We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
55
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
3
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2011

having just arrived home 30 minutes ago, my feedback is so positive that I felt an urge to capture it now.
Judy and Hedley made this stay special in every way, the welcome,room facilities,breakfast and overall value are what previous reviews stated - all excellent.
do not hesitate in booking a stay here if you are staying in the south west or more likely going to river cottage.
we are delighted to have made this choice.
we can also recommend the indian restaurant in the town centre called the cinnamon and a decent pint the axminster arms.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David241965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I would highly recommend Highfield as a place to stay to visit the local area and of course the River Cottage experience. The rooms were modern, clean, very comfortable and well presented. The breakfast was amazing. Can Judy come and cook our breakfast every weekend please? You really made us feel very welcome and as if we were staying the weekend with old friends. We will be telling all our friends and family about this little paradise we found.

Thank you so much
Vikki & Bob – Oxford

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Judy and Hedley are great hosts. Not only in their prompt reply on enquiring if there was a vacancy but also in helping to organise a taxi to river cottage and ensuring that we arrived at river cottage on time. The breakfast was a good spread including a filling cooked breakfast and lots of tips about what to do in the general area.

The room was clean, spacious and we had a great time - big thanks to them :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starlet2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Lovely clean and spacious room.
Breakfast to an extremely high standard with fresh and high quality ingredients.
The owners were unbelievably hospitable & friendly and even picked us up and dropped us off at the station and organised taxis to/from river cottage for us.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloydich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I must endorse all the other excellent reviews for this B&B. Judy and Hedley made us feel so welcome immediately.
The ensuite room was spotless and fresh bottled spring water was provided daily, in addition to the customary refreshment tray.
The breakfast was delicious and plentiful.
Add to this the proximity to River Cottage HQ and the Axminster Canteen, which make it a sought after location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isthistherealthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews