We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Marsh Cat restaurant Parkgate, Wirral”
Review of The Marsh Cat Restaurant - CLOSED

The Marsh Cat Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: No 1 Mostyn Square is the new restaurant in Parkgate. Until recently it was The Marsh Cat, and has been for 15 years. The current owners of the site bought the Marsh Cat in 2013. After a change in direction and a much needed renovation we have decided it is time for a new fresh brand and menu. Same high quality service, same top quality freshly cooked food, new ambience, new chef, new direction. We hope you like it.
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Marsh Cat restaurant Parkgate, Wirral”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visited with friends on a Monday evening. A beautiful setting with a very. warm welcome on arrival.
We had a wonderful meal scollops, king prawns and monkfish in a creamy Thai sauce, exquisite, this followed by entrecôte steak and lobster truly amazing! Excellent service we had a marvellous evening making our couple of days break so special. We will definately return on our next trip to The Wirral, what a find!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mory46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    70
    23
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Truly Fabulous ”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We attended the Marsh Cat for our staff Christmas dinner, the restaurant had recently been taken over from what I can gather. We were sat at our table on arrival and staff were very friendly and attended to everyone's drinks request immediately. We were treated to a selection of appetisers prior to our mains and all I can say is amazing, again as always I decided to try the steak for my main which I can advise was beautiful. I would recommend this restaurants who appreciates fine dinning at it's finest, the restaurant and setting on the parkgate front is amazing you will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank DaviesM86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Bistro with appropriate local food”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We dined here on one Saturday evening, the restaurant located in the setting of Marsh with very pretty scenery . We enjoyed our meal with a pretty sunset view. The staff was very friendly and excellent service. Our complements to the chef as the sea food was cooked to perfection and the rest of the meat dishes we had were super. We recommend this place and must visit again if we come to Chester.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheSmiths4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just had a great Sunday lunch here with my wife and friends! Good variety on the menu, food was delicious, and the service friendly and efficient. We had not visited here in over a year due to falling standards under the previous owners, but now under new management (with same very capable chef!) things are definitely back on the right track!! It is certainly back on our "favourites list".

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mallet-head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely location, average food”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Arrived on a lovely sunny evening, with a table by the upper windows, great views & warm sun. Ordered the sharing meat platter ( we were a large group of 10) it was very good. Really good portions which could easily have been a main course if a couple of sides added. About £17 so not cheap - but not too expensive given the size of the portions.
Main course was a bit below average, my Rib eye was a bit small and thin for 8 oz. The Au Poive sauce had button mushrooms in it ! Not classical but liked by some guests. Chips and veg very average. Desserts all looked good , but again very average. All in all not a memorable meal,not a memorable restaurant decor wise but, have to say really lovely staff and a decent wine list.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hosp-Ex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Marsh Cat Restaurant also viewed

Parkgate, Cheshire
Parkgate, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing