We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill Water House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Axminster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill Water House
Ranked #6 of 12 Axminster B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Tim and Ruth were very welcoming. Rooms clean and pleasant. Lovely bedding (especially the pillows) Good tea, coffee and biscuits provided. Breakfast was excellent(especially Ruth's hand mixed muesli)
It was very quiet even though other guests were there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
39
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

A truly excellent B&B. Exceptionally clean, great breakfast & facilities and incredibly friendly hosts. Very close to Axminster, probably only a 5/10 minute walk but nicely tucked away. Tim & Ruth do a great job of hosting. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfieinDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

A spacious elegasnt house with a warm welcome for a pair of weary walkers. A great breakfast and Tim and Ruth couldn`t have done enough for us.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cinibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed at the Mill Water House for one night as we were visiting River Cottage.
On arrival our hosts Tim and Ruth made us feel very welcome, showed us to a very good sized room with en suite shower room. Room and en suite were very well decorated and very clean. Tea and coffee provided in the room, hairdryer etc... everything we could have needed.
Breakfast was excellent and the price very reasonable. Would highly recommend to anyone needing a good overnight stay. !

Room Tip: We had room !, it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ForestGirl930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed at MWH in Axminster 2 nights, for we attended a wedding in the area. Besides being of very high standards, the place is full of a character. We (the two of us and our 15 monts daughter) simply loved it ! Thank you Tim and Ruth for your kind hospitality (best breakfast ever).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

If you're heading to the River Cottage HQ and fancy being near the Axminster Canteen, rather than staying out on the Coast in Lyme Regis, then you'd be hard pressed to find a better place to stay than Mill Water House. Located perfectly, the house is a 10 minute walk or 2 minute drive from the River Cottage Canteen, and a 5 minute drive from the River Cottage HQ. Furthermore, it is less than a ten minute drive to the beautiful town of Lyme Regis and its famous fossil cliffs.

Tim and Ruth run their B&B with genuine warmth and the room we stayed in was spacious, bright, airy and clean. Fresh milk is provided for each room in a communal fridge, and instant coffee and an assortment of teas are provided. Breakfast was superb, with tea, coffee, cereal, juice and fruit available, followed by a cooked breakfast and toast. What makes the breakfast particularly note-worthy is the homemade muesli and fruit compote, the labelled, homemade jams and the self-evident quality of the produce in the cooked breakfast. Eggs are cooked how you want them, you can substitute or exclude whatever you like and porridge is available on request.

We had an absolutely lovely stay and, especially given the room rates, Mill Water House offers incredible value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 and had a peek in the others. They're all wonderful, but Room 1 is definitel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leics, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Like many others, we stayed at MWH whilst also sampling the food at River Cottage Canteen.
I have stayed at many B&Bs, this is one of the better one's. Excellent breakfast considering the reasonable price of a night's stay.

When we were staying they only took cash. Not sure if this is a permanent or temporary thing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andylosttheplot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Axminster
0.7 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prestoller House
Prestoller House
#1 of 12 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Weycroft Mill House Bed & Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Netherleigh Bed and Breakfast
Netherleigh Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Raymonds Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
3.2 mi away
Spillers Farm
Spillers Farm
#1 of 4 in Musbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Water House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Water House

Property: Mill Water House
Address: Millwater House Stoney Lane, Axminster EX13 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Axminster
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Axminster
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, comfortable Bed and Breakfast in an acre of grounds a short walk from Axminster centre. Ample off road parking. Free wi-fi. Well located, 1 mile Axminster Station, 0.7 Axminster Skills Centre, 0.5 To River Cottage Canteen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mill Water House Axminster, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing