We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Really good food but a little pricey

We went for dinner on my birthday, I requested one of the three vegan main courses, however they... read more

Reviewed 10 February 2019
Misstravellingmack
,
England
Lovely, simple furnishing / decor and food: small portions; quite expensive

We had the 2 course lunch; it was very good, but my starter need bread, and the soup was a puree... read more

Reviewed 6 February 2019
Rachel D
Read all 394 reviews
  
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveller rating
263
62
28
26
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
263
62
28
26
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the kitchen tractor ride cookery course car park lamb bread pudding cookery school sunday lunch apple brandy great food soup tv series head chef crab beautiful location meringue
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 394 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

On arrival, we were told there were no tables available.. There were 2 tables leaving, 2 empty tables, no 'reserved' signs and an employee taking up a restaurant table doing business paperwork. Very poor service. Especially in half term with 2 hungry children. We found somewhere else that wanted our custom.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank ja15wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

Visited for the valentines feast after a enjoying a previous meal and have to say this time was even better. From the meet and greet, atmosphere and fine wines to the chef talking you through the menu, it's provenance and ethics which enhances the evening. One word of warning to the couples planning a romantic table for two. This is communal dining on a long table so expect to interact with your neighbours. Something that many people do not realise. This is stated on the website. I think this enhances the experience as you all discuss the amazing food. Planning our third visit already!

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Mtb9live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

I adore River Cottage, the food is fab, coffee and cakes are wonderful & the service is great. River Cottage has so many great servers, so friendly and helpful. I must mention Meg who is always so wonderful when we visit

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Jane1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

Well it was a full on eight hours of train and do! Fear not if little experience of preparing real and raw food because what you will produce will probably amaze you .....move over connivence food because this course will give you huge confidence to cook great food without spending a fortune or consuming acres of time!

All the dishes we prepared were great to taste and really fun to prepare. Matt our chef explained things in an uncluttered manner and answered any questions in a simple way. Lovely group of people from early twenties to a couple of us in the 70+ range!

The kitchens beautifully appointed and lots of support staff working gently in the background, nicely acknowledged by Matt when they came in and out.

The food we prepared was top quality. Our day covered, sole cooked asian style as well as cured and smoked, along with lamb leg steaks sitting in a yogurt and beetroot plus with a loaf of bread, leek tartlet and panna cotta laced with vanilla and new season rhubarb! Plus many useful tips and hints.

Once briefed on a dish it was down to you to replicate it! Matt again gently oversaw things and kept things moving along allowing us adequate time to both cook and eat our efforts. Sometimes our presentation lacked but it didn't halve taste nice!

Great day, demanding concentration and on your feet most of it but one of those special days offering something to carry forward. Somehow watching " foodie" stuff on TV doesn't capture what River Cottage courses offer .......not cheap yet value it certainly is!

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Tony2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

Visited for a family meal, great atmosphere, good service and great food.

Not a lot of choice for the children but the adult menu was great!

Date of experience: April 2015
1  Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews