We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostellerie am Schwarzsee
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Schwarzsee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The Hostelleriei Am Schwarzsee was a lovely,warm boutique hotel.Arrived there late at night ,so couldn't see much .How ever ,the suite we stayed in was the prettiest ,most comfortable,suite we have ever lived in.As you enter to the left is the bathroom and to the right is the little kitchenette .it had a kettle - plenty sachets of tea and coffee.
Next to the kitchenette is the cutest ever dining table,after which there is a comfortable sofa set that you just want to sink into.The bedroom was also most comfortable,with a really soft mattress and comforters that invite you to sleep! After a good nights sleep woke up as if in heaven! We were surrounded with mountains and lakes on all sides!The suite even has a small balcony!
Went down to a truly scrumptious breakfast! For a breakfast in Europe it was really elaborate.Lots of different jams,croissants,breads,cold cuts.THree types of yogurts with an assortment of nuts,tea coffee,juice and of course the hot chocolate ,not to miss the scrambled eggs!
The hotel building itself looks like a swiss chalet and is beautifully located.you cross the road and you are at the lake which is really beautiful.A pathway has been constructed to walk around the lake.Its a very pleasurable one hour walk after which you can come back to the hotel,sit in their open air coffee shop and enjoy from their assortments of ice creams.
The staff was friendly and helpful and always smiling which really added to the charm of this quaint place.WOuld love to go back there .

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deepa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

The location is beautiful by the lake and there are lots of nice walks in the region. Activities for children etc. One of the reasons why this place is very "touristy" in a cheap way. The hotel wants to play big but it fails. The quality is lacking. The "fruit juice" in the morning comes from a machine that mixes some kind of concentrate and water. The glasses given for "the juice" contain not even 1 dl to make sure you don't drink too much...The cheeses have no taste and there's a general feeling of lack of generosity at his place. In the brochure in the room it says among other things: "Taking food with you from the breakfast buffet is forbidden". I don't know what kind of guests they are used to having but personally I take it as an insult. If you order some tap water with your dinner, be informed that they'll charge you CHF 4.- for tepid but not even cold water. This even when you order wine. Be patient if you have dinner there. It takes forever to get your food. The 3 dinners we had there, we always waited for more than 45 min before we got the first dish. Extremely slow service! The rooms are OK, but the beds awfully hard. No double-beds available. One day they wake you up to do your room at 8h30 and the next day the room is not made at 2pm even. But YOU have to be out of there before 11 the day you leave... As I said, this place makes you feel that a penny is a penny and that they'd rather have the penny in their pocket than in yours. It might be the region that is this way. There's nowhere one can park for free around the lake. Never gone to the mountains and having had to pay for the parking. The restaurant by the lake is a self service restaurant with poor food and atmosphere, a real cheapy cheapy place. If you like quality - don't go there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lulu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The Hostellerie Am Schwarzsee was perfect on paper, while in reality there has been some issues
1) the indoor swimming pool is minimum 1.40m deep, which meant our kids could not be left playing at all.
2) the playroom they mentioned was full of toys but: was in the basement (no windows), shared with hotel staff wardrobe (they were coming continuously to hang or pick up uniforms), dirty (the first two days was really horribly dirty and messy, then it was better but toys still looked quite aged)
3) there is a fantastic veranda where you could eat/drink and enjoy the view, however was very cold, was not being prepared (we did not ask to go there, but looked like it would not be allowed) and mostly: it tremendously smelled of dog, as apparently one is staying there even though we have never met him, while we saw his bowls for water and food
4) one waiter entered the room without knocking or anything. As she had to bring us some toiletry that had run out, she came back again entering a second time without knocking...
5) as in other restaurants in the same country, food was unbelievably expensive compared to the quality. A dish with a small amount of meat and some frozen veggies for almost 40eur. We ate twice in a row pizza as they were cooked in a wooden oven and quite ok (for only 20eur each pizza)
6) contrary to what they claim in their hotel book (the one you find in the bedroom), they do not provide currency exchange at the reception. And they do not care of disappointing you by making an ugly face.
I believe I would not be going back to the place, even though the location was easily accessible and convenient for us, was way too expensive for the actual service.
The only positive note about the hotel, which however had not much to do with the hotel itself, was the ski-rental place located in the basement. Run by a very nice woman (and a man fixing skies in hte background, but he never talked to us), extremely available for our requests. As example we had rented equipment for three days and discovered that our son would not ski: she agreed in taking back the equipment and reimbursed the money.... which anyway we spent with her again to rent a sleigh ;)

About the surroundings of the Schwarzsee: the frozen lake was covered with snow, and the skating ring in contrast with what advertised was not maintained, therefore no skating, which had been quite a big disappointment.
We have not tried much of the ski slopes for various reasons, also we wanted our son to follow a course in the ski-school but they were fully booked the whole week.

Room Tip: In each double bedroom there is a kitchenette, but the cooker is locked, and there are no dishes/pan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kochou79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I organise a family week-end there with 15 people. The Schwarzsee is a really nice place and there are very few hotels around. we have rooms for 4 people - a normal double-bed plus a cupboard-bed. The locationof the hotel is nice, the architectual style is ok. Furniture is so so. But what is really bad is the service. Reception: slow, not friendly at all and not knowledgeable. Breakfast is not very good (american coffee in Europe....).
But the worst is the restaurant. We went there for a special dinner. After 2 hours of being there we still hadn't received our main course. When i complained, the boss was eating his dinner....and said it was normal. No apologies. Welcome to Switzerland. My advice if you sleep there is to go to one of the other restaurants in Schwarzsee - they are all fine, we tested them...

Room Tip: Ask a room close to the pool (eg 500 to 900) if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BernieBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Hostellerie am Schwarzsee is a hotel complex right at the shore of Schwarzsee with several restaurants. It offers comfortable appartment-style rooms, suited for families with children. There is direct access to a wide range of walking paths. The apartments consist of a living-room with sofa, dining table and one double fold-up bed that can be hidden in the wall. There was a separate bed-room, a kitchenette and a balcony facing the lake. All rooms were immacculately clean. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. We did not go for half-board and had dinner in the pizzeria, which was fine. Rich breakfast buffet was served in the restaurant, which is designed in the style of a modern international hotel. Overall, Hostellerie am Schwarzsee offers a comfortable stay with all mod-cons, including a wellness section with sauna and pool. Despite all efforts of the friendly staff, it remains a rather big and impersonal operation for the small Schwarzsee area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank netheravon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

My wife and I stayed here in May as a base for visiting the pre alp region of Switzerland and were not dissappointed. The hotel has recently been reburbished and rooms have a living area with table, chairs and sofas with flat screen tv and a seperate bedroom and a large balcony off the living room. We had a lake view which was a delight to wake up to. All the staff are very friendly and helpful, The breakfast was excellent. We also tasted the most delicious fillet of lamb cooked on a lava stone - it was the finest meals we have ever eaten !! The pool area and spa with saunas and steam room with various treatments was free to guests as was the underground car park.
The hotel is not to be missed and highly recommended.Walking in the area is easy and relaxing
Places to visit:-
Gruyere and castle and do not miss the cheese making and Nestle chocolate factory.
Fribourg - try the city train tour.
Bern - enchanting city on market days if possible, lunch on the Bern Rriviera.
Murten and Vully.
Neuchâtel.
Vevey, Montreau and Chillon.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasper57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank theurillatb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schwarzsee
6.7 mi away
Hotel Cailler
Hotel Cailler
#1 of 3 in Charmey
392 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel de Gruyeres Wellness & Seminaires
6.7 mi away
Le Sapin
Le Sapin
#2 of 3 in Charmey
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Hotel Bad
Hotel Bad
#2 of 2 in Schwarzsee
31 reviews
11 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#3 of 13 in Fribourg
109 reviews
14 mi away
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
#8 of 21 in Gstaad
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie am Schwarzsee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie am Schwarzsee

Address: Seestrasse 10, Schwarzsee 1716, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > Schwarzsee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Schwarzsee
Price Range: £150 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie am Schwarzsee 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family friendly Hostellerie am Schwarzsee lies in a picturesque picture booklandscape, directly at the lake. In one of the 50 comfortable hotel suites in the "Swiss-Chaletstil", you will enjoy a restful stay. The hotel offers 3 restaurants, sunny terraces, bar, modern, newly renovated wellnesscenter, game-sport- and seminar possibilities. While summer perfect place for hiking, in the winter a true ski and snowshoe paradise awaits you! Imbedded in the beautiful Freiburg Mountain world our guests will find quietness and relaxation. Enjoy the amazing view from the hotel on the mountains and the lake. The Hostellerie am Schwarzsee is the ideal location for meetings, brainstormingsessions, presentations or incentives. Our comfortable meeting rooms offer optimal prerequisites for your firm meetings. New: Outdoor-teambuilding Schwarzsee with various adventure possibilities and professional guides! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostellerie am Schwarzsee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing