We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem!”

Highfield Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Axminster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highfield Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 12 Axminster B&B and Inns
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I must endorse all the other excellent reviews for this B&B. Judy and Hedley made us feel so welcome immediately.
The ensuite room was spotless and fresh bottled spring water was provided daily, in addition to the customary refreshment tray.
The breakfast was delicious and plentiful.
Add to this the proximity to River Cottage HQ and the Axminster Canteen, which make it a sought after location.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isthistherealthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
37
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orkney, UK
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2011

My husband and I have just travelled almost the full length of the country but just had to come on here and write a review for 2 of the best hosts we have ever experienced. Judy and Hedley are not only very friendly and make you feel very at home, they go out of their way to help make your trip a really wonderful experience. The breakfast was superb, the room very comfortable and the hospitality second to none.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenHOrkney_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We had the best welcome from Judy and Hedley, they are perfect hosts. Bedroom was very comfortable and it had the most wonderfull shower. Lovely relaxed atmosphere, great location for the town which has of course the River Cottage Canteen, within easy walking distance.
We cant wait to go back again.
Thanks Judy and Hedley.

Room Tip: Just phone them, they are so friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We chose this B & B as a result of the previous reviews on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed. Our room was comfortable and homely, the location was ideal for our visit to the River Cottage canteen but more importantly we were made to feel genuinely welcome by Judy and Hedley. Whether serving us one of the biggest breakfasts I've ever seen, giving us tips on what to do with our day (Lyme Regis is a must) or just chatting away as if we'd known them for years, Judy and Hedley were first class hosts- warm, fun and helpful. We cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parksy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2011

I spent 6 nights in total at Highfield. Judy and Hedley are the warmest hosts possible. Each morning, they would be around to chat with me, asked me about my day at River Cottage, made arrangements to have breakfast with me knowing that I was travelling solo. They even drove me to sights around the county, invited me for their family gatherings...I am truly blessed to have met such a kind and wonderful family.

The room I was in was facing the road and Hedley openly explained to me that it could get quite noisy but it did not pose much of a problem for me since the night traffic is generally very very minimal. Loved the little touches in the room (a real antique fireplace), good selection of teas, fluffly towels, restful bed, very clean toilets.

Location wise - perfect if you drive since its close to almost anywhere. Walk to town was a short 8 mins stroll. Buses are the usual town frequency and good enough to take you where you need to.

Although I did not have a chance to try a real English Fryup due to the amount of food I will have to eat in the day (doing a cooking course at river cottage) another couple who was around had it and it sure looked very generous to fill (at least for me) up for an entire day. I looked forward to my bowl of berries and melon each morning as the quality was impeccable and even better than any 4-5 star hotel. My poached eggs were perfect and from REAL CHICKENS running on the farm (quoting Hedley :))

All in all, this is a place I cannot fault and will be looking forward to visit again! This is my first stay ever in a B&B and has set a benchmark for future.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwinkieTey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2011

This was our second stay at Highfield House and I can't recommend it highly enough. The rooms are spotlessly clean, comfortable, and cosy. There's enough variety at breakfast to provide something for even the pickiest eater and if you choose to sample everything, it'll keep you going till dinner if you don't have time to stop for lunch. Judy and Hedley are the nicest people, they welcome you like family and go out of their way to be helpful. If you're looking for somewhere to stay in Axminster, this is THE place!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sams_folks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2011

I have no complaints whatsoever with this bed & breakfast. Its spotless, comfortable, lovely breakfast, and within walking distance into axminster. Judy & Hedley are lovely, they can't do enough for you, nothing is too much trouble. I travelled from Nottingham on the train as I had a day at river cottage, Hedley picked me up from the station, & also gave me a lift into Lyme Regis, how nice is that. Would definately stay there again. Thanks Hedley & Judy for a lovely visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kag45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Axminster
0.6 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
155 reviews
4.9 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green Dragon House
Green Dragon House
#6 of 12 in Axminster
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wyke Farm Cottages and B&B
0.6 mi away
Old Park Hall
Old Park Hall
#57 of 1,446 in Devon
102 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lyme Tree House
Lyme Tree House
#2 of 2 in Raymonds Hill
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Bed & Breakfast

Property: Highfield Bed & Breakfast
Address: Highfield Lyme Road, Axminster EX13 5BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Axminster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Axminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Highfield Bed & Breakfast, a beautiful Edwardian house in the heart of East Devon, providing top-quality bed & breakfast accommodation for both holiday and business guests, situated only a couple of minutes walk away from Axminster town centre. Highfield Bed & Breakfast is set in the beautiful Axe Valley, a designated AONB and only five miles from Lyme Bay, the World Heritage Coastline and Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall's River Cottage HQ. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highfield Bed & Breakfast Axminster, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing