We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“very relaxing stay, great base for long walks in...”
other travellers have booked this property
Golden Square Cottage, surrounded by beautiful Devon countryside.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Golden Square Cottage, surrounded by beautiful Devon countryside.
Bright and comfortable living room. Enjoy eating out on the large private deck.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Golden Square Cottage, surrounded by beautiful Devon countryside.
Bright and comfortable living room.
Enjoy eating out on the large private deck.
Light and airy good sized living area.
Wood burning stove keeps the cottage warm and cosy whatever the weather.
Pretty dining area.
Large newly fitted kitchen.
View across the orchard that lies just below the cottage - a great picnic spot.
First double bedroom prettily decorated with lovely textiles.
Pretty child's bed in first double bedroom.
Second double bedroom made up as a superking.
Second double bedroom can be made up as a superking or twin beds.
Lovely expansive decking.
Beautiful views across the gorgeous Devon countryside.
Winter view across the Blackdown Hills from our cottage.
Our 2016 pigs settling in.
A couple of our 2016 Shetland lambs.
Our 2016 lambs getting bigger.
Chickens searching for snacks in the wild flowers.
Ducks having a wander.
Chickens and ducks cleaning out the slugs from the polytunnel.
Enjoy great country walks from the doorstep.
This is us surrounded by the beautiful Devon countryside.
View from Golden Cap, one of our favourite places.
Looking down on Branscombe beach. The jurassic coast is in easy reach of us.
The first 2017 lambs enjoying some sun.
2017 ewes and lambs having a snack.
The sheep trimming the grass in the orchard.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Axminster, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kate P
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very relaxing stay, great base for long walks in the countryside and by the sea”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a really relaxing stay in the lovely cottage. A real home to home experience. (Did not believe the rewievs but we did not have to buy a single piece of equipement - everything we needed was already provided). The location is so peacefull and quiet, perfect to unwind after long walks and sightseeing. Close to some beautiful beaches.

Thank you Kath and Rob for making us welcome in Golder Square and for letting Sansa (the dog) to roam free in the garden. Kaj loved the newborn lambs. A jam, cakes and fresh eggs were delicious.

Best wishes for you and girls.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Feb 2017
Thank you for your very kind review and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our cottage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wiltshire...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great property, probably one of the best we have visited”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Wonderful spacious cottage, warm and well laid out. Large and comfortable beds and two toilets one with shower one with a bath. Nice decking area with great views to sit on in a summers evening. Lots of parking. and friendly owner. Lots of brochures books and crockery. The owners are happy with pets and there are several nice walks in the local area. The location is very good for visiting all the coastal villages and beaches. Very quiet. We loved it and this was in January!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2017
Thank you for your kind review, as it is always great to hear that our cottage has helped you enjoy your break away.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Explorati...
1 review
“Great cottage and stunning scenery”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Golden Square in late August. The cottage is superbly decorated, furnished and equipped meaning that you don't need to worry about anything whilst you are there. The homemade treats left for us was a really nice touch and the cottage was really clean and welcoming. The local area is great for dog walks - a car is a must to get into the towns but the neighbouring villages and towns are amazing and a short car journey away. All in all, we had a great time and would definitely rebook for next year!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review as its great to hear we have helped in a small way to make your holiday pleasurable and we are always glad to welcome back previous guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
Thank you so much, we're really glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope that you might be able to visit again soon.

Kath and Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
maggie195...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage, lovely views”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Comfortable, warm well equipped cottage. We spent a long weekend visit in the lovely cottage with it's beautiful views.
Immaculately clean, this cottage has everything we needed to make our stay perfect. The weather was wet and windy but the cottage was lovely and warm, with fuel for the log burner.
A big thank you to Rob for his friendly welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort of cottage - views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for the kind review, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and the joys of the log burner on a wet and windy night! We hope you can visit again soon.

Rob and Kath
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa U
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This a a delightful cottage. It is equipped with everything you need. The beds are really comfortable and the towels are huge! Lovely surroundings and lovely hosts. Would absolutely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you can visit again soon.

Rob and Kath
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing