We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy winter retreat”

Review of Tidmoor Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chickerell, Weymouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kath J
Wigton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy winter retreat”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I'm sure it's wonderful in summer but even in the depths of winter the barn is certainly no barn. We never felt more comfortable, often returning mid-afternoon on the darkest days just to enjoy the relaxing comfort of the sink-into sofas and the warmth of the central heating. Very spacious but cosy accommodation. Really well equipped kitchen, comfortable beds and a glorious view from the upstairs sitting room. One really needs comfort if holidaying in winter and we certainly found it here. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom_Phipp...
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful let, lovely owners”
Reviewed 28 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house is very nice, modern with all necessary amenities. Hugely welcoming owners who made our stay a pleasure. Thoroughly recommended!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulineso...
southampton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a long weekend in the Barn the beginning of October.

Lovely homely feel, but best of all were the views from the upstairs sitting room. They were gorgeous it was lovely sat there watching the sun go down.

The Barn was lovely and clean and all you needed for your stay.

Sarah and her husband, the owners, were must helpful.

We will certainly stay again if we want to go to that area of Dorset.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spotlessly clean and the views from the upstairs sitting room
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lrcoley
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stables aren't just for horses, an excellent holiday cottage.”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Tidmoor Stables, the adjacent accommodation to the Barn. This is a lovely conversion which has been transformed into a well equipped comfortable holiday cottage, The facilities are excellent, especially for my disabled parents - a spacious uncluttered lounge & dining area with their ground floor bedroom having a wet room. It has a private rear garden & secure parking.
Sarah & Alan were available for hints and tips for visting the area & places to eat. The cottage is located a stones throw from Weymouth & centrally located for visiting the well known areas of the South Coast. The village has a small well stocked shop & a few pubs in walking distance.
Sarah & Alan were extremely helpful and welcoming and made it clear that nothing was too much trouble.
I can thoroughly recommend this property & if we travel to this part of the country again we will not hesitate to stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albermarl...
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Spacious accomodation and wheelchair friendly”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Both properties ( Stables and Barn ) are similar and located behind the owners house , which is on the roadside. This largely cuts out the noise from the B Road but not completely. The Stables are well appointed/equipped and spacious for a two bedroom property and it is kept in very good condition and clean. The bathrooms are of 5 star hotel quality although the lounge furniture/sofas are not quite at the same level. The lounge and one bedroom/bathroom are all on the ground floor and plenty of space for maneuvering a wheelchair.
Although an excellent rating, as usual nothing is perfect: The location is convenient for Weymouth and behind the property is a path and fields leading down to the sea ( although more for ramblers than a casual stroll) . However once on the road , you could be in the outskirts of any town in UK. The local pubs are OK but not really very holidayish and the local village has a small old centre but surrounded by residential estates.
So in summary: nice good quality property: convenient location; helpful owners: accessible for disabled guests: but probably not for someone looking for a rural/coastal idyll.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan and spacious
Liked least: Immediate location
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday Home”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend in The Barn - will definitely return for at least a week next time.

Sarah was very welcoming and hospitable during our stay (including sending us a text telling us about a firework display on the beach one evening). She recommended local places of interest, restaurants and walks.

The accommodation itself is immaculate and very well equipped.

There is absolutely nothing negative to report. We highly recommend The Barn. Our whole experience was wonderful and we really hope to return one day soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners, cleanliness, location, views - everything!
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R
Notts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay!”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at the cottage and immediately the children were excited to have a look round, It was beautifully clean and spacious and had everything you could need.
The view from upstairs was lovely and we were surprised to find there were two living rooms. Perfect if you have kids that want to watch something different on TV at night!
Unfortunately, the weather that week wasn't good but the owner told us some good places to go and we were able to make the most of our stay.
The owner was extremely helpful and welcoming and made it clear that nothing was any trouble.
I've stayed in some good hotels but I can honestly say that this place is top of my list and we will definitely stay again,
Fabulous place!

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing