We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Kelly's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelly's Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Taumarunui
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is an older motel, clean and very good value. The owners are lovely people and we were given a jug of milk fruit and some homemade banana cake! We would definitely stay again and hope to do so in a couple of years and do the golf buggy on rail trip. The Forgotten Highway was winding but very beautiful. Happily recommend this lovely motel and hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

WE stayed as a group of 6 with 3 units between us. The units are nicely furnished. The double bed was sooooo comfortable. The hosts leave a little bowl of fruit and some home made biscuits in the unit. The wifi is not available within the unit but was right outside the door and let me do all I needed and it was fast as my own wifi link at home. The owners are really nice people. The units are starting to show some maintenance issues but nothing that distracted from the stay. McDonalds, the BP service station, a New World Store and the Forgotten World rail trail base are all within metres of the motel. The unit have kitchen with full stove and all the implements required for cooking if you wish.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryWellingtonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here after driving the Forgotten World Highway from Stratford. As it was the first place we saw on entering Taumaranui you have to say it is in a good location. Also the hosts are first rate people, very welcoming with lovely touches like complimentary fruit and home baking. The family villa was just the right size for us with three single beds in one room and a double and another single in the other room. A real advantage for us was the separate kitchen and dining area (and TV) which enabled the kids to go to bed and the adults to stay up.

The only issue we had was that the motel is getting a bit tired and could do with a refresh, and particularly the bathroom could do with some ventilation system. However, the positives far outweighed the negatives.

Room Tip: The further away from the main road the better, but to be honest we didn't feel traffic noise di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CantonaForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

we were looking for somewhere to stay for the night, and found Kellys on the net for a nice cheap price.
got there a bit later than we had planed, the staff (owners) were super friendly to deal with
we got our room and found the massive bed, homebaking, fruit and tv was able to be moved around on the bracket to suit.
the home baking was super fresh (banana cake and have never had that before in a hotel) and the bed gave me a great sleep, didn't hear traffic or other people once we were in our rooms.
for a place I was a bit iffy on - I loved it and we will make sure to stay again when passing through.
the owners need a pat on the back, I know many hotels that could take some training from you guys on how to provide customer service and value for money

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed for one night so we could do the Forgotten World Highway next day. Room and bed large, clean with our own kitchen and bathroom, home baked cookies and fruit available. Well equipped, close to main drag for resturants and also supermarket.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank danielletAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Had a one night stay and loved it. Clean, comfortable and with very helpful/friendly staff. Very well placed for access to Forgotten Highway and National Park. My room had a lovely deck and it was great to chill with a beer with the river (just across the minor road in front of the motel) rippling in the background.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank HaggisNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Home away from Home - Greeted with lovely cookies and fresh fruit on arrival as well as friendly hosts. Complete wee house to stay in that was kinda like a chateau. Handy to supermarket and only a few steps into town. Lovely bush walks nearby as well as the trains. Would recommend this motel to others that want to do the Forgotten Highway or the self drive trains which is only across the road.

Room Tip: Pick the 2 Bedroom chalet by the road to watch the world go by
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Star B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taumarunui
0.1 mi away
Forgotten World Motel
Forgotten World Motel
#1 of 3 in Taumarunui
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexander Spa Motel
Alexander Spa Motel
#3 of 3 in Taumarunui
56 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mahoe Motel
Mahoe Motel
#1 of 4 in Taumarunui
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Grandad's Cottage
Grandad's Cottage
#6 of 6 in Taumarunui
6 reviews
21.5 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
523 reviews
0.8 mi away
Central Park Motor Inn
Central Park Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Taumarunui
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly's Motel

Address: 10 River Road, Taumarunui 3920, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Taumarunui
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Taumarunui
Price Range: £48 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelly's Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The motel has potential to cater for everyone. Sufficient parking for all size vehicles. All our rooms are self contained with heat pumps in the studios and oil heaters in the 2 bedroom villas for those chilly winter nights. 5 ground floor studios, 1 studio is situated upstairs with its own outdoor terrace. 4 Spacious 2 bedroom villas which can accommodate for up to 6 people if you ring the motel direct to book. Unlimited Wifi, basic freeview channels, Sky Sport 1, Sky Premiere & Discovery. If you have not stayed here before, the Main Trunk Railway line runs behind the motel. Tarrangower Golf Club ranked in the top 20 is 1 kilometres down the road and Forgotten World Adventures, offering the Railcart Rides where they transport you to a whole new world. Wild Jet boat rides are also part of the Railcarts if you decide to endure the thrill with the whole package. Timber Trail rides are for the cycle enthusiasts which would take an hour of your day to venture out. Rafting & canoeing are also in the vicinity and easily contacted if interested. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kelly's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing