We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fantastic meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Turk's Head Inn Restaurant

The Turk's Head Inn Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Chickerell
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another fantastic meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Glad to see the Turks back to a fantastic standard. Great service and food fab! Back out there again tomorrow.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    98
    38
    31
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We found the food to be of a very high standard and the prices were competitive. The staff were wonderful and the bar/restaurant had a very welcoming atmosphere. The decor had been recently upgraded and was very clean and fresh.

We would certainly eat here again. A very pleasant experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ccoles1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average to good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

I'd like to give it a 'Good' but there isn't one. We arrived about 6pm on a Saturday so quite early and the first thing I noticed was the tired interior. This definitely needs a makeover and would make a huge difference to the experience. The food was good with generous portions although seriously lacking in vegetarian menus unless of course you don't mind Goats cheese (yes Goats Cheese,......again!) We shared a Choc Torte with ice Cream for pud which tasted very nice and good value for money. Staff polite and pleasant. Would we go again? Yes but please get the decorators in, it would make such a difference.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hootboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“enjoyable carvery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We have just had a very nice carvery, the staff were very welcoming from the moment we walked in. We did not have a reservation but they did their upmost to accomadate us without making us feel uncomfortable. The Turks Head was so busy that all tables were reserved at midday when we arrived. If you want to try it "book,"

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jonoHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Was disappointing with the whole service of the staff, the first dish did arrive quickly but the empty plates were left on the table for ages, when someone did arrive to take them away we were offered a drink, my partner ordered his pint and was told he'd could have it once the table was cleared, he never got the drink and no-one returned to clear the rest of the table, we saw through the window the waitress who said she'd bring the drinks was out in the car park.
Eventually another waitress asked if we needed a drink and agian my partner asked for a drink and no-one returned with one, in the end we went to the bar ourselves.
It was also disappointing there was no vegetarian menu and the food we did recieve was not value for money, it's a shame as this is a local place for us to go but we would not ever go back and would not reccomend it to anyone else.
The cheeses and biscuit we awful as the biscuits were soft and there was no cheese knife.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank emily h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Turk's Head Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Chickerell, Weymouth
 

Been to The Turk's Head Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing