We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A personal favourite”

Al Centro Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Taihape
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Delicious and well priced, their steaks are just amazing!
Restaurant details
Description: Delicious and well priced, their steaks are just amazing!
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A personal favourite”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Have been going here for many years. Some favourites include the seafood shrimp cocktail, chicken & savoury crepes, steak meals.. And of course the brandy snap desert. Always friendly staff. Warm environment. I recommend!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taumarunui
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome steaks”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience here. Very friendly staff and family atmosphere. Steak meal perfectly cooked and presented. Well presented clean facility.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank aroha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delish!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had a really good meal on a cold winters friday night.
Himself had the Carpet Bagger Steak, he ate every morsel and was not disappointed, I had the veal marsala, again very good, we had both had crepes for an entree, generous in size he has crepe princess & I had the savoury crepe. All this washed down well with a bottle of Chianti!!
The service was friendly and the waitress even gave us a ride back to our motel, what a godsend!
The restaurant was clean and tidy ( but be prepared it is a little dated)
We would go back again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Al Centro - amazing steak!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped here with no expectations, but ended up having the most amazing steak. Service was good and wine was excellent. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone passing thoroughly this lovely little town.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taihape, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place for that special occassion”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Excellent place to go to. Food, staff and owners are one of the best. Nothing is any trouble for them. They make you feel very special, and pass the time of day with everyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanieOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Centro Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Taihape, Rangitikei District
Taihape, Rangitikei District
 
Taihape, Rangitikei District
Taihape, Rangitikei District
 

Been to Al Centro Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing