We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite simply, wonderful and welcoming”
Review of Kerrington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kerrington House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Axminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Simply the best B&B we've had the pleasure to stay at. Fiona is a lovely lady with a warm welcome and a beautiful home. Cosy, very comfortable and spotless. Breakfast offered as much choice many 4* or 5* hotels, and was cooked and served to a higher quality than most. There are not many hotels that deliver the standard we experienced at Kerrington House and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: As Fiona gave us a tour of each room, we can say that although each has a different style they are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

Booked this hotel for a business trip and needed to cancel. Although the booking terms state that cancellations made outside of 48h are eligible for a full refund, the (extremely rude and abrupt)lady I spoke to on the phone insisted she had to charge £20 cancellation fee (even though the booking was cancelled 4 days before arrival date) because I hadn't cancelled within 7 days of making the booking. I asked her why this isn’t in the booking terms to which she replied 'I'm sure it's in there somewhere'. I later sent a copy of the booking terms by email to the hotel and asked them to highlight where the charge is stated, they didn’t bother replying. Ended up having to wait for the MD of the company to come back from holiday so she could have an argument with them on the phone. Finally got the money back. Shame for the hotel really as we re-booked the business trip for the following week, and ended up booking two nights stay with a different hotel with much friendlier staff who know how to treat their customers. What a bad way to do business….

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Its the second time we have stayed and I'm sure we will stay again and again. If you like guest houses rather than hotels this is great.It's located in the local town so there is easy access on foot to a few things and of course The River Cottage Canteen

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Arts and crafts staircases and touches to the elegant and airy house sets it apart from the standard guest house. Fiona ( who owns this with her husband) is very professional and an experienced hotelier who sets herself and her staff high standards. This shows in the many little touches in each room, with good quality toileteries, bath robes, 'proper' hair dryers and irons, sherry and biscuits. Comfortable beds. Lovely guest living room and honesty bar with decent wines and spirits.

I would return t the drop of a hat... Partly to go back to Lyme Rigis but partly because Axminster itself has many hidden charms not least its Trinity House old fashioned department store with some great quality linens, the Whitty pizza bar and the Canteen.

The latter was good but needs additional quality assurance in the kitchen to make sure that the standard of taste and textures which can be excellent is maintained. ( see separate review).

Fiona and her team were friendly and clearly wanted us to have a good time. Go and enjoy!

Room Tip: I was in Jasmine which had a couple of easy chairs and a large bathroom. I saw other rooms and each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fionna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We wound up in Axminster because we were taking a cooking class at Hugh Fearnsley-Whittinstall's Park Farm nearby. Axminster was the perfect town for exploring the Jurassic Coast, the beach at Lyme Regis, beautiful west Dorset and Thomas Hardy sites, and Exeter with its cathedral and Powderham Castle. We booked into Kerrington House for 2 nights but extended our stay to 4. The room was huge with big picture window over a lovely garden, the bath was huge, and the whole room was luxuriously furnished and stocked with every imaginable treat and convenience--a decanter of sherry for the evenings, chocolates for before bed, a variety of hot drinks on the tea tray, cookies, fluffy towels, bathrobes, everything. The breakfast was cooked to order and served in a gracious well appointed dining room. In all, we got a fabulous hotel for a very moderate cost, because we were willing to stay a few miles inland and not in Lyme Regis itself.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GSWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed here on a saturday night and booked it because we wanted to have a meal at River Cottage Canteen which was a 10 min walk from B&B. The room we had was lovely and had a really great and big bathroom. Breakfast in the morning was good. Fruit, cereal, juice etc followed by a nicely cooked traditional. Other choices were also available. Nice lounge with honesty bar that we had a drink from before we went out. This was well stocked. Host was friendly and helpful. Nice up market B&B with hotel quality.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed for one night as we were visiting River cottage canteen. The room was delightful and breakfast was delicious. We will be back. Thanks for a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saswitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Axminster
4.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
386 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
444 reviews
4.4 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
259 reviews
5.2 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
61 reviews
17.8 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerrington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerrington House

Address: Kerrington House Musbury Road, Axminster EX13 5JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Axminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Axminster
Price Range: £96 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kerrington House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautifully landscaped gardens on the edge of Axminster, Kerrington House has been lovingly and sympathetically restored retaining many period features such as marble fireplaces and fine plasterwork ceilings. Decorated in soft neutral colours, the hotel has been furnished with relaxation in mind,and favourite pieces to suit the mood of individual rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Kerrington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kerrington Hotel Devon
Kerrington House Axminster, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing