We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight accomodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kerrington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kerrington House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Axminster
Certificate of Excellence
Totland Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Overnight accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Excellent location of this beautiful hotel in the small town of Axminster. Located "up" the hill, and five minutes from the station. Arrived a little late and was relieved to find that the owner had waited and escorted me to my room, giving good local information on where to eat that evening.
Good room, clean and comfortable and with an en-suite shower/bath room
Comfortable bed, and a very nice surprise of a hostess tray in the room, very well supplied. I m not sure I used any of the items as I was quite tired from my trip, but it was nice to have available if I should wish, I did use the bottled water.

Room Tip: did not see any other room, downstairs rooms very pleasant and enjoyed a very good breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
90
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

My husband, young son and I stayed for two nights and the fantastic reviews were accurate. Fiona was the most charming and friendly host and it was like being welcomed as a friend into her house but with your privacy respected, a rare balance to find. The room was beautiful with high quality furnishings and a huge comfortable bed, my 4 year old son summed it up when he said he thought The Queen would like to stay in our room! The breakfast was fantastic with a varied collection of fruit, cereals and juices followed by a continental, full, fish or egg breakfast. If you wanted something it was always there, bar, glasses, fans etc. Being able to walk into Axminster was lovely and it took us not much over 10 minutes to be parked at the beach at Lyme Regis. I would definitely recommend staying here and look forward to returning. It is not the cheapest place to stay but is definitely worth the money.Thank you Fiona for making our stay so lovely.

Room Tip: I would say all the rooms would be lovely although some have baths and showers and some just showers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KAWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Touring the south and west after recovering from major surgery we chanced upon this place for an overnight stay in Axminster. From an unpromising start this turned out to be the best B&B of the entire trip. It is not situated next to the sea or with fantastic views; in fact it is in a fairly ordinary suburban street in a town that is not that wonderful. However it is a good base for touring.

What transforms Kerrington House is the welcome from Fiona the proprietress. From the moment you arrive you know you are somewhere special and are visiting a friend rather than staying in an impersonal hotel. Firstly you are struck by the decorations, this is truly a 'boutique' hotel of the highest quality. With your every need taken care of. This message is reinforced by Fiona who solves every problem ( including in our case a sudden dental emergency where she found a dentist and booked an appointment at very short notice). Breakfast was superb - it is revealing that this comment is almost an afterthought as we just couldn't imagine anything else but that.

It is said that for a restaurant to gain three Michelin stars it has to be worth a journey. This B&B is definitely worth the journey, and I would go a long way out of my way to stay there again.

Room Tip: Every room looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daithelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed here a few times now! Rooms are luxurious and comfrtable. Service always friendly and efficient. Breakfast is great, lots of options - served fresh Best place I've stayed in the south west - thank-you!James B

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stourbridge
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

My wife and I decided to take a short break in South Devon and selected Kerrington because of the good tripadvisor reviews and its excellent location being about 20 miles form Exmouth to the west and c 30 miles to Weymouth to the east with a great selection of seaside towns in between. We were not disappointed as the room was large, as was the bathroom, well furnished and comfortable. Fiona was very friendly and helpful and even offered to carry our bags to our room but being an old fashioned sort of guy i declined with thanks! At breakfast the first morning we asked Fiona not to make up our beds with the duvet etc. as it was so hot we preferred to sleep under the sheets we had brought with us. However on returning to the room later in the evening we found crisp white sheets on our beds - a nice touch. There was even a cooling fan in the room which was appreciated. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of "starters" followed by a well presented cooked breakfast. Only two relatively small things stopped me awarding a 5* rating. Firstly a little woodwork could do with a coat of paint and secondly the shower was of the cloud or rainfall type which meant that it was not adjustable but these imperfections pale into insignificance compared with our overall experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stopped here for a couple of nights and glad that we did. The place was clean and spacious with interesting decorations. Well looked after. Breakfast was lovely , well cooked and a good choice. And the hosts were hard working and very friendly. Definitely go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Lovely, warm friendly greeting and throughout our stay. Would definitely recommend to anyone. Very good breakfast selection, great veiw from the room which had plenty of space. 5 min walk into town and a very helpful guide was supplied in the room to help with navigation.
Will love to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_L186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Axminster
4.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
4.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Prestoller House
Prestoller House
#1 of 12 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerrington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerrington House

Property: Kerrington House
Address: Kerrington House Musbury Road, Axminster EX13 5JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Axminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Axminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kerrington House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautifully landscaped gardens on the edge of Axminster, Kerrington House has been lovingly and sympathetically restored retaining many period features such as marble fireplaces and fine plasterwork ceilings. Decorated in soft neutral colours, the hotel has been furnished with relaxation in mind, with a personal collection of antiques and favourite pieces to suit the mood of individual rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Kerrington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kerrington Hotel Devon
Kerrington House Axminster, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing