We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kerrington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kerrington House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Axminster
Certificate of Excellence
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed for a 3 night break a week or so ago. We wanted somewhere comfortable and spacious with a sitting room. I am so pleased that we found Kerrington House, it was everything we hoped for and more. The house is lovely, delightful, very warm, everything you might want is there, plus others that you might not, but that are still a delight, like the decantor of sherry and chocolates in the bedroom! The bed was soo comfortable and the breakfast great (with top notch juice and jams as well). We found Axminster very convenient for going out and about and found excellent eating places where the kitchens had imaginative and intelligent approaches to gluten and dairy free cooking, a real wow too!!

Room Tip: We were in Gardenia, very good, sunny, bath with shower over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farmerbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
90
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Very clean and tidy. Very welcoming and friendly, love the Newfoundland puppy! Breakfast was excellent. Room was beautiful lots of little details added, I.e. Sherry in your room and choccies... and biscuits, better than some top class hotels. Short walk to good restaurants in Axminster. Easy parking. Would recommend anybody to stay here. Our reason for going was a course in Axminster skill centre, which my other half was attending, so it all works in perfectly.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eggybreadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We needed rooms in a hurry for a funeral party with people coming from all over the world to attend, Fiona went that extra mile for us, put everyone up in her lovely hotel, putting up with late arrivals making everyone feel welcome, serving delicious breakfasts and making a difficult time all the more bearable. Thank you we really appreciate all you did for us.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were going to an event at River Cottage and needed somewhere close by to stay,booked a double room at Kerrington House.Really could not have been better served,the room and breakfast were fantastic.A large ensuite room with all the trimmings,towels,soaps,robes,tv,etc etc..In the morning we were treated to a breakfast of our choice for me it was poached eggs and bacon,Eggs were perfect ,fresh and soft.,bacon crisp and tasty,all served with a warm basket of white and wholemeal toast.
Well done

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

A favourite of mine, I've stayed here many times over the last six years. A very quaint relaxing experience, great breakfasts, friendly service and an honesty bar! All rooms are of a high standard to give you are home from home feel, evening meals are not available at the Kerrington, but a short walk into Axminster town and Indian, Chinese or the River Cottage is there to sample. Within a short drive you can also check out the Jurassic Coast line of Lyme Regis or heading the other way there are plenty of nice pubs to try for a bite to eat.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank M4rkbr4dders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Fionna could do nothing more to make your stay the best, great rooms, best breakfast and a beautiful newfoundland puppy called beatrice.

It was so nice to feel welcome and all of the staff are so friendly it is refreshing to see

Room Tip: stayed in room 1 which has a great view over the garden and room 5 which has a great bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobSCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Beautiful hotel, beautifully kept, warm and inviting.
The attention to detail was second to none, I asked for a romantic room and we had a beautiful front bedroom with a four poster bed.
The bed linen was high quality and the matress was like sleeping on cotton wool.
The breakfast was high quality local Ingredients, best breakfast we have eaten, we were served by very polite and friendly young girls and the dinning room was beautifully decorated.
The lady who owns the hotel works very hard indeed and nothing is to much trouble.

There was only one problem, 8am on a Sunday morning having the hoover going and a massive loud banging noise woke us up, but we would still return.
Axminster was delightful and Lyme Regis is breathtaking.
We have found out retirement place !!
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for the Four poster bed at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Axminster
4.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
4.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Prestoller House
Prestoller House
#1 of 12 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerrington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerrington House

Property: Kerrington House
Address: Kerrington House Musbury Road, Axminster EX13 5JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Axminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Axminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kerrington House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautifully landscaped gardens on the edge of Axminster, Kerrington House has been lovingly and sympathetically restored retaining many period features such as marble fireplaces and fine plasterwork ceilings. Decorated in soft neutral colours, the hotel has been furnished with relaxation in mind, with a personal collection of antiques and favourite pieces to suit the mood of individual rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Kerrington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kerrington Hotel Devon
Kerrington House Axminster, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing