We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Oldwalls Gower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oldwalls Gower
Ranked #1 of 1 Oldwalls B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights towards the end of November. The staff couldnt have been more helpful or attentive, from a free upgrade to exclusive use of the hot tub and sauna - it made an already special stay even more so.
The whole place was spotlessly clean and it really is the ideal location if you want to escape and relax with the Gower coastline's glorious beaches and fantastic views a short drive away.
The breakfast was brought to us in our room and was a feast fit for a king and queen, which is pretty much how we were made to feel during our stay.
The Greyhound is a short walk and is perfect for a quiet drink and some good home cooked food.
This is a perfect venue and i'm sure we will definitely return.
A thoroughly memorable few days.

Room Tip: We stayed in Ivy Cottage - perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accommodation2000, Manager at Oldwalls Gower, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Warmest regards

Jo-Anne Purnell-Rees
Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    57
    29
    19
    5
See reviews for
99
126
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here a couple of weekends ago with our dog as we wanted a weekend of exploring the Gower and going on some nice long walks. I do worry a little when we take the dog as you never know what the "dog" accommodation will be like, but at Oldwalls it was lovely. You wouldn't have known that a dog had ever been in there. We had a lovely room which over looked a lake with our own patio area and outside furniture. We had underfloor heating which my dog seemed to love! The staff were lovely and very helpful, and the food at breakfast was very good. We went to the Greyhound for dinner one evening and took the dog but turned out we had to leave him in the car which was a shame as there was a rugby game on in the bar area was full, and dogs aren't allowed in the restaurant. Would highly recommend Oldwalls and would love to go back. We went on some stunning coastal and beach walks. We also saw the Marque set up for a wedding and it looked stunning. If I wasn't already married I would consider this for a wedding venue.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accommodation2000, Manager at Oldwalls Gower, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Gemma B

Thank you so much for your review - it was lovely meeting all of you and I am so pleased you found the rooms lovely. Extra care is taken with our pet friendly rooms.

I hope it wont be too long before we see you again.

Warmest regards

Jo-Anne Purnell-Rees
Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We booked with living social so it was cheaper than usual, we paid £99 for two for one night, due to difficulties by both parties, we had the dates extended and actually didn't use the deal for almost a year, however we eventually stayed last weekend, we found the staff very friendly and helpful, the place seemed to be newly built by the look of it, so it was very smart And modern, the breakfast was served in an adjacent room over looking a small lake, the usual cereal, toast, and cooked food was available, oldwalls is set in a pretty location with a tennis court and small wooded area, the greyhound pub is about a 10 min walk away and served great food with a good atmosphere, llangenith beach is about a 10 min drive away, so if your looking for a quiet weekend with a nice beach not far away this is a good choice. One annoying thing was the walls between the rooms seem quite thin and we could easily hear our neighbour talking at normal level thankfully they were just talking!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyhorses111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accommodation2000, Manager at Oldwalls Gower, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Crazyhorses,

Thank you for writing your review, it is lovely to meet you both. We look forward to seeing you again.

Warmest regards

Jo-Anne Purnell-Rees
Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed here for the weekend . First impressions were great beautiful accommodation which was spotless, warm and comfortable . Staff were very helpful and sweet but they do need to move into the 21 century in terms of atttention to detail and response times .
Breakfast was a bit of a problem with a table that had not been cleaned, having to ask for crockery and then having to wait 45 minutes for breakfast. Not good considering that there were only 5 other couples having breakfast.The waitress checked to see if everything was ok while we were at the table but didn't clear the empty dishes away from the centre of the table. On the second morning no breakfast table prepared yet again and used dishes that had not been taken away on a number of tables. Surely they know how many guests they are expecting for breakfast ??? Not rocket science to do the numbers.Small details that could be rectified by a quiet word from management but make a big impact on customers . Would I stay again probably.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gizzip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accommodation2000, Manager at Oldwalls Gower, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Gizzip,

Firstly thank you taking time to write your review and I have to agree our accommodation is beautiful and the setting is lovely.

With regard to breakfast, I am sorry you found yourself on a table that had not been set up. Usually we set up tables for all our guests and then stagger the breakfast times to ensure nobody is waiting. That said, we have altered our process and have an extra staff member aswell to ensure nobody is waiting for their table or breakfast.

We would be delighted if you visited again.

Warmest regards

Jo-Anne Purnell-Rees
Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is an unusual review since I haven't stayed at Oldwalls yet. A family member has a wedding reception at Oldwalls in November and we booked a suite ensuring there would be enough room for 5 of us. However, Oldwalls contacted us for payment and check on the numbers. I asked if the 'put up' bed could be placed where there would be space, only to be told they don't have extra 'put up' beds and could we bring an airbed. I was a little bemused by this but said yes and asked if the linen could be left in the room for the airbed, I was then informed that there would be an extra charge for this linen. When the room has a £175 price tag for 1 night, plus additional charges for an extra breakfast (which is 'par for the course' I suppose) this is very poor service and therefore I cancelled the room and will drive instead. I guess it's a fabulous area and lovely looking hotel, as long as you fit into their criteria (of 2.4 children and no elderly frail parent!).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelleyBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accommodation2000, Manager at Oldwalls Gower, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear ChelleyBabe,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I must confess to being disappointed that you have written these comments without giving me the opportunity resolve your predicament.

We have a number of suite's available for all our guests but with our weddings, the rooms are allocated by our Bride & Grooms - perhaps you could liase with your Bride & Groom to see if you are able to swap to a suite that sleeps upto 6 people.

If this is not an option, we offer our guests the opportunity to bring an airbed . We already supply extra beds in the suite - which is built into the cost of the suite. As with most guests houses and hotels - extra beds are chargable, we are no different. However, to reduce the cost we offer our guests the opportunity to bring their own airbed and sleeping bag so they only have to cover the cost of the extra breakfast. If you would like to use our linen, we would request a small charge to cover the cost.

You will find most places will not offer this service and insist on a charge for the extra person. To date, we have never had negative feedback regarding this service, infact we have had the opposite reaction.

If you would like to contact me directly on 01792 391468 I would be happy to see if there is anything we can do to assist you. It would be a shame for you to miss the opportunity to share this very special day with the Bride and Groom, your family and friends.

Kindest regards

Jo-Anne Purnell-Rees
Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We've just got back having spent a fantastic stay at Oldwalls. We stayed with a Living Social deal and at no time were we made to feel that we were any different to any other visitor. We were celebrating our anniversary and the team made us feel so welcome and we want to say says to everyone for being so thoughtful, it was lovely!

From the moment we arrived customer service was excellent - there were a few issues with rooms when we arrived by they were dealt with really quickly! The accommodation is great, we stayed in the farmhouse and the facilities and space were fab. Breakfast was great, a good choice and all freshly cooked to order.

The location is really central for the whole of the Gower - fantastic beaches and countryside and great pubs and restaurants on the doorstep - the Greyhound is minutes away and really welcoming and the food is good, a local pub with a great atmosphere - the Britannia is a bit further but not too far, more 'gastro pub', bar is really informal and the restaurant great and food is superb - the Fairyhill Hotel is also just round the corner, didn't get there this visit but the restaurant there is amazing too.

We loved our stay at Oldwalls, a first time for us but we'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice2Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed at Oldwalls for two nights and it was perfect for us, two adults and two children. Had the family suite which was big enough having a large bedroom, dining area and two double sofa beds in the sitting room. There were cooking facilities, the kitchen area was well equipped and the whole suite was very nicely decorated. Set in beautiful countryside, very friendly staff, couldn't have asked for anything more. Would definitely visit again, hopefully soon!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamsinw1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accommodation2000, Manager at Oldwalls Gower, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Tasminw1234,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we love our rooms and have to agree they are lovely.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards

Jo-Anne
Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldwalls
1.1 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
381 reviews
3.5 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
975 reviews
4.0 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
5.1 mi away
Miramar Hotel
Miramar Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llanelli
96 reviews
8.8 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldwalls Gower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldwalls Gower

Property: Oldwalls Gower
Address: Gower, Oldwalls SA3 1HA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Oldwalls
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Oldwalls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Oldwalls Gower 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oldwalls Gower a beautiful complex comprising of 17 luxury rooms and suite's. Set in around 50 acres of picturesque fields, trout lakes and unspoilt woodland. Oldwalls is located in the centre of the Gower Peninsula giving equal access to all of Gower's amazing beaches. This location puts our guests at the heart of village life in rural Gower, within walking distance of award winning restaurants and welcoming village pubs. Oldwalls Gower has been rated a 5 Star Guest Accommodation by Visit Wales and combine's luxury range of accommodation with superb corporate facilities. With our Marquee and Oak Room overlooking Oldwalls lakes and grounds, the views extend up over Cefn Bryn, it is also the perfect venue to host your wedding. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oldwalls Gower Hotel Oldwalls
Oldwalls Gower Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing