We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't like this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hostellerie de la Vendee
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lancy
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I've stayed here before and my last stay last week reminded me how much I dislike this hotel. The rooms are tiny, dated, worn, and lack any ventilation. The internet is unreliable and the service disinterested, at best. Breakfast food quality was reasonable, but I never saw a waiter after my initial cup of coffee; instead they were in the kitchen talking. Others didn't even get coffee. There are so many better choices in Geneva at a much better value proposition.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Popovova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

I stayed 4 nights. I had room in the basement ? Very, very poor. Breakfast not bad , not gold - poor choice. Kind and polite people. Its 2 stars hotel who gave it 4?

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I like it! Mainly because it is 5 minutes walk from the office, secondly I really like people who work there, they have always been super helpful and polite, rooms indeed do not suprise with charm but I really think It is not so bad, and it is a solid and reasonably cheap place to stay in Geneva. I also really like lovely restaurant right at the corner, which cooperates with the hotel, and receipt can be added to the room price - great for me! I was really dissapointed by the breakfast, that's why now I do not order any, first of all it is crazy expensive, secondly it offers just some croissant, no scrammbled eggs etc. Very very limited choice, not worth even a half of the price.
There is a free Wi Fi which works well. The area is quiet and safe. I recommend this hotel, and for sure I will stay there when Im in GVA.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna_8791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

I was astonished at how poor the staff treated the guests. They were quite rude as if asking a simple question was an imposition. Now, the rooms are dated and the keys are very heavy that most people leave them with the hotel when going out for the day. Also, I took cold showers as there was no hit water and in any case the shower would spray water everywhere.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotter108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

The best thing about this hotel is that it is close to some of the big business centres in Petit-Lancy. It is in a quiet locality away from the hustle & bustle of the city centre.

I stayed there for one night. The staff was helpful & the room was decent, though, I felt that the breakfast could have been better. There were not too many options.

In all, i would stay there again because of its location.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debnjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

This hotel does not deliver a 4 star experience. Our shower did not work in the morning There was not hot water or pressure and the sink was plugged up. Also, when we complained at the front desk, the receptionist was not empowered to do anything about it. Also, the rooms are musty & old, with dirty shades. Sorry, but really not a 4 star experience. We stayed at a Ramada in Geneva which was almost 1/2 the price, but much cleaner & nicer. This hotel is lucky it is located to a couple of big businesses and that it has a decent restaurant. Otherwise, they would be out of business...

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GenevaFrosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 6 weeks over the past 3 months due to its great location (walking distance from P&G). I found it to be a very comfortable and safe hotel and location. The decor can be a little startling (it has a hot pink on the walls of the corridors to the rooms. Nevertheless, the important things are extremely well taken care of at this hotel. The staff is very courteous and helpful. The restaurant is quite good and the service is truly excellent. The walk to and from work was really quite pretty and enjoyable. There are several other small restaurants around the area (one is French - Petit Vendee, one is an Italian pizzeria). All the restaurants are very good. Parking is available for a fee in the hotel parking garage. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Room service is also good. There is an in-room refrigerator with drinks to by (and a close gas station to buy snacks if desired).There is a nice public garden also within close walking distance. Altogether a very nice place to stay...

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancy
0.3 mi away
ibis budget Geneve Petit Lancy
0.8 mi away
Ramada Encore Geneva
Ramada Encore Geneva
#1 of 2 in Carouge
735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Geneve Petit Lancy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de la Vendee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de la Vendee

Address: chemin de la Vendee 28, Lancy 1213, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Lancy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lancy
Price Range: £82 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie de la Vendee 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are looking for a quiet, discreet and green square in Geneva? Would you like to stay near the airport and the center? The Hostellerie de la Vendee meets these criteria and is one of those rare hotels of tradition still present on the city. Located on the hill of Petit-Lancy, it will surprise you with its personalized welcome, its comfortable bedding and its atypical style. More than a hotel, it is a destination not to be missed. The Hostellerie de la Vendee will become your "home"! The experience begins when you check-in: a free pass to use public transport will be provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostellerie de la Vendee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie De La Vendee Lancy, Canton Of Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing