We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and staff”

River Cottage Canteen
Ranked #4 of 35 Restaurants in Axminster
Price range: US$22 - US$51
Cuisines: British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food and staff”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We booked ahead but it didn't turn out to be necessary. The staff were really pleasant and the food was very good - cauliflower in scrumpy batter on garlic mayo = mmmm. My American companion loved the strawberry eaton mess = vanilla in the excellent double cream and sweet strawberries. Couldn't be improved.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Al-abingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    899
    499
    338
    203
    137
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adderbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

As always a real treat , if you havent tried this place you really ought to

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Streetwise02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
237 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Met all our expectations and more”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We planned a visit as part of a holiday in Dorset to celebrate 25 years together. The canteen is funky, functional and cosy. The food was lovely with really accomplished seasoning - the first time I have ever not added salt/pepper when dining out- the food was just yum. I booked online and included it being our anniversary - the glasses of elderflower fizz brought over were a thoughtful gesture and we felt very special. Being greedy noshers we had three courses and coffee and were not disappointed with anything. Shame there isn't a canteen near us!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rolfies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We visited the River Cottage Canteen for lunch today, the food was fantastic, very tasty and well presented. All the staff were very friendly, polite and welcoming......well done river cottage.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neats1269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely evening at River cottage canteen”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Booked on line which makes it easy. Nice atmosphere and friendly helpful service. I had the hummus for starter which was very tasty. My husband started with the shell fish but he said they were over cooked and chewy. We both had venison on a bed of lentils. The venison was cooked to perfection and the lentils very tasty but sadly the mint in the lentils over powered the delicate meat. For pudding I had chocolate torte which was fabulous and hubby had truffles and apple brandy. We had two drinks on arrival and a bottle of wine and the total cost (not including tip) was £78. We thought this was reasonable. Overall we enjoyed the meal and experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Cottage Canteen also viewed

 
Axminster, Devon
 

Been to River Cottage Canteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing