We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Kelly's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelly's Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Taumarunui
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night so we could do the Forgotten World Highway next day. Room and bed large, clean with our own kitchen and bathroom, home baked cookies and fruit available. Well equipped, close to main drag for resturants and also supermarket.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank danielletAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    37
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
18
27
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Had a one night stay and loved it. Clean, comfortable and with very helpful/friendly staff. Very well placed for access to Forgotten Highway and National Park. My room had a lovely deck and it was great to chill with a beer with the river (just across the minor road in front of the motel) rippling in the background.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HaggisNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Home away from Home - Greeted with lovely cookies and fresh fruit on arrival as well as friendly hosts. Complete wee house to stay in that was kinda like a chateau. Handy to supermarket and only a few steps into town. Lovely bush walks nearby as well as the trains. Would recommend this motel to others that want to do the Forgotten Highway or the self drive trains which is only across the road.

Room Tip: Pick the 2 Bedroom chalet by the road to watch the world go by
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Star B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yealmpton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Friendly owners. Comfortable and clean but slightly tired accommodation. Home made biscuits and fruit bowl. Handy for nearby restaurants and for starting the Forgotten World Highway the next day. Close proximity of main road and railway did not prove an issue. Compact site. Would probably not want to stay there for more than one night.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StaresDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights here. We received a very pleasant welcome when we arrived with the manager showing us to our room. A nice touch was that some home cooking had been left in a box for us. The room was large with a separate kitchen/bathroom area. The bed was huge with lovely high quality spotless bedding. The back door led to a grassed area with seating. The kitchen and bathroom were a bit dated. There were crumbs in the drawers and cupboards but otherwise very clean. The motel is on a side road so very little noise and we both slept well. There is free Wi-Fi but connection was weak and could only be accessed near the door. They let us use the hose and lent us some brushed to clean the car on the last morning.

Room Tip: All are Good as it is on a quiet side road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltburn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Feb, town was booked up with golf tournament so we could only stay 1 night, but would have stayed the full weekend if possible.
Initial booking over the phone by Ray, very friendly and welcoming voice, very accommodating.
There was only a king size room left, a super bargain at $100.00!
Great location, next to McDonalds and New World, close to main street.
A lovely touch with a little container of homemade baking (YUM!) and a couple of pieces of fruit, very much apreciated.
Had everything you would need and again was very clean, comfy bed, i thought the shower curtain was a bit retro BUT even the Novotel has shower curtains!
This motel has been here since i was at primary school, (a few years) so theyve stood the test of time, i would have thought it would be noisy being on a main highway but it wasnt,
The sound of trains wasnt too much bother at all, and if you love them its actually very pleaseant!
There was no hairdryer in our room (1) but i wasnt going to a banquet so it didnt matter for me this trip, im sure if i needed one they would provide.
Had a soap dispenser in the shower, nice smelling and really clean, ive seen some gunked up ones in other places before!
So i would happily stay here again.
Thank you

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katipokatipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawera, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Very good location for heading to the Forgotten World Adventures. Good service, very obliging. Décor a bit dated, but very clean and tidy. The room still had everything we needed for an over night stay

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taumarunui
0.1 mi away
Forgotten World Motel
Forgotten World Motel
#1 of 3 in Taumarunui
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexander Spa Motel
Alexander Spa Motel
#3 of 3 in Taumarunui
56 reviews
0.8 mi away
Central Park Motor Inn
Central Park Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Taumarunui
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Mahoe Motel
Mahoe Motel
#1 of 4 in Taumarunui
10 reviews
21.5 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
502 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grandad's Cottage
Grandad's Cottage
#6 of 6 in Taumarunui
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly's Motel

Property: Kelly's Motel
Address: 10 River Road, Taumarunui 3920, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Taumarunui
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Taumarunui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelly's Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The motel has potential to cater for everyone. Sufficient parking for all size vehicles. All our rooms are self contained with heat pumps in the studios and oil heaters in the 2 bedroom villas for those chilly winter nights. 5 ground floor studios, 1 studio is situated upstairs with its own outdoor terrace. 4 Spacious 2 bedroom villas which can accommodate for up to 6 people if you ring the motel direct to book. Unlimited Wifi, basic freeview channels, Sky Sport 1, Sky Premiere & Discovery. If you have not stayed here before, the Main Trunk Railway line runs behind the motel. Tarrangower Golf Club ranked in the top 20 is 1 kilometres down the road and Forgotten World Adventures, offering the Railcart Rides where they transport you to a whole new world. Wild Jet boat rides are also part of the Railcarts if you decide to endure the thrill with the whole package. Timber Trail rides are for the cycle enthusiasts which would take an hour of your day to venture out. Rafting & canoeing are also in the vicinity and easily contacted if interested. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kelly's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing