We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Gare

Hotel de la Gare
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montbovon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel de la Gare
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montbovon
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We spent 4 nights in this lovely hotel. It´s an old building (1903) and the decoration also comes with a lot of antique stuff. The room we had was big enough, but could do with less furniture though. The beds were very comfortable, except for the pillows, way too thin! Our room had it´s own bathroom, with a small shower. Everything was nice and clean. There is an elevator. We liked all the old details of the building. The family that runs the hotel is very friendly and helpful. They are really nice, but also respected our privacy. The wifi was free and worked great. Breakfast was good, with homemade bread and yoghurt. We also had a couple of dinners in the hotel, and tried local specialties, and it was great! The hotel is located next to the station of Montbovon. During nighttime, there are no trains, and even though the hotel is also situated next to a busy road, we were never bothered with any noise. In Montbovon is not much to find, except for this hotel and a small store. It is a great environment to hike. But cities like Montreux, Gstaad and Gruyères and the chocolate factory are all at a reasonable distance, and are very easy to reach by train. The hotel was not expensive at all, and you get very good value for money. The only negative comment I can make, is that the hallway was pretty dark when we came back at night. Wasn´t easy to find our way then. We would definitely like to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petra_DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

I came with a group of 20 people. The manager K. Eisentraut was very helpful in helping me prepare our arrival and quick to answer all my emails spread over several weeks prior to my stay.
The dinner was fine, the quantity sufficient, the price fair.
He took care of our particular needs, making place for 25 bikes and serving vegetarian meals.
This is not the place to be if you look for entertainment in the evening, but if you want a rest or are part of a self-entertaining group, it's perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christophe_Andrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapallo, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

Stayed one night here; hotel is clean and inexpensive, the staff is friendly, the bedroom is nice, the breakfast is normal. However, you should be warned: this is the only open place that you'll find in Montbovon after 6 pm! You don't want to return here unless it's sleeping time!
Among positive things, they do have a pc for surfing the net. And the hotel is a good base, for exploring the Chateau d'Oex and Gruyeres areas.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

It is the wonderful owner and manager who make this hotel a true gem. She is truly one of the most beautiful women that I have ever met. I am writing this review over a year and a half after our visit to 7 European countries. This was my family's favourite. We will never forget the hospitality! Believe me, you will feel the same way that we did. Stay here if you ever have the chance.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaCanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montbovon
1.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Ange
Hotel de l'Ange
#1 of 1 in Albeuve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pension de la Gare
Hotel Pension de la Gare
#4 of 4 in Montbovon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Gare

Property: Hotel de la Gare
Address: Route de Chateau-d'Oex, Montbovon 1669, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > Montbovon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montbovon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing