We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms, wonderful rural setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wyke Farm Cottages and B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms, wonderful rural setting”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed only one night here, but would definitely return: the rooms are lovely - large, perfectly furnished and modern, but set in a real working farm in a lovely rural setting, only a few minutes from Axminster.
Kathryn, the owner, was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about things to see and do in the local area.
In addition the breakfast was gorgeous, especially the eggs which were, of course, freshly-laid on-site!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Type17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
43
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We spent one night here. We have a 3yr old & a 16mth old. We had a self contained space of the Shippon which comprised a king sized double & a twin bedroom with space for a travel cot. We had a Private bathroom too. Kathryn couldn't have been more helpful in organising g our stay & was thoughtful in supplying baby friendly essentials such as high chairs, toddler cutlery, & hot chocolate at breakfast! We particularly appreciated the time Kathryn took to show our children the lambs... Our boys loved feeding them & the adventure of walking up to their field. The welcome we received from Kathryn's husband was great after a 7hr journey... Bright smiles & waving! We loved Wyke farm & hope to return. Our only grumble was that we couldn't stay longer! Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rjdarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

The accommodation is amazing, built from a barn, light, modern and beautifully furnished. The rooms are huge, we had one with an extra twin bed and one with a sofa bed. Each room opens onto a courtyard, and you can walk around the farm, we enjoyed visiting the chickens and sheep! Breakfast was delicious, a huge variety and set us up for the day. Kathryn is a wonderful host, friendly and extremely helpful with local knowledge. There is a lovely view from the farm of the rolling hills, it is just beautiful and you instantly feel relaxed. There is a lovely two or three bed cottage that would make a perfect retreat, we will definitely be coming back.
Myself and my family were in the UK from Canada, we have travelled extensively in Canada, US and UK, this is the best place we have ever stayed, it was the highlight of our trip this year!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Spent 3 lovely days at Wyke Farm. The place is ideal for visiting the surrounding area, which is rich and varied. Kathryn and John are wonderful hosts and the accommodation impeccable. If you need to find somewhere to stay in the area, you could not do better than Wyke farm. Breakfast was lovely and consisted of locally sourced produce. The stay was summed up by my 7 year old daughter "I love it here, Can we stay forever"

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GazGB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We have had a lovely two nights at Wyke Farm. The spacious, beautifully presented room meant that we had a very relaxing stay. Kathryn could not have been more helpful, arranging and checking the taxi for us and providing lovely breakfasts. The views from outside the farm were stunning in the glorious weather we had. The standards are high and this place deserves to do well!

Room Tip: We had a side door as well as the large glass doors to the farm which meant we could see the gloriou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curateswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn W, Owner at Wyke Farm Cottages and B&B, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you so much! So glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed at Wyke Farm for the weekend whilst attending a River Cottage dinner; Kathryn & John gave us a very warm welcome, were very accommodating and helpful - the perfect hosts! The location is rural perfection and very well positioned to take advantage of the nearby coast. The rooms are finished to a very high standard and the breakfast was delicious. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend or return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn W, Owner at Wyke Farm Cottages and B&B, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thanks so much for this (and our other two reviews since we last commented). At the risk of repeating ourselves, it is genuinely lovely to receive warm, appreciative feedback and adds to our enjoyment of this experience. We look forward to hosting you both in the future; really glad you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We spent a great night in the 'Apple Store' room which was spacious, classy, comfortable with a lovely king size bed. Kathryn was an absolutely fantastic host, very warm, chatty and helpful.

We were able to walk to River Cottage (about 30 minutes mainly through Wyke Farm's land and then along a lane). As I knew we'd be back late it was great to find a B & B that gave us our own private entrance so we didn't have to worry about disturbing anyone on our return.

The breakfast was great - all in all we couldn't find fault with anything about our stay. We'll definitely stay again, it was worth every penny and I'd highly recommend booking either the B&B or self catering if you're in the area.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clair3_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Axminster
3.3 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
343 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
241 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
428 reviews
4.9 mi away
Newlands Holidays
Newlands Holidays
#3 of 5 in Charmouth
462 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lyme Tree House
Lyme Tree House
#2 of 2 in Raymonds Hill
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyke Farm Cottages and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyke Farm Cottages and B&B

Property: Wyke Farm Cottages and B&B
Address: Wyke Lane, Axminster EX13 8TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Axminster
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Axminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and bright, clean accommodation. We can accommodate 15 + cots at Wyke Farm and offer a range of self catering and B&B options. All set in 50 acres of farmland which is grazed by our flock of rare breed sheep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wyke Farm Cottages and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyke Farm Cottages And B&B Axminster, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing