We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place”
other travellers have booked this property
Golden Square Cottage, surrounded by beautiful Devon countryside.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Golden Square Cottage, surrounded by beautiful Devon countryside.
Bright and comfortable living room. Enjoy eating out on the large private deck.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Golden Square Cottage, surrounded by beautiful Devon countryside.
Bright and comfortable living room.
Enjoy eating out on the large private deck.
Light and airy good sized living area.
Wood burning stove keeps the cottage warm and cosy whatever the weather.
Pretty dining area.
Large newly fitted kitchen.
View across the orchard that lies just below the cottage - a great picnic spot.
First double bedroom prettily decorated with lovely textiles.
Pretty child's bed in first double bedroom.
Second double bedroom made up as a superking.
Second double bedroom can be made up as a superking or twin beds.
Lovely expansive decking.
Beautiful views across the gorgeous Devon countryside.
Winter view across the Blackdown Hills from our cottage.
Our 2016 pigs settling in.
A couple of our 2016 Shetland lambs.
Our 2016 lambs getting bigger.
Chickens searching for snacks in the wild flowers.
Ducks having a wander.
Chickens and ducks cleaning out the slugs from the polytunnel.
Enjoy great country walks from the doorstep.
This is us surrounded by the beautiful Devon countryside.
View from Golden Cap, one of our favourite places.
Looking down on Branscombe beach. The jurassic coast is in easy reach of us.
The first 2017 lambs enjoying some sun.
2017 ewes and lambs having a snack.
The sheep trimming the grass in the orchard.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Axminster, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Aug 2014
Thanks for the lovely review, we're really glad you enjoyed your holiday and got to make the most of the lovely weather. We hope you can visit again soon. Best wishes, Kath and Rob.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
waffleocl...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, unlikely to find anything that'll beat the GoldenSquare cottage!”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

A haven of relaxation. Beautifully clean with all the utility's you need in order to be self catering. We loaded the car with our own cooking utensils etc. thinking that the Golden Square would be like other places we've visited and would be barely equipped. How wrong were we?. The family that own this little beauty are friendly and welcoming. We even had warm scones waiting for us on arrival. We came to the cottage because of a large family gathering we were attending in Axminster so knowing the area I can highly recommend this being the base point for all Devon's attractions and beaches. We came the end of January and found the cottage to be warm and cosy, The log burner was a treat but didn't need to be relied on for heat. We will definitely go back again......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2014
Thanks for your lovely review, it means a lot when our guests enjoy their time staying at Golden Square. We're so glad that you had a good stay, and hope you can come to visit again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim A
Brighton
1 review
“Fantastic relaxing stay!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

My wife and 1 year old daughter stayed at Golden Square at the end of November for an absolutely fantastic long weekend. We even bought a built in baby sitter (the mother in law!). The cottage was an absolute delight, beautifully presented, modern, clean and all round fantastic. Great bathrooms, great beds, fab kitchen, even a wood burning stove in the lounge. We even turned up in time to put the chickens to bed and nab a few freshly laid eggs for our brekkie. Great place to stay, Katherine and Robert where lovely hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Planning to return in the new year! Would highly recommend to young families, couples or anyone loving a bit of Dorset life! Don't miss the farm ship don't the round either, the Honey is out of this world!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen, well kitted out!
Liked least: Leaving...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2013
Dear Tim and family,

Thanks for the lovely review. We're really glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope you can come again soon. I totally agree, the honey from Royal Oak farm shop is amazing!

We hope you have a great Christmas and New Year.

Best wishes,

Kath and Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Lovely and fresh and was great for the kids being on the farm where they could feed the animals
Liked least: could have been improved with slightly more storage for clothes
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
Thanks for the lovely review, we're really glad you had a good stay. We hope you can come again soon. Best wishes,

Kath and Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mab58
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable cottage in lovely location”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We chose Golden Square Cottage because we wanted somewhere that would be comfortable at a time of year when the weather might have kept us in. Happily the weather was wonderful, but we were always glad at the end of the day to return to a cottage where we could relax as comfortably as at home. The rooms are spacious and well furnished, the kitchen is of a very high standard and with two bathrooms (one with a bath, the other with a shower) we had the luxury of a bathroom each. The owners, Rob and Kath were welcoming and helpful. The cottage is surrounded by beautiful countryside and is within easy reach of the south coast, where we particularly liked Lyme Regis, Beer and Branscombe. The local farm shop is useful for fresh fruit and vegetables and home-cooked frozen meals and we had a very good light lunch there (they also do cream teas). We also ate very well when we had dinner at Hugh Fearnly-Whittingstall’s River Cottage Canteen in Axminster – great food and service and reasonable prices. (You need to book).

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2013
Dear Margaret and Chris, we're really glad that you enjoyed your stay at Golden Square, and had such lovely weather to boot. Thank you for your generous review.

We loved your idea of putting a couple of sun loungers out on the deck - we plan to get those in ready for next spring. And we're really pleased you enjoyed Royal Oak farm shop up the road - it's great to have them on the doorstep.

We hope you will visit again soon.

Best wishes,

Kath and Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mordor
Reviewed 11 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burning fire, proximity of fossils, view
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 May 2013
Thanks Babs and friends for the lovely review. It was great to have you, and we're really glad you enjoyed your stay. The polytunnel is up in the field now, so we'll have home grown veggies in a few weeks time to make life better for our vegan and vegetarian friends. It's so great to hear when people have enjoyed their Golden Square experience - makes all the hard work worthwhile.

All the best, Kath, Rob and family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Its_all_g...
Brecon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would highly recommend this beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We had a fabulous time at this cottage, the owners could not have been more helpful and accommodating. We stayed with our 2 and 4 year old boys and our bouncy lab and my mum and dad joined us for a few days. It is a really clever conversion to allow maximum use of space. Go there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log burner and beautiful bathrooms
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2013
Thanks so much for your review, and we're really glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you all again soon. All the best,

Kath Rob and family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$86
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing