We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bradley's garden b&b”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Taumarunui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Bradley's garden b&b”
Reviewed 31 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This was one of our favorite places. The service was beyond the expected. Malana was an incredible host. She made breakfast and dinner every morning and night and brought it to our room. And it was delicious! Her gardens are so beautiful it is hard to describe. Simon, her husband, was kind enough to take us up the mountain one morning and let us enjoy the beauty of their incredible acreage. Don't miss this place if you get a chance! Mark and Janice

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Thank you so much...i so hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels...hosting you was such a pleasure...take care,
regards
Melana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An unforgettable expeirence!”
Reviewed 26 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

On every trip, there are always a few experiences that truly leave their mark, and that we will cherish for the rest of our lives. Our stay here was such an experience: a beautiful room, in a perfect setting, with an exceptionally gracious and helpful hostess.
Thank you Melana ! Without your help, we would never have discovered the wacky Republic of Whangamomona, or that beautiful restaurant on the shores of Lake Taupo!

This BnB is a must for anyone traveling anywhere near this area of New Zealand.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2016
Hi there...Thank you so much!...so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Take care and ll the best...Melana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pupuke
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This beautiful accomodation was a delight .. immaculate comfortable and so attractive !
Our lovely hostess was so
attentive & helpful going the extra mile to make our stay enjoyable! Her food was excellent & full of lovely surprises !
In addition the fantastic gardens were a real treat to wander through amazing us at the planning and work over 20 years !
We would unreservedly recommend this BnB to others .. have already done so !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2016
Hi there Peter,
Im so pleased you enjoyed your stay...Im pleased to tell you the grass is growing! :)
It was lovely to meet you both on your travels and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
Take care...kind regards
Melana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caruthers...
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You wont want to leave”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

If you read the other reviews I can only repeat the praises of this extraordinary place. The hostess, Melana is perhaps the convivial host and wonderful cook my wife and I encountered in a long driving tour of New Zealand. The room is a tribute to Melana's refined and exquisite taste and is so clean and comfortable you don't want to leave and you regret departure. make sure you book more than one night. What impressed us was the attention to detail; the delicate crockery, the service of the food - make sure you book that ahead of your stay! The room is surrounded by hectares of magnificent gardens and at night you luxuriate in the spa which is all yours. Private, refined and an absolute destination. The town is a car trip away and not attractive to a tourist so Bradley's becomes the center of your world and has meditative and an almost spiritual restfulness about it. Thank you for letting us stay. Will return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hostess and how she made us feel so welcome
Liked least: absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Hi David
Thank you so much ...I'm lost for words. Your comments mean so much. I get so much satisfaction when guests have had a relaxing peaceful stay and your kind words just makes everything so worth while. Meeting such lovely people like yourselves is why I love doing what I do. It was great to meet you both and would very much look forward to your return. p.S... am determined to send you a photo of the grass!... stay tuned! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marieke11...
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfection and luxury”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in October 2015

This bed & breakfast was absolutely wonderful and the best place we stayed at on our 3 weeks New Zealand honeymoon. Melana is the perfect host!

The cottage is stunning, perfect for just relaxing and enjoying the nature around but in a really luxurious way. You have a nice private porch and an outdoor Spa! So relaxing and warming especially after the black water rafting we did in the Waitomo Caves.

Melana provides a great breakfast for you that she brings by the cottage at a time that you chose. There is a lot of attention to detail here: the wonderful home baked cakes that Melana places in the kitchen for the guests every afternoon, small chocolates, the way breakfast is served, plush towels, extra pillows in case you prefer softer ones - just everything is made with such love and care!

Also Bradley's garden that you can stroll through is very impressive, never seen such an awesome private garden! Again you see the love and time that has been put into building this garden.

Melana also took me to her lamb that I was allowed to feed two times, and she took us over to the neighbouring farm so we can watch them shearing the sheep. I was so happy for those more private NZ experiences. For activities in the area: Lake Taupo and the Huka Falls (1.5 hours drive), and the Waitomo Caves (1 hour drive) are all easily reachable by day-tour, so it is a great place to explore the area.

P.S. late review because I didn't get around to it and really wanted to take some time to give this place the credit it deserves!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury - Spa - Bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely review...it was a pleasure to meet you and Im so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
best wishes
Melana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CookRE
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Faultless ”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Such a wonderful place, so peaceful and in a perfect setting.

The cottage is superb, with everything you could possibly need.

The gardens are enchanting and with so many beautiful birds it was captivating.

Melana was a superb host and the breakfast provided was just great.

Would highly recommend this to anyone travelling on the Forgotten World Highway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eddieandc...
S. Lincolnshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very special place”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Bradley's Garden is a piece of heaven on earth. We loved everything about it. Melana handled everything with calm efficiency and nothing was too much trouble. She deservedly gets all the best reviews

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing environment and top notch service
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2016
Such a pleasure having you stay...thanks so much and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay here in NZ
Kind regards
Melana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing