We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“IN EVERY WAY BARN COTTAGE IS A GEM OF A PLACE TO...”

Review of Tidmoor Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chickerell, Weymouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sylvia194...
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“IN EVERY WAY BARN COTTAGE IS A GEM OF A PLACE TO STAY.”
Reviewed 23 October 2010 for a stay in October 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Barn Cottage is a wonderful place to stay. We have just enjoyed our second visit and we find It excellent in every respect. The cottage is equipped to a really high standard and the layout makes it equally suitable for a family or two couples. We took our 90 year old disabled mother there and it met all her needs perfectly. The view from the upstairs lounge window particularly is absolutely lovely. What more could you ask for.

Sarah herself is always pleasant and helpful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lpsewwhat
Portsmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“once again a fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 3 October 2010 for a stay in September 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Back for a fifth visit. Very good wheelchair access and additional disability aids are available in the barn.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb96
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two adults, two teenage boys ... two living rooms, two TVs!! Perfect”
Reviewed 13 August 2010 for a stay in August 2010
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the barn after we had spent the weekend at a local festival in Lulworth. The barn was immaculately clean and gave us the perfect opportunity to chill out (and get a good wash!!) after the festival and enjoy a few more days in the lovely Dorset countryside. Plenty of lovely things to do locally and the barn has lovely views down to chesil beach and coastal walks right on the doorstep. Having two living spaces was an absolute bonus when holidaying with two teenagers who really appreciated the space away from the 'olds' (and vice versa).

We have stayed in similar **** accommodation and would have liked to have found towels provided and a welcome basket, but other than that it was thoroughly lovely.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNichol...
Bermuda
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place to stay and enjoy the sailing at Weymouth and Portland”
Reviewed 3 August 2010 for a stay in July 2010
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Tidmoor Barn for the week of the Optimist National Championships. The accommodation was excellent and the peace and quiet was just what we had hoped for. Tidmoor is less than 5 minutes from the Sailing Academy and the accommodation layout together weith the garden meant we had everything we needed. Sarah was extremely friendly and helpful. We will definately try to stay there again next time we are in Weymouth.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdy044
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“EVERYTHING YOU COULD WANT FOR AN EXCELLENT HODAY.”
Reviewed 17 July 2010 for a stay in July 2010
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the barn because my husband is disabled, there is everything you would need here with ample room for a wheelcair to move around the whole of the ground floor.The seperate area upstairs enabled other guests to have their privacy if they wanted it. Lots to see and do and lots of places to eat. A very warm welcome from sarah was the start of a wonderful week.

Value Location
Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lpsewwhat
Portsmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic facilities, stunning location!”
Reviewed 29 May 2010 for a stay in May 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed in the barn for a week in May this year. Highly impressed with the quality of the accommodation, everything we needed for a real self catering experience. The barn is located so that the back doors on both floors have stunning views of the surrounding area. Located close to Weymouth town center and other local amenities. Have stayed here many times before and wouldn't hesitate on going back. Fully geared up for disabled access. Highly recommended to anyone looking for a quiet get away in a stunning location.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily058
Camberley
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just a perfect week...”
Reviewed 23 May 2010 for a stay in April 2010
2
people found this review helpful

This was the first time we have visited Tidmoor Cottages having found it whilst searching for accommodation suitable for the disabled. Having once lived in Weymouth, my husband and myself were looking for somewhere where we and my elderly, disabled mother could stay to enable us to visit family and friends in the area. We found the perfect place in the Barn which surpassed our expectations by a long way. Everything on the ground floor was laid out with the disabled in mind yet the upstairs was ideal for us as carers.

The Barn is exceptionally spacious enabling mum and her "trolley" to move about independently, safely and with ease. The ramp to the front door made access easy, doorways are wide enough and the wooden ground floor is level throughout. The wet room bathroom is roomy, fully equipped with handrails, and there are useful extras available if needed, such as a raised loo seat. and tap extenders. My only criticism would be that the shower seat was set rather high for a small lady to use and there was no shelf for shampoo etc. However, as the wet room is so spacious there was plenty of room for me to help my mother thereby overcoming the problem.

Tidmoor Cottages is perfectly located and very easy to find. Although on the main road, the location is quiet and peaceful, absolutely no trouble sleeping. Every part of Weymouth and it's wonderful coast can be accessed quickly and easily by car, and I believe the bus services are adequate as well. The views from the windows of the Barn are stunning, wonderful views of fields, the sea and the Fleet, and because of the location, access to coastal walks is on the doorstep. The local surroundings provide everything you need, such as petrol and groceries, and the local village has great, easily accessible pubs, so no need to cook! As previously reviewed, the cottages are behind electronic gates which gives a feeling of security, and parking is available. The parking is however quite tight and a small car would probably be easier to negotiate, particularly when opening doors for the disabled.

Reassuringly the owners, Sarah, Alan and family, (and Lily the dog!) are available on site should any problems of any kind arise. They are extremely friendly, helpful and amenable and of course have a wealth of local knowledge to help you get the most out of your holiday. Thank you, Sarah, for a great week in Weymouth. We can't wait to come back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;