We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-rate acccommodation”
Review of Prestoller House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prestoller House
Ranked #1 of 12 Axminster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We visited Prestoller at the end of August for three days. Whilst I attended the nearby ( a 10 min walk) Axminster Skill centre for a course, my husband enjoyed the freedom of visiting some of the many local sights without me. He went on the Seaton/Colyton vintage trams. Axminster itself is a pretty town with a lot to offer and Lyme Regis is a short drive away and well worth a trip.
The rooms are spacious; the décor comfortably understated and tasteful. The attention to detail are a particular feature of this very superior B&B; bathrobes, slippers, hair-dryer, filter coffee, hot chocolate, home-made short-cake (delicious), extra-large bath-sheets, rain-shower option, Sony flat-screen, fresh garden flowers, super soft cotton sheets and thick pile wool carpet and much more all make this a home-from-home experience.
The hosts are obviously passionate about providing a good night’s sleep so that as soon as you snuggle down under the fluffy duvet you are enveloped in luxury and there is no time for TV before you drift off into blissful sleep. A quiet calm ambience makes visitors at ease and relaxed. No busy, loud patterned wallpaper; no fussy curtains, just classy and chic! Although the sea-birds are early risers, their ‘flight-path’ was distant from the house and they were not a problem.
Adrian and Caroline are equally passionate about the standard of service at breakfast. Food was freshly prepared and served when requested. Dietary needs are no problem and easily met from the kitchen. Caroline even bought in a special cereal for me which I did not expect from a B&B! Fresh local produce is used and we even had summer fruits from the kitchen garden and two home-made bread options! If there had been an optional evening meal I would definitely have had it. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
There is ample parking for visitors’ vehicles and even an option for a room with its own front door. I was shown around the other empty rooms which were all furnished to the same high standard and spotless. We stayed in the cheaper option with a separate bathroom, though it might as well have been en-suite as it was all of 6cms away from our door! Once the blinds are drawn, the views across the valley are uplifting in the morning light as the sun streams in the south facing window. Heaven!
This review doesn’t do justice to Prestoller. We loved everything about this quality B&B and are so lucky to have found it; there is absolutely nothing to criticise.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestoller, Owner at Prestoller House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. Reviews like yours show us that we are getting things right here. Come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

An outstanding B&B. Caroline and Adrian are excellent hosts who make you feel very comfortable and offer help on places to visit and eat etc. Adrian cooks an amazing cooked breakfast including homemade bread and homemade jams and freshly baked crossiant. One particular favourite of the breakfast is the home grown blackberries mixed with yoghurt. No lunch needed after all this!

The bedroom was lovely and spacious and the bed was unbelievably comfortable with lovely bed linen. They provide you with robes and slippers, which make you feel even more comfortable and at home! There is plenty of space to put your belongings and the room in General is well laid out. The shower is also excellent (something I look forward to when I go away and I was not disappointed). Would most definitely recommend and would love to visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_traviss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

A lovely 2 nights here. Great hosts who bent over backwards to accommodate our needs and make us welcome. The room was very spacious, tastefully furnished with quality bed and linen and spotlessly clean. Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ak12342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Caroline and Adrian are superb hosts, the room was impeccable in comfort, style and cleanliness. Adrian's breakfast is wonderful top quality ingredients and attention to detail with every element of the breakfast. I sadly missed it when I got home. The owners helped us with great advice where to eat , drink and travel locally as we were attending a friends wedding. They are a lovely friendly couple that made our stay so fantastic thank you both ! I have total kitchen envy after seeing Adrian's hub of activity in the morning wow ! This is exactly how to do 5 star B and B !!! Don't book anywhere else prestoller is perfect :0)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstymatt78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stay 5 nights at this lovely B & B located a short distance from the River Cottage - the room is completely redecorated in Urban design with a calm atmosphere. Your hosts are incredibly welcoming - and the breakfast is delicious - we will not hesitate to recommend Prestoller
just loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Caroline and Adrian have ensured that your stay at Prestoller House is an indulgent experience. A lot of hard work has gone into creating an environment that provides first class accommodation. Our room was tastefully decorated and furnished with lots of unexpected extra touches that made our two night stay very special. Breakfast was beautifully presented, everything locally sourced and "what a joy" home-made bread and croissants. Caroline and Adrian were very helpful in suggesting good local restaurants and a taxi firm to take us to our evening at River Cottage, which was amazing. Book a stay at Prestoller House and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeofstourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Upon arrival at Prestoller House we were met with a very warm welcome by Caroline and Adrian. The high standard of accommodation, the attention to detail of customers needs and the extra special touches made our 2 night stay there absolutely wonderful. Homemade food comforts were especially appreciated and breakfasts were extremely satisfying to say the least.
We stayed in the double room with our private use bathroom next door - the view over the garden was delightful. The fresh flowers arranged in the room were also appreciated as the fragrant rose was so beautiful. Our hosts made us feel so very welcome and went that 'extra mile' to ensure that our stay was as the very best experience it possible could be. Just wonderful.
I would most definitely recommend a stay at Prestoller House and am delighted to be returning again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sandrahilt0n66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestoller, Owner at Prestoller House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Many thanks indeed for your very generous review. Reviews like yours show us that we are getting things right here. Adrian and I look forward very much to welcoming you all here again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Axminster
0.9 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
167 reviews
1.8 mi away
Netherleigh Bed and Breakfast
Netherleigh Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Raymonds Hill
215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Weycroft Mill House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cranberries Hideaway
Cranberries Hideaway
#1 of 2 in Kilmington
199 reviews
1.9 mi away
A35 Pitstop, Kilmington
A35 Pitstop, Kilmington
#2 of 2 in Kilmington
60 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tytherleigh Arms
Tytherleigh Arms
#5 of 12 in Axminster
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestoller House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestoller House

Address: Prestoller House Beavor Lane, Axminster EX13 5EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Axminster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Axminster
Price Range: £82 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed and breakfast offering two spacious ensuite bedrooms with king size beds and one very comfortable double bedroom with luxury private bathroom. All bedrooms with Egyptian cotton linen, flat screen TVs, robes and slippers. Within easy walking distance of River Cottage canteen. Prestoller House is situated in an ideal location for a short break or longer stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Prestoller House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestoller House Axminster, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing