We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but worth the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Die Reichsstadt GmbH
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gengenbach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The exterior is old and in keeping with its location (Gengenbach is a picture postcard village) but the interior has been completely modernised. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. Parking at the hotel is confusing. On arrival I was expecting to find a car park space reserved for us but when I asked the receptionist where it was she found us a place in the adjacent public pay and display area by getting one of the hotel employees to move his own car. Because of the limitations of my German I wasn't able to find out if this was the normal arrangement or just exceptional service !
The hotel restaurant is also excellent - superb breakfast. The evening meals are "fine dining" with prices to match but there are cheaper options available (first rate in our experience) and good local wines are available by the glass.

Room Tip: Because the hotel is in the middle of the old town SatNav is not a lot of use - ours led us to a dea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan_490416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013

I honestly can not say enough wonderful things about this hotel. We stayed for 2 nights and were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived till the moment we left. Our room was wonderful - modern and clean. And I really appreciated the little touches like bathrobes (for the wellness suite we didn't have time to use), the fruit bowl, a kettle and fridge. The breakfast, which is included in the price, is outstanding. And I love that would could make our own fresh juice. The staff were helpful and friendly and at both breakfasts the owner came over to our table to see how everything was and have a little chat. I will definitely return here if I'm lucky enough to return to the Black Forest, Both my husband and I were really happy and heartily recommend staying here. For us it was reasonably priced for such exceptional accommodation. Definitely a gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libbywithnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Beautiful hotel that is being completely refurbished. Decorated with excellent taste, very well situated and a warm welcome was given by the staff. Sauna and wellness available, which were very nice after a long day's drive, are included in the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank So C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

The hotel is currently refurbishing and modernising the hotel but keeping the traditional German style I prefer.
Hotel will be beautiful.
Staff is very knowledgeable and friendly.
Gengenbach as a town is great all year around.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankDoorenbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We had 5 nights at Die Riechsstadt in December and, like the previous reviewer, we were sad to leave. We could not fault the hotel. The room we had was large and beautifully fitted out with all the facilities we could want. All the staff were delightful - extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant on 2 nights, and the food was just fantastic.

Gengenbach is a gorgeous little town, and it proved to be the perfect base to explore the Black Forest area. The Christmas market was in full swing when we visited and the town's advent calendar in the town hall windows is a great feature. We had lots of snow when were there and Gengenbach and the whole Black Forest area was picture postcard perfect. The Konus Gastekart provided by the hotel (and all hotels in the Black Forest) for free train and bus travel was a terrific bonus, allowing us to explore the whole of the Black Forest area with absolutely no travel costs.

We can't recommend this hotel highly enough as a base to explore the Black Forest.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Wow...
We had the most amazing 5 nights at Die Reichsstadt and were so sad to leave! Every aspect of our stay, and Gengenbach, was perfect. The hotel itself is wonderful. Fantastic facilities, excellent food at the restaurant, such friendly and beautiful staff. Petra who was working each morning was a delight and God send. She made us feel so welcome and at home, even holding and playing with our 6 month old while we ate breakfast! Even though we had a 6mth old we felt very accepted and nothing was too hard. The rooms themselves are spacious, with modern fixtures, comfortable beds and very efficient heating. The town itself is beautiful, with a postcard perfect Christmas Market that we enjoyed most nights.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Heath P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We had a 6 night stay at Die Reichsstadt at the end of July into August and loved every moment of it.

The room was large, with old wooden beams, a fabulous bathroom including a lovely multi-jet shower, 2 very large completely opening windows looking over the Altstadt, views of the towers, a very good staff who were very friendly and (except for one) extremely competent.

Wifi worked around the the reception desk and in parts of the garden and dining room. Much of the property was at the end of being restored so there was a fair amount of scaffolding around and I would expect that that affected where the wifi was available. Where it did work it was fine and free.

The bed was very comfortable, the room was larger than most we have seen in Europe, there were a couple of chairs and the TV worked fine.

We took advantage of a one week holiday package which included a multi course dinner in the garden and two afternoon coffee and cakes. Food was top notch as was the service. All of that and the room for a VERY competitive price.

Despite all the workers' vans - there were many many people working on the extension and renovation - we were able to find parking very easily, next to an old fountain.

The hotel is steps from the main streets of the town. The gutters run with water in Baeckle, just like in Freiburg but nicer and there is a nice selection of shops and restaurants. There's even a working water wheel used by a bakery, lots of city walls, towers, very good museums, parks, including a really nice one down by the river... all in all the town was charming.

Very little traffic noise, yet traffic worked well. In the Altstadt the lanes were very very narrow, and lovely for walking. I took several photos which look like the small towns in the Alsace wine route, but I think are better.

The train station is just a few minutes walk from the hotel and the little local train goes through the Black Forest one way, and via Offenburg to Strasbourg and to Baden Baden the other way. In Offenburg it is a very simple connection to the fast trains going south to Basel and north to Karlsruhe.

So, great food, wonderful accommodation, excellent location for the Black Forest, and a very attractive town.

We will return.

Room Tip: It looked like most rooms are unique, all seeming to have different advantages. I didn't see wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigel603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gengenbach
0.4 mi away
Schwarzwald-Hotel Gengenbach
0.2 mi away
Pfeffermuehle
Pfeffermuehle
#4 of 5 in Gengenbach
60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pfeffer & Salz
Pfeffer & Salz
#3 of 5 in Gengenbach
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Sonne
Hotel Restaurant Sonne
#2 of 5 in Gengenbach
99 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Ritter Durbach
Hotel Ritter Durbach
#1 of 4 in Durbach
523 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Offenburg am Messeplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Reichsstadt GmbH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Reichsstadt GmbH

Address: Engelgasse 33, 77723 Gengenbach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Gengenbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gengenbach
Price Range: £130 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Reichsstadt GmbH 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Die Reichsstadt GmbH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing