We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
55
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
3
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed at Highfield during a trip to River Cottage recently.
Judy and Hedley were extremely welcoming and accommodating, and full of helpful tourist tips to help us get the most out of our visit. Our lodgings were very comfortable and breakfast was sublime! We'll definitely return one day and would recommend the place and these kind folk, to anybody visiting the south-west country.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megs273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highfieldbandb, Owner at Highfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2011

Thank you very much! It was great having you staying with you -- welcome back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

A converted Edwardian house set back from the main road, the first thing that sets this apart from the run of the mill B&B's are it's proprietors, Hedley and Judy, who had already charmed me over the phone.

We were greeted by the friendly Hedley at the door and were struck by how immaculate everything was- my wife loved the original Edwardian features that had been lovingly maintained- .and were shown to our room.

The room itself was spacious with plenty of room for our things, the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in and the softest bed linen. The bathroom was ideal, with a simple-to-use modern power shower and lots of space for toiletries and like everything else, immaculate.

Then, after our evening's entertainment, we woke thoroughly refreshed to a fantastic cooked breakfast, fruit and toast and talked with both Hedley and Judy, we were almost made to feel like one of the family.

The nicest surprise about the whole thing was the price- £60 per night. I've stayed in far worse that cost £20-£30 a night more and there is no wonder that you have to book early for vacancies. Thank you Hedley and Judy, you really helped us relax!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard_Levesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Great hosts, breakfast, rooms, beds, showers, decor, location, parking, wifi access, local advice & assistance.
In line for a definite return asap even if not in the immediate area we are house hunting in..
Plans afoot for a residents lounge.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RojerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

You could not get better service than this. Everything was perfect.
Breakfast catered for every taste. The rooms were immaculate.
I think I may move in permanently!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james-bonze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Thank you so much for your contribution to our unforgettable trip. A beautiful home from home with excellent breakfast and service that is second to none. Will to go the extra mile to make your trip the little bit more special. We will undoubtably be back and the sooner the better! It felt like we were leaving friends behind. Thank you Judy and Hedley.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDPENN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews