We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent facilities”

Review of Tidmoor Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chickerell, Weymouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian D
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent facilities”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Just spent a week at Tidmoor Cottages (The Barn). We had a lovely time, the accommodation was top notch. Our daughter is a wheelchair user and the Barn was perfect for her with an excellent wet room, downstairs bedroom and good access. The upstairs lounge has excellent views over Chesil beach and the garden is a bit of a sun trap in the afternoon/evening. The location is perfect for getting into Weymouth and seeing the delights of Dorset. The owners were friendly and helpful and we thoroughly recommend the Barn as a place to stay and I am sure we will be back again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ease of Acces
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review Ian, glad you all had a enjoyable holiday, hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanne C
1 review
“Great family holiday!”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful holiday staying in the Stables. The Stables were spacious and well equipped, clean and tidy. It was well located and within easy reach of the beach and other locations. Sarah was very welcoming and knowledgeable of activities that our children aged 2 1/2 & 6 might enjoy, and nothing was too much trouble.
This was our first holiday in the area and would defiantly return to Tidmoor Cottages again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
Glad you all had a great time, hopefully see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A very comfortable stay”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Tidmoor Stable is well situated for exploring Weymouth and the Dorset coast.
The Stable was very well equipped, and comfortable, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.
Sarah the owner was very helpful and accommodating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Thank you very much John for taking the time to write a review, hope to see you both again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickevans...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“First Class Accommodation”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The property is safe and secure for families behind key pad operated gates. The accommodation has been built to a very high standard and we found it to be very spacious and met all our needs. It is disability friendly. Sarah the proprietor is a very helpful host and nothing is too much trouble you just have to ask.
The property is situated just off the Chickerell Road a few miles outside of Weymouth so you will need a car although I believe there is a good bus service. There is a good convenience store and Post Office within walking distance which we found very handy. We found this to be a delightful area and visited the Swannery and gardens at Abbotsbury, Portland, Swanage and Lulworth Cove during our stay. We very much enjoyed our holiday here.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Safety and Security of the property
Liked least: Travelling in and out of Weymouth
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
Thank you Mick for taking the time to write a great review for us, so glad you all enjoyed your stay at Tidmoor Cottages, it will be lovely to see you all again if you holiday this way in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A lovely property”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Sarah was a most helpful and pleasant person who made it clear on our arrival that she would always be around to help us if needed during our stay. The barn was lovely and the upstairs lounge had a great view out to sea.The location was perfect for Portland Bill Chesil Beach and all the ' Hardy ' connections. It was really quiet despite its good road access and proved to be a real sun trap with a lovely patio to enjoy a glass or two in the evening. The only thing that could possibly make it better would be a dishwasher in the kitchen!
Thank you Sarah.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2016
Glad you had a lovely stay with us, indeed when its is time to upgrade the kitchen we will definitely consider a dishwasher. Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter P
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

1st June, just had a wonderful week stay at Tidmoor stables , accommodation was clean comfortable and very spacious with excellent disabled facilities for our elderly parents. However the cottage is suitable for families and all age groups. Great location to explore Weymouth and surrounding area with lovely walks on your door step , ample parking in gated court yard , Sarah was very welcoming on our arrival , giving us useful information of things to do and places to eat . We would recommend staying here as it is of very good standard and excellent value for money...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Really glad you had a good time, it was lovely meeting you all, hopefully we will see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“THE BARN EXCELLENT FOR WHEELCHAIR USERS.”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I am (Susan M) permanently in a electric wheelchair and have just stayed at the Tidmoor Barn,which is excellent for people in wheelchairs,I had no trouble getting around so I can highly recommend the Barn,it also great to find accommodation which is suitable for the disabled,this area is also ideal for sight seeing,so all in all I had a really good holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ease of access
Liked least: Nothing as every thing was fine
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
We are really glad you enjoyed your holiday here with us Susan, thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing