We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”
Review of Kerrington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kerrington House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Axminster
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights with another couple who are our great friends. We have travelled the world together, the four of us and we all agree that we have not stayed anywhere better!! The house is very elegant and comfortable, the rooms superb and the beds wonderful! There are lots of little touches such as sherry in the room etc that ake this a very special place to stay.
The breakfasts in the the lovely light dining room were delicious.
The icing on the cake really is the owner Fiona who has a sunny bubbly personality and for whom nothing is too much trouble! Her staff are also lovely and so friendly and helpful.
Beatrice, the large friendly Newfoundland dog just adds the the place!!
What more to say, we loved the place and want to go back!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anndove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
92
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rungsted, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

An amazing oasis in Axminster. Couldn't believe the beautiful room and the little touches like the welcoming sherry on the dresser and the shoe polishing machine on the landing. The four poster bed was wonderfully comfortable after two nights in rather springy beds. The breakfast was amazing reminding me more of a four star hotel than a B&B. Unreservedly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a bed & breakfast with a difference. It was sooooo relaxing, the rooms were spacious and comfortable. The house was a huge Victorian example that had been turned into a place of luxury and calm. Fiona cannot work any harder to make your stay more welcoming and relaxing. Add to that, great convenience to the tourist areas of Devon & Cornwall, the cooked breakfast and a brandy sitting in the front room of somewhere you want to stay forever ....then you get the idea.
Treat yourself, and enjoy!
Well done Fiona - you've done a great job!

Room Tip: Camelia was a great room with a great view of the garden and the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Was greeted by Fiona immediately made us feel welcome and lucky for us the hotel was quiet so we had the place to ourselves . The rooms are superb big spacious and in keeping with the whole Victorian feel ...

Breakfast is home cooked and just delicious I would recommend anyone staying ok the area to look no further than here.

We were visiting river cottage and Fiona organised taxi nothing too much trouble

We will visit again

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeffybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed for one night in this wonderful B&B. Wish it had been longer. Fiona is absolutely lovely, and makes everyone feel very much at home. Adored our room, spotlessly clean, and very stylish. Everything we needed was provided.. Even Sherry and a chocolate :-). Beatrice the Newfoundland is adorable. I just wanted to move in and live there!!!!!!!. Breakfast was fabulous, in a lovely dining room. Loved every minute of our stay....

Room Tip: Room 4. Beautiful, with a very spacious bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham Dorset UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed for one night this is a gem of a small hotel only 5 rooms and a lot of thought and attention has gone into the detail and comfort of the rooms for guests. We arrived early evening and were greeted by the owner Fiona who welcomed us and showed us to our room. The room was of a very high standard with lots of well thought out furniture. The room was very clean as was the en suite bathroom which had a lovely Victorian bath and shower. The bed was very comfortable with good quality bed linen.
Breakfast menu was of a good standard a lot of choice freshly cooked and very attentive staff.
All in all a great place to stay and would not hesitate to stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaMcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed for a 3 night break a week or so ago. We wanted somewhere comfortable and spacious with a sitting room. I am so pleased that we found Kerrington House, it was everything we hoped for and more. The house is lovely, delightful, very warm, everything you might want is there, plus others that you might not, but that are still a delight, like the decantor of sherry and chocolates in the bedroom! The bed was soo comfortable and the breakfast great (with top notch juice and jams as well). We found Axminster very convenient for going out and about and found excellent eating places where the kitchens had imaginative and intelligent approaches to gluten and dairy free cooking, a real wow too!!

Room Tip: We were in Gardenia, very good, sunny, bath with shower over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farmerbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Axminster
4.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
336 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
423 reviews
4.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
276 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
141 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerrington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerrington House

Property: Kerrington House
Address: Kerrington House Musbury Road, Axminster EX13 5JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Axminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Axminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kerrington House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautifully landscaped gardens on the edge of Axminster, Kerrington House has been lovingly and sympathetically restored retaining many period features such as marble fireplaces and fine plasterwork ceilings. Decorated in soft neutral colours, the hotel has been furnished with relaxation in mind,and favourite pieces to suit the mood of individual rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kerrington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kerrington Hotel Devon
Kerrington House Axminster, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing