We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place but too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Puerto Del Sol Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bolinao
Manila, Philippines
1 review
“great place but too expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed in Amore Suit which is their newest accomodation (not in their website). It is a 2-storey suit, master's bedroom upstairs with king size bed, t&b with bathtub, 32-inch LCD TV, balcony with inifinity pool view. the room downstairs has 2 queen size bed, t&b, 32-inch LCD TV, small fridge, and small couch. All in all the accomodation is great.

HOWEVER, value for money is poor. Since the suit has 3 beds, (1 king, 2queens), you would expect that the accomodation worth 15k (with buffet breakfast for 4) INCLUDES at least 6 persons; 2 persons per bed. A couple upstairs in the masters bedroom, and the rest of the family downstairs. To our dismay, the 15k accomodation is only for 4 persons; 2 people for the king size bed and 1 person for each queen size bed. Which is RIDICULOUSLY expensive. of course you can maximize the rooms, but with 1k additional per head!

The food is ok, but not superb.
The staff has good customer service, but not great.

The beach has a great white sand, but not that white like in boracay, bohol, or palawan. But if u love to swim at the beach, it is not a good idea for this place coz of the corals; you will most likely get bruised. But the shore is quite good. Since I love spending time at the shore coz I love sand, and I dont really swim in the ocean coz it creeps me out; it's not a big deal for me.

oh another thing, the water from the faucet and shower taste like sea water!

but i enjoyed our stay because I like the interior and exterior design of the resort as compared to other resorts in Bolinao, Puerto is the best among them. we checked other resorts, we didnt like the ambience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saingtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    125
    53
    35
    40
See reviews for
136
68
2
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I got their sitio amore rooms which is 15k per night. It is not in their website as it is relatively new. It is big and can accommodate up to 6 adults since the beds are queen size and a total of 3 beds. However, the resort has put a limit in the number of occupants into 4 only and extra pax is charge at 1,200 per head inclusive of breakfast. This I find as expensive, since the maximum was set at 4 pax instead of 6.
Overall, the buffet breakfast is good. The dinner buffet is likewise very good at 550 per head. But in terms of service, this is where the resort needs to live up to. I know that resorts such as this, have seasonal rates and occupancy. Considering that it is seasonal, the management should at least train before the peak season the personnel that they will get. It took the waitress 45 minutes to give us our drinks and it was just coconut in a shell. The new front desk lady bungled my request for massage. The therapists informed me that the reason for their tardiness was due to the fact that they still have to serve in the restaurant as the trainees cannot do their jobs.
The place is very far from Manila. It is about 8 hours of road trip under normal traffic conditions. The beach is not that good since it is facing the west philippine sea, the waves are strong, hence breakwaters were installed.
Once you have seen the place, you will no longer go back unlike other beach resorts in the Philippines.
Likewise, the resort is not flexible in terms of early check in or late check out.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MA JEANETTE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Well, we just had our company outing there and we do not like their service. It is just a total waste of time and money.. The resort is good for wedding receptions but not for summer outing/party..The pool is until 10 pm only so we expect that the videoke will be 24 hours availabl since the pool has closed already.But we are very much dismayed that they told us that it is only until 11. If not only because of the company/people I am with, I will not enjoy the stay there..
The beach is not good for swimming either. No good at this resort.
I do not recommend this to others..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sayrjwithfeelings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bolinao hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The only nice thing about the area would be the pool and garden. Food is okay, nothing spectacular. It's beach front --- period. Not an area safe for children or adults to swim or wade in because of the rocks. Disappointing if you are looking for a swimmable pristine beach area. Room was not really secure. Cold or not so cold --- not even warm water for shower. Check out is at 1100 am and you get charged for every hour later. At least they have a thermos for hot water. At least the garden was nice and the pool clean. Food was okay but nothing spectacular.
Over all experience was okay but please not to expect much from the beach area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheRoadWeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koloa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

This difficult to find hotel is well worth the effort. Don't rely on GPS to get you her, rather ask the hotel (directly, not their agent) for specific instructions, especially if you plan to arrive at dark. However, once situated, you will enjoy your experience, either in the pool, on the beach or eating al fresco. The quality of the food is average. We bought fresh seafood for a local vendor and asked the chef to prepare out meal, which he did and it was superb. It's hot in March and the AC in the rooms is adequate. Wi-Fi is available but not in the rooms and unreliable on the premises.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MDiamant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

The room rate was really expensive about 9730 per night.we expect good rooms with complete amenities such as tea/ coffee making. Telephone,wifi like what they advertised in their website! But were really dissapointed the bed and pillows was so hard! Towels are old. No wifi no telephone, aircons are noisy, also the machine for cable TV is noisy! We didnt get relax at all.the water in the jacuzzi is dirty! Very cloudy same with the swimming pool. They need to put some chlorine to kill the germs and bacteria. My daughter get itchy all over her body when she went swimming. The most annoying thing is they charge me 1000peso for canceling our stay for second night. I think thats the reason why they want you to pay the guest in full before you get there. Staffs are all good. Foods very local. They need to upgrade their service. Not a good experience with puerto delsol pangasinan.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marikina, Philippines
Level Contributor
333 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight. The room we got was a Mansion Cluster which was Originally priced at 8k plus but was offered at 50% Off. The room was nice, not too huge but big enough. The Bathroom was spacious with Hot and Cold Water. The Shower had 3 choices, rainshower, hand held shower and from the faucet. Soap and shampoo where provided.

The grounds of the resort was impressive. With Bouganvilla all in bloom the resort was a sight to behold.

The pool was nice, the water was controlled so it was not too cold.

The beach though was so so. It had a lot of rocks, so swimming was not enjoyable. After swimming my feet started to itch and my left thigh started to itch as well. I probably stepped on something.

Breakfast was a plated breakfast but the choices were good.

Staff here are very friendly and courteous. Really love their use of Antiques and Spanish Tiles.

At 50% Off the price is okay but at full price will not stay there.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank KingRegis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolinao
1.8 mi away
Villa Soledad Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Punta Riviera Resort
Punta Riviera Resort
#3 of 4 in Bolinao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
34.6 mi away
El Puerto Marina Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.9 mi away
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
#1 of 4 in San Fernando La Union
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
41.3 mi away
Awesome Hotel
Awesome Hotel
#1 of 5 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
41.1 mi away
Star Plaza Hotel
Star Plaza Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dagupan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Del Sol Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Del Sol Beach Resort

Property: Puerto Del Sol Beach Resort
Address: Barnagay Ilog Malino, Bolinao, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Pangasinan Province > Bolinao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bolinao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Puerto Del Sol Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Puerto Del Sol Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Del Sol Hotel Bolinao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing