We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ice cream - a Parkgate classic”

Nicholls of Parkgate
Ranked #3 of 3 Dessert in Parkgate
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Spain
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great ice cream - a Parkgate classic”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Lots of varieties to choose from and helpful, polite staff. The new coffee shop area used to be a sub-post office about forty years ago, my Dad used to help out there at short notice for sick leave etc. - we've been having ice cream at Nicholls for decades! I am even the proud owner of one of their tea towels which although slightly iron-singed is much cherished!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank veomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    36
    8
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream Everrrrrrrr!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Wow love love love this place!! The ice cream is simply delicious especially the Ferroroche and the cinder toffee ones. It is also very reasonable priced in comparison to the usual Mr whippy (the "99" that costs you £2.50 :/ ) and the coast.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BecBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Yummy”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Love the ice cream here - and love the fact that its possible to buy tubs of the stuff for home. Also found out recently that many restaurants use their ice cream for their puddings. They do the best Black Cherry i've ever tasted.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I scream for Ice Cream”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

At least once every summer I make the effort to come to Nicholls in Parkgate with my partner just to grab one of their famous ice creams (as their name says), and after many visits over the years I am yet to be disappointed. They always have a large selection of ice creams (I particularly like the lemon and lime flavour), and a wide variety of different cones and even a sandwich style of ice cream to choose from. What makes this experience even better is when the weather is lovely, as there's usually ample space on the wall of the promenade opposite to sit down and relax on whilst you enjoy the many different tastes on offer. Brilliant way to spend a nice day out with loved ones

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank d_taylor76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent ice-cream!!”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Nicholls has been serving excellent ice-cream for as long as I can remember and it never fails to deliver on flavour or service!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nicholls of Parkgate also viewed

 
Parkgate, Cheshire
 

Been to Nicholls of Parkgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing