We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”
Review of Coachman Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coachman Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Taihape
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Excellent service received from the couple at the coachman. They were very helpful and accomodating. The room was very nice and comfortable and they even had the heater going for our arrival. I would definitely recommend this as a great place to stay. Ps. Thanks for cleaning the ice off the ute before we left.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    20
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
24
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Room was very small in particular the shower, had to sit on bed to watch tv as only one comfy chair. Parking was a complete nightmare, no room for cars to manouvre as a boat was parked at side of where guest cars had to try and park in front of units. This boat had been parked there for quite sometime as friends of ours had stayed in same motel a month ago and they had remarked to us that a parked boat had made parking very difficult.
Will not be back next time we are in Taihape.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARIE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eble, Owner at Coachman Motel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hi Marie,
We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us. We have been moteliers for many years and pride ourselves on looking after our guests. Your room had a queen + single bed, 2 dining chairs and one lounge chair. Our other rooms have two lounge chairs. Our modern shower units are of standard size.
My boat was parked on the yard for five weeks until I found alternative parking. It is not a common occurrence.
We have many satisfied return customers and enjoy our work.
We wish you well in the future.
Cheers, Graham & Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We booked in February 27th for 1 night and what a pleasant couple who run this motel.The units had been refurbished and were very clean and comfortable and we would stay there again.
In the room was a list of restaurants and we chose Gumboot Manor as it was just a few minutes walk down the road.What a mistake that was as there were flies every where and it stunk of fried and fatty food.My husband ordered a burger off the 'snack' side of the menu and I ordered fish and chips.The mature lady that served us repeated my husbands order then repeated my order with the words 'the fish meal'.I pointed to what I gad chosen and said this one which was $8.50. The meals came out my husbands was O.K. and mine had 2 pieces of fish,chips of sorts.Well the fish was horrible and I struggled to get through 1 piece.We went to pay and the same lady was ready to take our money but the bill seemed too high and my husband said that I had ordered an $8.50 fish and chips and the lady said ,no you ordered the fish meal which I think was $22.00 !!! I said no and said what I had ordered but she started arguing and I said 'you should have made yourself clear and she snapped back 'you should of made yourself clear'.We payed what she wanted and left vowing never to go back.
I suggest that no one in their right mind should go there and probably the best place in Taihape is Soul Kitchen in the town.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merlot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

Very clean. Everything we needed after a long drive. We enjoyed the recommended nearby walk. A great place to stop over in. Bed was very comfy and host friendly and helpful. No need to detour from the main highway. We cooked for ourselves but looked to be plenty of eating out options close by.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melw47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We arrived in Taihape needing a motel on visting 3 motels decided on Coachman Motel. Was shown 2 different rooms on arrival. The room only had 3 beds, there was 4 of us, they offered to put a rollaway bed in for us. Received two small bottles of milk , great supply, and a newspaper in the morning, stayed at other motels in other places and never received milk or a newspaper. Others have mentioned on here the washing of the car window in the morning, a nice little touch. Did hear the traffic on the main road but didn't affect sleep at all. A motel that felt so clean... Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We travelled North from Timaru staying at several motels and Hotels along the way and the Coachman far exceeded any other establishment. We stayed on our way up and again on our way home and both times the service was superior. We had continental breakfast one time and a cooked breakfast the other and both times excellent and value for money.Graham was friendly and professional and made our stay a pleasure each time. We also had our windscreen washed both times .Graham and Allison thankyou for an enjoyable stop.
Barbara and Trevor

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We recently stayed for 1 night at the Coachman in a 2 bedroom family unit. Whilst not overly modern, it was very clean, comfortable and well-equipped. The owner, Graham, was extremely helpful and even cleaned our campervan windscreen for us in the morning, despite it having 3 days worth of bugs welded on to it! A very nice personal touch.
I would happily stay there again and would recommend it to other travellers. The road is a bit busy with trucks passing though, but it did not disturb us at night - perhaps helped by the fact that we had had a long day and were very tired :-)

Room Tip: Away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripletsJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taihape hotels
0.0 mi away
Aspen Court Taihape
Aspen Court Taihape
#1 of 4 in Taihape
436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Safari Motel
Safari Motel
#3 of 4 in Taihape
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rusty Nail Backpackers
Rusty Nail Backpackers
#2 of 2 in Taihape
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Gretna Hotel
#2 of 2 in Taihape
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
River Valley Lodge
River Valley Lodge
#1 of 2 in Taihape
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarata Fishaway
Tarata Fishaway
#1 of 2 in Taihape
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Motel

Property: Coachman Motel
Address: Main North Highway | P.O.Box 177, Taihape, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Rangitikei District > Taihape
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Taihape
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coachman Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Coachman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Motel New Zealand/Taihape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing