We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value stopover between wellington and taupo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coachman Motel

Coachman Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coachman Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Taihape
Hampton Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good value stopover between wellington and taupo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Taihape is ideally placed for travellers between wellington and the north.
We made this choice and enjoyed a friendly welcome.
The room is a reasonable size and has separate bathroom.
The motel is fairly close to the road and there is road noise from trucks.
I noticed, my wife didn't
Very good value for a one night stop.

Room Tip: The higher number rooms are further from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alqueria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    18
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
19
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We arrived in Wellington late due to a ferry delay. We drove North and Taihape seemed to be the right place to stay (about a 3 hour drive). Graham was very pleasant when we arrived. The accommodation had a separate bedroom with a queen and twin, and there was another single in the front room. We also had a small kitchen area. The bed was comfortable; all the appliances worked just fine; the bathroom was clean and more than adequate; we found they had even cleaned the windshield on the car before we left the next morning. Never heard the cars on the road. Not luxurious, but we didn't expect that. Good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

While on my way up north I found the coachman motel. Very relaxing and quiet inside the room. Rooms are clean and welcoming. Arrived late at night and owner was accommodating. Bed was very comfortable. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nate82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

My sister was out from London so we decided to go have a look at our old home town, not many left that we know now - couldn't catch up with Dawn as she had already gone home....at 9.30am!
What a lovely experience the Coachman was, such lovely helpful people and much to our amazement our very dirty car windscreen had been cleaned for us in the morning. The room was great, plenty of room in the shower and nice comfy chairs to sit in. Restaurant right over the road which was very good, we had to laugh as they were even playing our music from the 60's, thought we had never left. We would both go back again anytime.

Room Tip: We did not look at any other rooms but ours was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed here for a night due to bad weather while coming back to wellington from Ohakune.
The Owners are very friendly and pleasant people. They have a list of local restaurants/eateries and they even gave us suggestions where to eat. Rooms were neat and clean, albeit a bit small. the room had kitchenette facilities. The heater in the room was powerful and heated up the room quite efficiently. As the motel is right beside State Highway-1 so you could hear trucks passing by however we would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sumanroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Excellent service received from the couple at the coachman. They were very helpful and accomodating. The room was very nice and comfortable and they even had the heater going for our arrival. I would definitely recommend this as a great place to stay. Ps. Thanks for cleaning the ice off the ute before we left.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Room was very small in particular the shower, had to sit on bed to watch tv as only one comfy chair. Parking was a complete nightmare, no room for cars to manouvre as a boat was parked at side of where guest cars had to try and park in front of units. This boat had been parked there for quite sometime as friends of ours had stayed in same motel a month ago and they had remarked to us that a parked boat had made parking very difficult.
Will not be back next time we are in Taihape.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARIE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eble, Owner at Coachman Motel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hi Marie,
We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us. We have been moteliers for many years and pride ourselves on looking after our guests. Your room had a queen + single bed, 2 dining chairs and one lounge chair. Our other rooms have two lounge chairs. Our modern shower units are of standard size.
My boat was parked on the yard for five weeks until I found alternative parking. It is not a common occurrence.
We have many satisfied return customers and enjoy our work.
We wish you well in the future.
Cheers, Graham & Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taihape hotels
0.0 mi away
Safari Motel
Safari Motel
#4 of 4 in Taihape
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aspen Court Taihape
Aspen Court Taihape
#1 of 4 in Taihape
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rusty Nail Backpackers
Rusty Nail Backpackers
#2 of 2 in Taihape
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
River Valley Lodge
River Valley Lodge
#1 of 2 in Taihape
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Motel

Property: Coachman Motel
Address: Main North Highway | P.O.Box 177, Taihape, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Rangitikei District > Taihape
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Taihape
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coachman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Motel New Zealand/Taihape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing