We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ship

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ship
Ranked #1 of 1 Parkgate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pendle
2 reviews
“A nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our stay at The Ship Hotel was really nice. The food is excellent and the staff are lovely - cheerful and helpful. I have to be honest a say that the room was a tad tired but the en-suite facilities were first-rate. Our room was at the front of the hotel and the hubbub from the bar area was noticeable but we felt we'd got value for money and we'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    130
    53
    16
    11
See reviews for
79
147
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Food was excellent and I recommend to all. We had booked a table for a family birthday, a group of six at eight on a busy Saturday evening. Our table did not become free until quarter to nine. The place was very busy and I guess they could not hold a table all evening until eight, but I would have thought that with good planning and intelligent staffing they should have been able to do better, perhaps they are currently a victim of their own success. I also think the place is a bit of a confusion between a pub and a classy restaurant, with people standing drinking next to tables eating, which is a little strange.

However the main event of the food was excellent. We had a lot of fish dishes and they were all well prepared with interesting flavour combinations. We were not too sure which dishes we needed to order sides with and ended up sharing sides, which were fortunately large portions.

Value was reasonable for a classy restaurant, little high for a pub, so you have to choose which it is! The bill was wrong, they had added the drinks from a different table. We pointed this out and they simply could not understand, we gave up and paid for what we were asked for since it was only a little different.

We will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Our family have often had a meal here as a family celebration, birthdays etc. Usually the food and service have been consistently good. Today, I hope it was just an off day. The food was great on the whole, though some dishes differed from what was described on the menu, which annoyed one of our group. But the service was attrocious. We were not welcomed to our table, had to get our own menus and then had to prompt for someone to even come over and take our order. Wouldnt mind but the place was not busy. I assume they were just understaffed. But the people that did attend to us were far below normal standard. 3 people dealt with us and had to be the most unwelcoming and dim witted people in Parkgate. I am afraid we will be reverting back to The Boathouse down the road - albeit a bit more pricey, the service is always exceptional. So disappointed !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

If I were rating for the food it would be 5* - we had an excellent evening meal and the place was packed. However the rooms are very basic even post refurbishment and the double bed (two singles pushed together) was very uncomfortable. The biggest problem was the noise - the night we stayed a group of drunken blokes woke the whole top floor shouting and banging doors post midnight. The hotel should review their policy, they cannot appeal to older couples and 'stag-do' type bookings and keep everyone happy.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Breaky20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We have now stayed here 3 or 4 times and have been very pleased with the accommodation, food and service on each occasion. The brown shrimps starter is absolutely delicious!

The additional cost for The Lord Nelson and Lady Hamilton rooms is well worth it. They are both spacious and well appointed and have lovely views across the estuary.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RWWDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Ship for a night, whilst in Parkgate for a party. It is a nice hotel with very efficient and friendly staff. I understand the evening meals are good, but we didn't eat in the hotel. Breakfast was very good. Some parts of the hotel (upstairs corridors and stairs, in particular) could do with redecoration, but the room was a good size and well furnished. At £75 per night, I thought it a little pricey for what was on offer, but overall it is a decent place to stay and is very well situated.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SeamasterSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Today we had lunch overlooking the wildlife pools of the River Dee marshes at Parkgate, roughly from where Nelson set sail. The choice of menu is wide and the food excellent. The staff are friendly, helpful and extremely efficient. There are an abundance of Hannahs on the staff but Hannah 'M' was simply outstanding. The service was great and we had a lovely meal.

Room Tip: Ask for a table overlooking the Dee estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parkgate
1.9 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
5.0 mi away
Woodcote Hotel
Woodcote Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship

Property: The Ship
Address: The Parade | Wirral, Parkgate CH64 6SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Parkgate
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Parkgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ship 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Ship reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Parkgate
The Ship Parkgate/Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing