Pinewood Taverna which is set on the beach - at the end of the road from hotel turn left not right towards the main strip. Also turning right at the bottom and on the front is Mamma Mias both restaurants had excellent home cooked food and at Mamma Mias you got freebies - i.e. Ouzo, Brandy, Schnapps! Nice one considering I had to mainly stick to beer due to the price of Vodka - ended up buying a bottle of Smirnoff in the supermarked for 18 euros!! Also try Apollon that again is home cooked food. We only had one bad meal and that was at Meganissy. Dont bother with the Tavernas on the beach there as they were of very poor quality compared to Nidri.

This island really is picturesque - our only regret was not catching the boat to around the other side of the island to what looks like pure white sand beaches unlike Nidri's stone and shingle - mind you 4 euros for 2 beds and a brolly is very good! I went to price up the Parachute thing on the beach and that was 45 euros!! Er no thanks! It was 15 euros just to sit on a rubber couch-like thing!

I would never go back to a Greek Island as there are far too many to see - however Nidri was by far the most impressive - just overpriced unfortunately.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heavenhelpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2011

We have just returned from a two week holiday in Nidri and stayed at the Hotel Lefko. The hotel is great value for money, every where is spotlessly clean. Our room was a very good size and overlooked the lovely pool. We lost count of the number of times our towels and sheets were changed. The hotel staff were very friendly and work very hard. The only minor problem was the bar which was supposed to open at 9am but never seemed to open at the same time and when it was open quite often had no one behind the bar. It's 8 years since we visited Nidri but still the views a stunning, some of the best in Greece. What was diffirent was the main shopping road was blocked to traffic in the evening which made it great to walk about at night. All in all it was a great holiday at the Lefko and we would highly recommend this Hotel. Stev and Judi from Bicester, Oxon

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Stevie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Have just returned from Nidri, we stayed in the Lefko hotel on a B&B basis and would recommend it to anyone, the standard of accommodation is very high it is very clean the staff are really friendly, breakfast was continental, simple but plenty of it and good quality.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank derkandJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

As a frequent visitor to Greece & it's Islands I am used to " basic & friendly " accommodation.
The Lefko is many grades above that whilst keeping its Greek charm.
Rooms bright, clean ( possibly recently refurbished ) , new comfortable beds and a decent Bathroom with a shower curtain & hot water !
Staff friendly & work well together ( no Greek shouting at each other ! ).
Breakfast is a good Cold Buffet with tea, coffee, cereal, yoghurt(every other day ), ham, cheese, cake etc.
Hotel location is 50 yards off the Main Street & therefore quiet but handy for shops & Taverna's. If you want a really quiet room ask for a second floor one facing the Countryside ( so avoiding Pool noise/bar ) it won't face the Sea or overlook the small Fair Ground but is peaceful.

Restaurants: We like our Greek food not keen on Giros & Kebabs , Curry & Chips - so to our taste - best Taverna by far was the Trata on the right hand side of the Main Street past the NO MENU concept eatery.
We did try Tom's ( dining inside ) but like other people we spoke to , we got bitten by Mosquitos & thought it strange that dogs were allowed to wander in off the beach.

Good holiday, weather perfect & Meganissi ( via Ferry boat , 2 euro's ) beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Graham050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We stayed for 3 weeks b&b at the Lefko at the end of June/beginning of July.
We have stayed in many different accomodation over the years but I have to say our room at this hotel was quite small. We struggled to find anywhere to put our cases out of the way and the wardrobe was too small to fit both our lots of clothes in. We found the beds very hard at first but we got used to it and grew to quite like them by the end of our holiday. The bathroom was a bit of a joke as the shower is absolutey tiny with just a shower curtain that sticks to you continuously! We had to pay for aircon for 2 weeks as the temperature was rising and this made the room more comfortable.
We had a lovely view of the mountains from our balcony and we enjoyed relaxing in the spacious pool area where there are plenty of sunbeds. The maids clean the room 6 days a week chaning the sheets/towels at least twice and so the room was kept nice and clean, they did seem to arrive anytime between 10 and 2.30 though! The breakfast was quite nice, consisting of orange/lemon squash, tea/coffee, ham, cheese, boiled egss, rolls, sliced bread, toast, and alternating yoghurt/watermelon/tomatoes. The hotel is in a peaceful location but still very close to the harbour area.
Overall we had a nice break here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank yip35uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

My husband and I spent two very lovely weeks in Nidri in September 2008.

The hotel had everything you needed, very nice rooms and a good bathroom (which can be rare). We were in one of the highest rooms and the view from the balcony was beautiful, we could even see the sea. The rooms were very clean and had a fridge (which was great), safety deposit box (had to pay extra for) and Air Con (again extra).

We stayed Bed and Breakfast and the breakfast was normal Greek - Coffee, Bread, Eggs, Cheese. It was all nice enough but with a small selection.

The resort itself is very self contained - at the Lefko you are very close to everything and the main port, bars and tavernas are all just a 5 minute walk. Our favourite bar was Di Paris on the front by the Port - Panos was extremely friendly and really helped out my Greek! The Di Paris also had free Wi-Fi (we had probably two days of really bad weather and the Wi Fi gave us something to do!) Favourite taverna was The Barrel - so good, we actually thought it was a shame we didn't go there more afterwards but we wanted to try all different places.

Do get on the Ferry and go yourself to Meganissi - when Nidri was in the rain we were in glorious sunshine looking around. It was a lovely little island. We also hired a car and went around the island and onto the mainland. Much fun going through the big tunnel. Roads easy to navigate and drive along.

All in all a great holiday, yes some bad weather but that gave us a chance to read, sleep and drink at Di Paris...would defiantly come back one day

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cherylhinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2006

We have just returned from a week at this hotel. It was very comfortable and the staff very helpful and friendly. Gregory is the main guy there and he is top class as well as quite laid back.
Each of the rooms in the hotel have spilt a/c units (very quiet as the noisy evaperator unit isn't in the room). These are available at extra cost (38 euros per week). Although it was in the high thirties, we didn't need them. I believe it was over 40 degtrees celcius as we left of Sunday - and at that temperature I would probably have paid for the use of the unit, just in order to close the windows and get a comfortable nights sleep.
Didn't get to the apartments - hols for these only available in Scandanavia.
The pool is good, plenty of sun beds and space around the pool. Only down side, and it is only a small one - is the breakfast, very sparse only orange or lemon squash cornflakes bread rools and cheese and ham (processed) and hard boiled eggs - but it is Greece after all so who cares.
By the way the island is great - but watch the roads they can be lethal. The combination of Italian motor bikes, blond pilion passengers and lack of road signs can be very distracting.

15  Thank notbadfor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nidri hotels
0.2 mi away
Avra Beach Hotel
Avra Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nidri
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartments George
Apartments George
#3 of 14 in Nidri
211 reviews
0.6 mi away
Athos Hotel
Athos Hotel
#4 of 14 in Nidri
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oscar Hotel
Oscar Hotel
#11 of 14 in Nidri
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#1 of 14 in Nidri
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Captain Stavros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lefko Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lefko Hotel & Apartments

Address: Nidri 31084, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Nidri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Nidri
Price Range: £46 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lefko Hotel & Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lefko Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lefko Hotel And Apartments
Lefko Hotel & Apartments Nidri, Lefkada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing