We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
55
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
3
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2011

This was our second stay at Highfield House and I can't recommend it highly enough. The rooms are spotlessly clean, comfortable, and cosy. There's enough variety at breakfast to provide something for even the pickiest eater and if you choose to sample everything, it'll keep you going till dinner if you don't have time to stop for lunch. Judy and Hedley are the nicest people, they welcome you like family and go out of their way to be helpful. If you're looking for somewhere to stay in Axminster, this is THE place!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sams_folks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

I have no complaints whatsoever with this bed & breakfast. Its spotless, comfortable, lovely breakfast, and within walking distance into axminster. Judy & Hedley are lovely, they can't do enough for you, nothing is too much trouble. I travelled from Nottingham on the train as I had a day at river cottage, Hedley picked me up from the station, & also gave me a lift into Lyme Regis, how nice is that. Would definately stay there again. Thanks Hedley & Judy for a lovely visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kag45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Returned home an hour ago and just had to write a review.We were going to River Cottage and decided to make a longer weekend so stayed for 2 nights. Judy and Hedley were so friendly and welcoming and the house is beautiful. The rooms are really cosy and well equiped with lovely toiletries and extremely clean. Our grown up daughters loved their room looking out to the fields, especially as they could see the young lambs. Breakfast was delicious and we really felt that nothing was too much trouble. In addition, it is such a good location as you can walk into Axminster in minutes, so you don't need the car for the evening to go out to dinner. I would love to return again as the time just went too quick.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueChalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

My wife and I stayed two nights at Highfield B&B and thoroughly enjoyed our time there.
Judy and Hedley are wonderful hosts and made us feel at home. Our room was sparklingly clean and well furnished with a very comfortable bed and well maintained en-suite. Breakfast was amazing... loving the sausages!
Highfield is ideally situated a couple of hundred yards from the centre of peaceful Axminster. In turn, Axminster is well placed to allow you to explore the Devon/Dorset coastline; Sidmouth and Lyme Regis are two places you must visit.
Finally, the hosts are genuinely friendly and welcoming. We were there for our anniversary weekend and Hedley and Judy helped to make it special. They are also knowledgeable when it comes to the area - their recommendation of the Wheelwright pub for dinner was spot on. If we're ever looking for a place to stay in south Devon again, we'll be sure to call on the Highfield B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highfieldbandb, Owner at Highfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2011

Thank you for your kind feedback -- we're glad you had a nice anniversary weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Hospitality, first class. Headley and Judy the proprietors are the most welcoming and friendly couple. A breakfast to wake up for and definitely not to be missed. Spotlessly clean and tidy, could not fault a thing. Would return for no reason at all. We'll be back. Thank-you.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZenaColeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highfieldbandb, Owner at Highfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2011

Thank you very much -- welcome back at Highfield Bed & Breakfast anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews