We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience . .!”
Review of The Ship

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship
Ranked #1 of 1 Parkgate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A unique experience . .!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I thoroughly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a change from the usual Travelodge, Premier Inn type of accommodation. We were visiting Chester and Port Sunlight for the weekend and this was an ideal location . . and what a location; with stunning views across the Dee estuary to the hills of North Wales. It is a mixture of a pub and an hotel and has a lovely atmosphere about it. The rooms are clean and adequate and the food absolutely fabulous served with a minimum of delay by a friendly and welcoming staff. The Manager is particularly helpful and friendly and always has plenty of time to talk to you in between helping his staff too. Overall it presents a warm, comfortable and relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    140
    59
    18
    11
See reviews for
90
159
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

There are reasons why you would want to stay here. Top of the list is the view and also the nearby ice cream shop. The pub has an attractive bar / restaurant and the friendly staff are also of consideration. We didn't eat here but a tray of burgers walked past us and they looked good. Those are the reasons I give this a three instead of a two. Do not, however, be seduced by some of the professional photos of the bedrooms on the Internet as in my opinion they are misleading and I found the accommodation disappointing. The old stair carpet certainly needed a hoover which I might have overlooked, along with the tired decor in the hallways, if the bedrooms had lived up to their promise. The rooms have had a cheap upgrade where accessories are concerned. The bathroom was clean and fresh if a little plastic and there were complementary toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities which were very welcome. The bed was comfortable and we did have a lovely view although this is let down by the shabby curtains and a collection of flies caught in between the double glazing. Sadly I have to say that the focal point of the room was a metal storage unit on the wall which was dreadful. It was like something seen in a student flat. Economy perhaps, style no. There was only one bedside light, not too much of a problem, but the room felt cramped and I am guessing that the size of the room had been compromised in order to accommodate the ensuite. Our friends were grumpy as they had telephone wires trailing across their floor and no view. The breakfasts were of the usual standard and boasted local produce but I am fast developing an aversion to the cheap bread served at this end of the scale. Having stayed in a range of accommodation at this price level I know it is a competitive market but equally one where attention to detail can allow the boutique to assume the advantage over the chain. In my opinion there are better places out there at this price for comfort and style. If these things are not important, and if you want to be close to the estuary, you couldn't be better placed. I wouldn't come back for the accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie2008UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My wife and I, recently stayed at the ship, for two nights.Everything from the first phone call, check in, check out was just smooth as could be.The staff were very friendly and most helpfull.The food was par excellance.There was a small discrepancy with the bill, which was sorted out very quickly.I would recommend "The ship" to everyone.By the way, the steak with pepper sauce is to die for.

Room Tip: Choose a third floor room, less noise whenever there is a wedding reception (loud music)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 595richards595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and was surprised just how pleasant a stay i had,from the staff through to the room and food,i would definately recommend this hotel for an enjoyable stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Lovely views in a hotel whose staff were so helpful. Firstly they allowed us an early check-in to enable us to get ready for an afternoon wedding and the following morning did all they could to help us find my wife's handbag which she had lost off the premises. Breakfast was exceptional. Thanks for a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Our party consisted of twelve cyclists and a support man. We were cycling around the Cheshire Cycle Way and stayed overnight in
Parkgate. The Ship was an ideal place to stay with terrific views over the estuary to Wales from the front of the building. On arrival the hotel staff made us very welcome and our bikes were secured overnight within the premises. The bar was very pleasant and the rooms were clean and comfortable although if anything a little too warm. The breakfast was plentiful and well presented. The cost of a twin room was reasonable. Although we had previously decided to eat elsewhere the menu looked good and also reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Should you need to get more air into the room don't let the restraining strap on the window stop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheshiretourist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendle
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our stay at The Ship Hotel was really nice. The food is excellent and the staff are lovely - cheerful and helpful. I have to be honest a say that the room was a tad tired but the en-suite facilities were first-rate. Our room was at the front of the hotel and the hubbub from the bar area was noticeable but we felt we'd got value for money and we'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parkgate
1.9 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,254 reviews
8.7 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
786 reviews
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,622 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship

Property: The Ship
Address: The Parade | Wirral, Parkgate CH64 6SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Parkgate
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Parkgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ship 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Ship reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Parkgate
The Ship Parkgate/Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing