We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good motel with friendly staff”
Review of Kelly's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kelly's Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Taumarunui
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good motel with friendly staff”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights here. We received a very pleasant welcome when we arrived with the manager showing us to our room. A nice touch was that some home cooking had been left in a box for us. The room was large with a separate kitchen/bathroom area. The bed was huge with lovely high quality spotless bedding. The back door led to a grassed area with seating. The kitchen and bathroom were a bit dated. There were crumbs in the drawers and cupboards but otherwise very clean. The motel is on a side road so very little noise and we both slept well. There is free Wi-Fi but connection was weak and could only be accessed near the door. They let us use the hose and lent us some brushed to clean the car on the last morning.

Room Tip: All are Good as it is on a quiet side road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltburn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    35
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
17
27
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Feb, town was booked up with golf tournament so we could only stay 1 night, but would have stayed the full weekend if possible.
Initial booking over the phone by Ray, very friendly and welcoming voice, very accommodating.
There was only a king size room left, a super bargain at $100.00!
Great location, next to McDonalds and New World, close to main street.
A lovely touch with a little container of homemade baking (YUM!) and a couple of pieces of fruit, very much apreciated.
Had everything you would need and again was very clean, comfy bed, i thought the shower curtain was a bit retro BUT even the Novotel has shower curtains!
This motel has been here since i was at primary school, (a few years) so theyve stood the test of time, i would have thought it would be noisy being on a main highway but it wasnt,
The sound of trains wasnt too much bother at all, and if you love them its actually very pleaseant!
There was no hairdryer in our room (1) but i wasnt going to a banquet so it didnt matter for me this trip, im sure if i needed one they would provide.
Had a soap dispenser in the shower, nice smelling and really clean, ive seen some gunked up ones in other places before!
So i would happily stay here again.
Thank you

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katipokatipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawera, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Very good location for heading to the Forgotten World Adventures. Good service, very obliging. Décor a bit dated, but very clean and tidy. The room still had everything we needed for an over night stay

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
193 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We booked a room with a double but were given a larger family unit with 2 bedrooms and parking immediately outside. The welcome was friendly, the bed comfortable and the fruit and home baking were a lovely touch. However, the decor was seventies style and felt very tired, the cooker had a broken ring which wouldn't support a saucepan, a cockroach came out from under the microwave while we cooked and a pillowcase was stained. However with a good location and friendly management, we would stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StevenC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Six of us stayed here for a couple of nights when we went on the Forgotten World Adventures railway trip. The hosts were welcoming and very helpful. The best place to stay for this tour as it was just across the road. Nice and quiet and well appointed. We would certainly stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateLadson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

When I found myself unexpectedly stranded in Taumaranui late at night
with no car (having been discharged from hospital - miles from home, no
taxis) the managers at Kelly's stepped in to help. They were helpful and
efficient. They even collected me in their own car, and offered me a
warm welcome with home-made cake. They were so kind and really went the
extra mile. I had a very comfortable night, the room was great. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aozou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is an older style motel which, like Kelly's, often have the advantage of being larger than average and often have solid wall partitions thereby reducing the noise from neighbours compared to stud partitions. There was a full kitchen and an efficient air pump which we needed as it was pretty cold. The hosts were friendly and there was a nice touch with welcoming fruit and home made cake. Although the fittings were old, they worked and the unit was very clean.

The negative aspects included the lack of Wifi and there was some noise from the adjacent main road and the very occasional train. However, the bed was comfortable and once asleep, we slept well. Although not perfect, we'd go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livingwhilewecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taumarunui
0.1 mi away
Forgotten World Motel
Forgotten World Motel
#1 of 3 in Taumarunui
69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexander Spa Motel
Alexander Spa Motel
#3 of 3 in Taumarunui
56 reviews
0.8 mi away
Central Park Motor Inn
Central Park Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Taumarunui
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Mahoe Motel
Mahoe Motel
#1 of 4 in Taumarunui
10 reviews
21.5 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
495 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grandad's Cottage
Grandad's Cottage
#6 of 6 in Taumarunui
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly's Motel

Property: Kelly's Motel
Address: 10 River Road, Taumarunui 3920, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Taumarunui
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Taumarunui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelly's Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel has potential to cater for everyone. Sufficient parking for all size vehicles. All our rooms are self contained with heat pumps in the Studios and oil heaters in the 2 bedroom Villas for those chilly winter nights. 5 ground floor Studios, 1 Studio is situated upstairs with its own outdoor terrace. 4 Spacious 2 bedroom Villas which can accommodate for up to 6 people if you ring the Motel direct to book. Unlimited Wifi, basic freeview channels, Sky Sport 1,Sky Premiere & Discovery. If you have not stayed here before, the Main Trunk Railway line runs behind the Motel. Tarrangower Golf Club ranked in the top 20 is 1 kilometre down the road and Forgotten World Adventures, offering the Railcart Rides where they transport you to a whole new world. Wild Jet boat rides are also part of the Railcarts if you decide to endure the thrill with the whole package. Timber Trail rides are for the cycle enthusiasts which would take an hour of your day to venture out. Rafting & Canoeing are also in the vicinity and easily contacted if interested. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Kelly's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing